Tyre keep losing air. Puncture? Leak?

Guess what? still punctured!!!

At least I know that the problem was the rubber itself & not the rim. Like I said previously, the rubber once patched before because of a small nail.

Can we repatched the area? the tyre shop guy says that once patched it will never puncture at all.

So could it be the sidewall? because once we press the sidewall & checked it with soap water, we can see some bubbles coming out.

Is there any warranty or something? :banghead:

If not repaired correctly, can still leak, but since you mentioned small nail, should be okay.
Normally if larger hole, sometimes got to patch nicely, or use the umbrella shaped one to patch from inside.

Yes, it can be re patched, by taking out the old plug, then got to file the hole again and insert new plug.

Leak from sidewall? I cannot tell without seeing it myself.

If you mean warranty for the tyres, it depends. If really can find it leaking from the sidewall and no visual of any damage or curbing the tyres, you can go and ask BS about it. Could be manufacturing fault....

Well, i think i'll try to repatch the hole again.

If it still puntured then its just my luck la. Just bought end of Oct last year then have to change 2 piece of tyres. Jialat. :banghead:

I have patched my tyre sidewall before, it is just above the thread pattern. Used the express patching system where they poke the sticky/gooey thread - it did not last long.

When back to kampung to see the local tyre man, took the tyre off the rim & patch it from the inside & used it for another year.

From what I know KL tyre man will not do patching from the inside - too lazy to dismount the tyre from the rim for the small amount of payment - last time in kampung it only cost me RM8 for internal patching.

D7zul,

The puncture was at the thread so thats where the patch situated not at the sidewall.

---------- Post added at 05:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

I have patched my tyre sidewall before, it is just above the thread pattern. Used the express patching system where they poke the sticky/gooey thread - it did not last long.
So it is possible to patch the sidewall. I didn't know that. Thought sidewall have some kind of mesh protection or something.

When back to kampung to see the local tyre man, took the tyre off the rim & patch it from the inside & used it for another year.

From what I know KL tyre man will not do patching from the inside - too lazy to dismount the tyre from the rim for the small amount of payment - last time in kampung it only cost me RM8 for internal patching.

So the best way to patch is from the inside. Right? because last time they did on my tyre was from the outside.

Bro, mine wasn't exactly at the sidewall, if at the centre sidewall it is better to discard the tyre.

At the sidewall, there is a line separating sidewall from thread pattern area. Above the line into the thread pattern area then can still patch as this area less flexing. Anything below this line and into the sidewall area, please discard.
In KL/PJ still have shop patch from inside. Just that if the hole is normal nail hole, patching from outside is good enough. If cannot repair from outside, they will do from inside, but at much higher price, since got to remove tyres for repair and to re balance after repair.

---------- Post added at 12:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:23 PM ----------

So it is possible to patch the sidewall. I didn't know that. Thought sidewall have some kind of mesh protection or something.

So the best way to patch is from the inside. Right? because last time they did on my tyre was from the outside.

The sidewall have less protection actually. Either 1 ply or 2 plies depending on their make of either polyester or nylon. Some more expensive models have rayon, whereas thread pattern area have 5 to 6 plies. This is to harden/flatten the contact surface to the road surface. Normally 2 plies of polyester, 2 plies of steel and 2 plies of nylon cover.
I won't say it is the best, but depends on the damage. If near sidewall as mentioned or hole is larger, then patching from inside using the umbrella plug is best.
If hole is large at thread pattern area, can also use the flat sticker type.
Other then that, if small nail/screw hole, patching from outside will do....

Unfortunately, the problem is not at the repatched area!

Now my suspect has turn to the sidewall itself. Like you said before vr2turbo, its probably that the tire inner wall doesnt bead properly onto the rim lip. I am thinking of using the liquid repair thingy but the thought of getting a messy tyres afterwards turn me off.

Unfortunately, the problem is not at the repatched area!

Now my suspect has turn to the sidewall itself. Like you said before vr2turbo, its probably that the tire inner wall doesnt bead properly onto the rim lip. I am thinking of using the liquid repair thingy but the thought of getting a messy tyres afterwards turn me off.

I thought the tyre shop did sanding of the first affected rims? Now change rims still like that??
Is the tyre beading area damaged? Since change rims already and still leaking can be tyre rim bead area damaged?

vr2turbo,

I think so too.

Refer pic. Taken from http://www.beadbreaker.co.uk/tubeless_tyre_repair_with_bead_breaker.html

http://www.beadbreaker.co.uk/images/tyre_repair_bead_breaker/tyre_rim_terminology-1.jpg

I am guessing the wire bead is the area where it is suppose to seal off any air from coming out from the rim right? I wonder how is it still possible even after sanding the rim?

vr2turbo,

I think so too.

Refer pic. Taken from http://www.beadbreaker.co.uk/tubeless_tyre_repair_with_bead_breaker.html

http://www.beadbreaker.co.uk/images/tyre_repair_bead_breaker/tyre_rim_terminology-1.jpg

I am guessing the wire bead is the area where it is suppose to seal off any air from coming out from the rim right? I wonder how is it still possible even after sanding the rim?

Yup, the first rim was sanded and now even change to another rim.
This now, points to the tyre, that is why I ask you to check the tyre bead area. The wires inside is just to hold the tyre in place. If you look at the rims, as the edge after the lips, there is a notch or hump. This is where the tyre bead area sits in the rim.
Check the bead area rubber for any damage....

vr2turbo,

I had repatched the from the inside, sandpaper the rim inner wall & even put glue on the rim connecting to the bead seat and guess what was the culprit?

A freaking small cut that almost identical to the thread pattern!!!

Upon meticulous inspection inside a pool of water, there was a small puncture, from the cut which we though initially was the tyre thread pattern & we found small bubbles forming from that area. A quick tyre patch settles the case. Heartache weih. Spent so much money, mess up my rims & almost bought a new tyre just to realize that I couldnt bother to check the tyre properly.

*sigh*

Lesson learnt : Always do a 100% checking on the tyre puncture itself before moving to other area.

Glad to hear you got the leaking tyre fixed. There must be a reason for any leakage, just that you have to pin point it, just like changing rims and then pin point the problem to the tyre and so on.

So far, using Falken ZE912 16" for me, so far so good.
Never failed to impress me either :smile:

vr2turbo,

I had repatched the from the inside, sandpaper the rim inner wall & even put glue on the rim connecting to the bead seat and guess what was the culprit?

Upon meticulous inspection inside a pool of water, there was a small puncture, from the cut which we though initially was the tyre thread pattern & we found small bubbles forming from that area. A quick tyre patch settles the case. Heartache weih. Spent so much money, mess up my rims & almost bought a new tyre just to realize that I couldnt bother to check the tyre properly.

*sigh*

Lesson learnt : Always do a 100% checking on the tyre puncture itself before moving to other area.

how on earth did you get cut like that anyway?

"He says that most probably due to the excessive dirt or tyre sludge build up on the rim that makes the rubber doesnt sit well on the lip".

that's the case bro! i had the same prob too, just solved it a few weeks ago.

i got a set of rims last april - can't say it 'new rims' la as it produced in Japan in 1995! i use back my tires as they still have 70-80% tread. like you Box, i noticed after a week, my front left tire got very flat - but still can drive lah. i went to the same shop i got the rims. the mechanic fixed it for me - you know he saw little bubbles, and blahblahblah. but again, in a week time, the same tire flat again! as the rims is still under 'shop warranty', i went to the same tire shop. this time, it was other employee done it for me. yup, we could see bubbles, very tiny one came out...so he fixed it! guess how long it stays 'healthy'? two weeks! hahahahahaha...from there, i had to pump my tire every four days - until i went to a very popular tire shop in Sek24, shah alam. at first, i went there to accompany my bro in-law replacing his 'pregnant' tyre, but hey, since i was there, why don't i ask the mechanic to see whether he can fix it, right? so, as usual, he soak it in the water tank...cant find anything! so he took out the tire (from the water tank), and apply some more water/soap around the lips..and there was little, tiny bubbles...very slow, hard to appear! he did the same method as the first two did to my rim - they 'clean' it up. fortunately, that was the last time my tire gone flat. so the conclusion is - go find other shop/mechanic. you may get a better result..and no, your tire got no problem la (i think)!

adios bro...

---------- Post added at 06:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:20 PM ----------

vr2turbo,

*sigh*

oh really haa bro Box? different case la if that the problem....sayang la as your tire still new (to me)..

Yup, most of the time, for this type of problem, usually the leak is from the tyre bead area against the rim. Cleaning up the area and applying the tyre mounting solution to this area should solve the problem, but for bro. Box case was different.....
Water soap solution is for testing tiny minute leaks, if submerge in water do not show.