veli da sad...

CcL

was on my way back from JB this morning.....
when reaching bangi exit my car started smoking and i stopped to check... fuh... oil everywhere under the car... even the bumper also oily... open up the bonnet and see nothin wrong... only some smoke coming from the turbo side.....

what can the white smoke mean?? shouldn't be piston rings right because the OCT is still empty and the engine can run smoothly....
however the oil dipstick is EMPTY... there goes my 1 week old mobil1... :(

wat can be wrong? the car is at my mech's place but can only start work tomorrow. but if is turbo i'm taking it to service at tong turbo... or should i just get a S14/15 T28BB leh :rolleyes:

money money money..... :( :(

hehe...wanna see da backside... ;)

anyway...ask Tong for it...he shud have it in stock.. :D

ar 70??
thats bigg.........
wats that wor? T25BB? belapa oh bang!

a/r .70 is normally for manual and a/r .48 is for auto.... its the ratio for exzos housing, not the turbo size in general....

there is no basis for a/r ratio specifically for auto or manual...
and the a/r is also a measurement for the compressor housing...not only the turbine housing...

aiyahhhhh
i'm so happy
its not me turbo kong... is the oil pipe feeding the turbo kong...
damn copper pipe... what was volvo thinking #!&*@*!()@!!
so now my mech gonna custom steel braided ones... once and for all fix the problem. hehehe

but i don't mind if uncle sdf decides to gif me a GT25BB for xmas :rolleyes:

i oredi gave u the pics ma....a motivation for u :P

anyway beware ur turbo...since oil pipe broke = less oil going into ur turbo during the trip...i suspect it may have some minor scorching on the bearings... :o

hehehe....

sdf adding salt to a healing wound...... hehehehe :lol:

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@Dec 29 2004, 12:23
there is no basis for a/r ratio specifically for auto or manual...
and the a/r is also a measurement for the compressor housing...not only the turbine housing...
is it??? ;) all this while i tot A/R value is mainly for the turbine housing and "trim" (inducer/exducer) value is to describe the size of a specific compressor within a family of turbine wheels..........

anyway, thanks for ur info dude...

hmmmmm less oil to the turbo??
ouch...
ermmm how would i know if the turbo is alright then???
:( :( :(
suddenly sad again

hehe...don need to worry lor as of now...if u mechanic says no prob...then see how is it in a few days... ;)

stroker...

no probs dude...
basically a/r...inducers...exducers...are means of calculations...so it's not car / engine / capacity specific...

with these numbers itz only easier to decide on which trim..which a/r...to use to match our desired engine and desired output (HP)...

;)

cCL,
do consider this also....TOO much oil in ur turbine unit by a clogged exit will normally cause the oil to be dump thru the exzos, which will produce smokes and reduce engine oil level drastically....which is similar to your case....why do u get excessive oil in ur turbo unit may be caused by a few things...one of them is the turbo oil drain is clogged by some oil deposits......

usually turbo failure are caused by others.... oil condition, oil pump, clogged oil system, over heat,worn piston rings etc....dont simply pinpoint the root of the problem to a faulty and worn out turbine, u might want to consider other things as well which contributed to ur turbine failure....

a normal turbine can work for quite along period of time with proper maintenance and engine service...(provided that u dont overboost ur turbine capability la....)

my old car..
oil filter fly out.
less than 2 min only all oil come out..
manage to stop the car.
check oil tip .. just little left
pour back. then can heard some sound
darn.. main bearing sound

drft..

depends on what size turbine housing we're talking about...for T2 frame...0.70 is normal...for T04 frame it's quite big oredi... ;)