Tyres - My opinion

satria_95

DISCLAIMER : All that is posted by me and other posters will be considered solely as my and their own opinion.

NOTICE: This thread is meant for sharing of opinions, thoughts and experiences. If anybody feels like exploding or flaming or whatever, your kind assistance to start a new thread on your own is much appreciated. We're all grown ups and have developed brains. I believe we all know how to think. Peace.
======================

I'm currently using BridgeStone Potenza GIII on my front 15" rims for about half a year now. On my rear, I'm rolling on Yokohama A520, for about a year. The GIII thread is still quite good while the Yokohama thread is about 40% left. This is my experience.

Dry Weather.
I feel that GIII are not up to par in on dry road. Stepping just a little bit more on the accelerator will cause a bit of a wheel spin. Stepping even a little bit more, the wheel will be spinning. I'd say launching at about between 2500rpm and 3000 rpm, I'll hear wheel spin all the time. Even my previous front Yokohama with 30% thread left doesn't wheel spin so easily.

Braking on dry road is also not impressive on the GIII. When braking a little harder than normal (but not slamming the brakes), I find the tyres skid easily even if I'm not going fast, maybe about 50kmh or something. My car is using 4 proton 1.6 disc brakes. My previous front Yokohama, with 30% thread left, well, it does skid more than the GIII but as mentioned, 30% thread left.

Cornering on dry road is quite good. Both the GIII and Yokohama is up to par. Not much complaints .

Wet Road
Acceleration on wet road? Needless to say, I don't even need to think about going above 2000 rpm even if I start rolling gently on first gear. Wheel spin will sure to occur on the GIII. Same goes for the Yokohama's.

More to come later.

then why u never put yoko for the front?

maybe more botak ..more grip on dry?

hmmm... currently usin yokohama A520 size is 195/50/15 n found out tat it is not bad at dry road... bout wet condition... din try b4 coz scare acciedent... kekeke... overall itz ok coz tis tyre oso not so expensive ...

bout GIII...not much comment coz din use GIII b4... but my fren said tat GIII is good in wet condition... besides GIII is more expensive than A520

Seriously the G3's are less than impressive, but to be spinning them like tossing coins into a pond, satria_95 you must have a pretty wild ride? GSR-ed satria?

There was a similar review ont this board sometime back, where a forummer actually bought the My-01 compared to the G3's bcoz he just did not find any justification to buy the g3 over the my-01. Personal experience? Dunlop Direzza DZ101's are my pick, they perform and they're quiet.

walau... AD07 super expensive ler... even GIII i oso cant afford... jz using A520 ooo... poor me...

As for me, i'm currently running with Dunlop SP Sport 9000 all around & find it very very impressive during wet road condition. Very predictable on the wet & as for dry road holding, it's comparable with my previous set of BF Goodrich G-Force Sport.

I've used Yokohama AVS ES100 previosuly & the grip is very up to my satisfaction but u can just c it getting thinner & thinner every week. :) I'm running 17" currently on my car.

I changed my tyres almost every year due to my job nature, which requires me to travel outstation frequently. ;)

G3 not so good 1 ah???anyway,tats rite..my fren said tat advan neova is d best in yoko tyres...(he assume)...im using yoko ES100...i feel tat its d best since i change fr firenza tyres (japan) to falken st115 tyres(japan)...and to yoko ES100(japan).

price is wise...ur budget is more..u can get d best in town...but for G3...even my uncle tat open a tyre shop also said its not value for money...compare to AD07 which is d best in town n value for money.

wah... heard u all say til GIII not worth 2 buy lar... if not mistake GIII is RE711 replacement rite??? but RE711 is a good tyre wor... compare wif RE711 n GIII... all sifuz got any comment ar??? how bout the MY-01???

RE711 1st batch tat made in japan..is great...but then thailand start to manufacture it and export to worldwide then u know hows d quality...*when thai start,japan no longer produce re711 and mostly all d re711 in m'sia r import fr thailand...

so if compare RE711(thailand) vs G3(japan)..every1 shd know which is better...

MY-01..??i got no ideal...heheh...sorry n correct me if im wrong..

yokohama loh

so far, AD07 is the best street tires, GIII, ES100 all also ok ok lah, ST115 still good loh, to me, ST115 is even better than GIII, GIII can use and flood on water when go swimming lah

i'm also looking for replacement tyre soon. currently using silverstone ftz :(

looking for something really really quiet la. performance and durability comes secondary. anyone can got any good ideas?? quietness above all else. eheheh.

An alternative to GIII's are Falken Azenis ST115. I was qouted the same price in Sunway. But the guy at the tyre shop suggested that if that was my budget, go for the Falkens. He said, in terms of performance, just a bit less than Neova's.

And no regrets. Its compound is soft,so grip is definately there. The 2 big blocks of grooves (the ones with "azenis" markings in them) provide stability. Wet is also great... The wall is one of the nicest in terms of looks(IMHO laa)...

I've had the opportunity to have one track day with them. I would say fair, grip is excellent at first, but they loose feel after about 3 laps going into the 4th. But you must remember, they are street radials only maa.. only so much you can expect, and remember that the compouns is soft..

ST115 can tahan 3 or 4 laps only? you pushing hard? i using the damn sucky GIIIs can made 7 to 8 laps and still can feel gripy, but i still think they sucks

yeah, i not counting the warm up lap. 3-4 laps is of hard pushing. and yeah after that, they fade with no feel going into 4th lap... i was afraid to push it after that... but after go and pit, tyres cool down out again.. same story again

i see i seee, like that not bad loh the ST115, i was wondering, u know how much thread that one time SIC session makan away?