temperature high on EK..help..

vtec_ej6

Hi all honda sifus..

My friend's EK/EJ6 (1.6 sohc vtec) has a problem with his car temperature.He has change a new extractor 4-2-1 two months ago.When he speeding at highway at 160km/h, temperature was up to above 3/4 of meter .If he drive below 100km/h temp going down as normal.When he check the level of water,it is at normal level. What is the problem with his car??Who has face the same problem before...please advice..tq

kena like this bfr...check fan switch or fan switch wiring, loose kot..

check also if thermostat working or not... modified it, make holes, ur pomen will know....
if its an auto, also check ATF level. Too much ATF also makes the car overheat when gunning it as the ATF is not circulation nicely as its suppose to in dispercing heat. It has to be at a just nice level...

Thanxss for reply..

But..when he stop to checking everything, he see the fan was cycling as normal. He suspected the sensor (at extractor) bcoz it was happen since he change to new extractor..

ace79 said:
kena like this bfr...check fan switch or fan switch wiring, loose kot..

but if switch fan not working well, sure the water at low level......last time one of forummer faced this problem. they said bcoz of head gasket.

just my 2 cents

Thanxs guys for ur reply..

Any workshop (location) to recommend area gombak/sentul/batucave/danau kota..

parimus said:
but if switch fan not working well, sure the water at low level......last time one of forummer faced this problem. they said bcoz of head gasket.

just my 2 cents

Agree with you parimus..it normal for HOnda SOHC engine having this problem, either your radiator already need to service or your head gasket...

zero4 said:
batucave area go supertune loh

Thanxss for all replying....

can u tell detail the location of supertune..let say start from Giant Supermarket (near Tmn Samudera)..

any others workshop ??

got the same problem with my ej. just service the radiator and change the head gasket. Cost u under 300 only. Most workshop can do it.

sohc 1.6 still using rubber gasket, no?

you can also modify the fan to run all the time by re-do the wiring.ask your mechanic to do it.your fan will keep spinning all the time and keep your engine extra cool. some said it will shorten your fan's lifespan but touch wood ive done it for the past 5 yrs and it is still alive and kicking.

Head gasket ,Radiator block , thermostat jam abit ,not enough earth .. etc etc ..