Tyre keep losing air. Puncture? Leak?

BoxCarRacer

Bros,

My car left front tyre deflate last thursday and i took out & brought it to a tyre shop. Inflate it, dip into a pool of water to see any sign of puncture or leak but can't detect any. Brought it back, install it onto my car, then drive back home safely.

Next day, in the morning, the same tyre is punctured again. Jack the car up, took the tire out and bring it to another shop to diagnose. FYI, that tyre had a puncture before because of a small nail but had been repacthed. The mechanic use a soap water to check for leaks but can't find any. When i press the sidewall, then can see tiny bubbles coming out but stop if I depress it. Then he decided to take the rubber out to check any problem inside the rubber or the rim itself. Found nothing. No cracks, no puncture or what so ever. He says that most probably due to the excessive dirt or tyre sludge build up on the rim that makes the rubber doesnt sit well on the lip.

He then sandpaper the inner lip of the rim to clear excessive dirt and sludge before inflating air back into the rim. We then use soap water again to check for any leakage again but there's no sign even on the patched area.

Thinking that its solved, took the tyre back & use it for the weekend but did a frequent check on the tyre. I found out that it loses about 4-5 psi each day. Then this morning, the tyre still punctured. I am cluesless right now. I did check using soap water when the tyre is on the car with the weight pressing, still can't find any leaks.

What is the problem actually? It is because of the rims? tires? :banghead:

Wheels details :

Rim : P1 Buddyclub 15" 7jj +27

Tyre : Bridgestone RE001 195/55/15 (Manufactured date : March 2010)

• tirepressure.jpg
    tirepressure.jpg
    19.5 KB · Views: 183
4 to 5psi is quite a lot. Metal or rubber valves? Did you check the valves area? Rubber valves did you check by bending the valves. Also check the valve cap for any dirt stuck inside.
Since rim lips have been sand and cleaned, next will be the rims. Very rare but have seen before. If still cannot find out, swap the front tyres with the rims, means remove the tyres and fit to the other rims. Then monitor if still leak or not, and which leaks, then can tell, whether it is tyre fault or rims fault.....

i use Fix-A-Flat..

it does what it says.. & protects future punctures

but the thing is.. it's quite hard to find.. last time i buy it at shell pandan indah..

Gudluck :burnout:

vr2turbo :

I am using metal valves. Yeah we did check it & we did not find any leaks at all.
Like the rim swapping idea. I also think that the problem comes from the rubber itself.

D7zul :

U mean this? --> Fix-a-Flat Product Review - Flat Tire Repair - Discount Tire Repair

Is it the same function as Tyre Guardian? last time got people sell in ZTH...

Yup, you swap the rims, then can pin point the fault, then can go further from there.

The fix a flat are those liquid spray inside the tyres. I remember when tyres are bald and need to change tyres time, the internal will be gooey and sticky and needs to be cleaned.

vr2turbo :

I am using metal valves. Yeah we did check it & we did not find any leaks at all.
Like the rim swapping idea. I also think that the problem comes from the rubber itself.

D7zul :

U mean this? --> Fix-a-Flat Product Review - Flat Tire Repair - Discount Tire Repair

Is it the same function as Tyre Guardian? last time got people sell in ZTH...

yup.. that's the one..

Tyre Guardian? spray type?.. i love the spray type coz it's less hussle..

if the 'picit2' one, arghhh.. been there, done that..

and yes, it's sticky if u change the tyre.. hehe

:biggrin:

yup.. that's the one..

Tyre Guardian? spray type?.. i love the spray type coz it's less hussle..

if the 'picit2' one, arghhh.. been there, done that..

and yes, it's sticky if u change the tyre.. hehe

:biggrin:

Good to have if on outstation or on trip, then less likely to have air leak.....:biggrin:

Normally experieced that with low quality tyres....and yes bridgestone is low quality.

All tyres are porous. Some leak faster then others but not 4 to 5psi in a day.
Normally 1 to 2psi in 1 to 2 weeks then acceptable.
But he is on BS RE-001 woh! BS also ex F1 tyre supplier, so still their tyres are low grade?

Yep vr2, I'd stay clear of them.
I'm on toyos now but planning to try achilles (cheapo... ..cheapo) soon - what do you think?

Yep vr2, I'd stay clear of them.
I'm on toyos now but planning to try achilles (cheapo... ..cheapo) soon - what do you think?

Archilles ATR Sports or Platinum?
Accelera also have the PHI and Alpha. PHI all larger sizes.
Another is Nexen (Korean), GT Radial (Indon)

Zane :

An experienced mechanic once told me to stay away from RE001 but due to budget constraint, I had to use them instead of going for R1R or AD08. The tyre shop guy did mention that its probably due to the tyres getting harder. Sakit hati. Bought last year weih! Oh, could it be because its made in Thailand? :sleep:

vr2 :

Having a hard time getting spare trim at the moment. *sigh* Guess would still have to inflate & diagnose again lor.

Zane / vr2 :

Achilles also not bad they say. Threadwear 400! plus, its cheaper too! not too sure about the Sports version though.

my friend using Falken 912 on original Enkei RPF1, also faced this issue. after a few months it went away.

he also went troubleshoot and check 3 times...no leaks. never knew why.

ATR bro, 205/50/16 for rm190 each all in - at Danau Kota.

No experience with Archilles tyres yet, but saw them fitted on Hypertune test car. Reading their short review, I think the wet handling may not be good.

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:37 PM ----------

Zane :

An experienced mechanic once told me to stay away from RE001 but due to budget constraint, I had to use them instead of going for R1R or AD08. The tyre shop guy did mention that its probably due to the tyres getting harder. Sakit hati. Bought last year weih! Oh, could it be because its made in Thailand? :sleep:

vr2 :

Having a hard time getting spare trim at the moment. *sigh* Guess would still have to inflate & diagnose again lor.

Zane / vr2 :

Achilles also not bad they say. Threadwear 400! plus, its cheaper too! not too sure about the Sports version though.

My colleague was on the RE-001 before. Only complain was it was hard and wet handling not too good after worn down slightly. Anyway, they are rated traction A only, and to me they are closed to extreme dry design. RE-002 already out to replace it.

As for the leaking tyre, just swap with another of your tyre/rim, then monitor....

Boxcarracer : I'm currently having this problem with my 'old' 2009 manufactured AD07. I think the older the tyre the more TLC it needs to top up air. When is the manufactured date of your RE001? Tyres don't harden that drastically if they are constantly being used. They aren't like the old yesteryear tyres where they needed to be galvanised manually before they were grippy.

Have you considered trying to use nitrogen instead?

Boxcarracer : I'm currently having this problem with my 'old' 2009 manufactured AD07. I think the older the tyre the more TLC it needs to top up air. When is the manufactured date of your RE001? Tyres don't harden that drastically if they are constantly being used. They aren't like the old yesteryear tyres where they needed to be galvanised manually before they were grippy.

Nope, tyre don't leak like that under normal circumstances. There is a reason for the leak.
If say 2psi in 2 weeks that can be considered quite normal, buy 5psi in one day that is not.
Nitrogen is denser that air, but with 5psi loss in a day it won't help.....

my friend using Falken 912 on original Enkei RPF1, also faced this issue. after a few months it went away.

he also went troubleshoot and check 3 times...no leaks. never knew why.

Can I know what size is the rim & tyres?

I can't remember but its manufactured on 2910 if i am not mistaken. Bought it on 29 October last year at Klang.

Nitrogen? haven't try it out yet probably because of the hassle of finding a tyre shop that has that gas. I think we can't simply use normal air to mix with nitrogen right?

No experience with Archilles tyres yet, but saw them fitted on Hypertune test car. Reading their short review, I think the wet handling may not be good.

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:37 PM ----------

My colleague was on the RE-001 before. Only complain was it was hard and wet handling not too good after worn down slightly. Anyway, they are rated traction A only, and to me they are closed to extreme dry design. RE-002 already out to replace it.

As for the leaking tyre, just swap with another of your tyre/rim, then monitor....

Yeah. Heard and read about it too. Hope the quality is far better than RE001.

Oh...by the way...swapped the rubber front & back but still maintain the rim location to determine which one is the culprit. Did it on wednesday evening and left the car untouched the whole day yesterday. Went back home last night & see the tyres is still ok. Fuhhh...Haven't check the pressure though. Probably will get it checked tonight.

Let say that the problem is solved, then what causes it to lose air in the first place? :banghead:

Nitrogen? haven't try it out yet probably because of the hassle of finding a tyre shop that has that gas. I think we can't simply use normal air to mix with nitrogen right?

Oh...by the way...swapped the rubber front & back but still maintain the rim location to determine which one is the culprit. Did it on wednesday evening and left the car untouched the whole day yesterday. Went back home last night & see the tyres is still ok. Fuhhh...Haven't check the pressure though. Probably will get it checked tonight.

Let say that the problem is solved, then what causes it to lose air in the first place? :banghead:

That is one of the problems of Nitrogen. Not all shops have and most charge for topping up also...

If the problem is solved, I can only say the leaks were from the rims bead area, since nothing else were changed or touched. Sometimes when the tyres does not bead nicely/correctly onto the rims bead area, air leak can happen and vibrations too.

Guess what? still punctured!!!

At least I know that the problem was the rubber itself & not the rim. Like I said previously, the rubber once patched before because of a small nail.

Can we repatched the area? the tyre shop guy says that once patched it will never puncture at all.

So could it be the sidewall? because once we press the sidewall & checked it with soap water, we can see some bubbles coming out.

Is there any warranty or something? :banghead: