Turbo TImer on N/A Cars

I got mine from ftzone, he even provided me free shipping and been using his baby turbo timer for almost 6 months now, no problem at all... ;-)

whats the price n spec of the TT ? i going get one from "HEY ([email protected])" RM 100 plus so ok ar ? try contact him .... but it think now he's still GXFC so he'll be away for some time

Oww ya...another thing I 4got to mention (or ask rather),what's the difference between a turbo timer and a baby timer?

Coz my friend has a baby timer but when I ask him the difference he'll just shrug his shoulders and say "sama saja mah...!'
LoL

turbo timer keeps the engine running to cool down the turbine, not the engine. If an NA car doesn't have a turbine, what's the point of letting it idle more than 10 seconds (the time it takes to remove your seatbelts, turn off the aircon, turn off your HU and reach for the key)?

yes.the TURBO timer is for turbo engines.there's no real use for a NA engine..

coz the turbine has lubrication..the tt is to allow the oil to settle down and not damage the turbine.

engine oil will settle down by itself..with or without a TT.

and...btw..this is a DiY thread :_:

peach monkey don`t thank me .... we are still in learning so no need thank here thank there ..... just exchanging some info or ideas

Do u know that when oil is heated up it gets more lighter then usual. A heated up oil futher more synthetic is more lighter then when its warm or cold.

Imagine putting around 100grams of toothpaste in a can and shaking it up and down, then just put in 10ml of water in the toothpaste and shaking it up and down, just see what happens.

Basicly thats is what going on in your engine only that the mass is like 1000 greater and the surface and cube is just greater in mass. Imagine when you run your engine on consistance for around 4 hours (KL-JB) for non stop, then when u reach JB u wait 10seconds and turn off your engine, isit sufficient ?

Who told that all turbo cars require TT ? It is also optional for turbo cars. TT does help for N/A and TT also SC engine. Further more a turbine is not required to cool down for turbo cars, the engine that needs to cool down, yes there is liqiud running in a turbine to cool down the shaft. It is not to cool down the fins of the turbine.

Alot more to explanation only that I think this is sufficient.

rattan said:
Basicly thats is what going on in your engine only that the mass is like 1000 greater and the surface and cube is just greater in mass. Imagine when you run your engine on consistance for around 4 hours (KL-JB) for non stop, then when u reach JB u wait 10seconds and turn off your engine, isit sufficient ?

Who told that all turbo cars require TT ? It is also optional for turbo cars. TT does help for N/A and TT also SC engine. Further more a turbine is not required to cool down for turbo cars, the engine that needs to cool down, yes there is liqiud running in a turbine to cool down the shaft. It is not to cool down the fins of the turbine.

Alot more to explanation only that I think this is sufficient.

Well, here's a few quotes from various website:

http://ca.dsm.org/FAQ/2gtt-faq.html
The basic accepted concept of cooling the turbo in your engine, is to allow your turbo to cool off properly when you stop the car, by feeding it a steady stream of fresh oil, and thus likely preventing coking of the bearings (gunk buildup). Most manufacturers of turbo-charged vehicles recommend idling your car after you get where you're going, for at least 30 seconds, longer if you have really been boosting it...

http://uktoyotaestimasite.tripod.com/My%20Estima%20Review.htm
...Toyota recommend that an Estima be idled for a period of time after moderate to hard driving to allow the oil/water to take heat out of the turbocharger...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turbo_timer
A turbo timer is a device designed to keep an automotive engine running for a pre-specified period of time in order to automatically execute the cool-down period required to prevent premature turbo wear and failure...

====

Now onto my own justification. For an engine, when you are running it, the engine oil is not really the one that cools the engine, unless you've got an oil cooler installed. The main cooler is the radiator system. That takes heat away from the engine, and the fan itself kicks in for additional help when outside air is not enough. The purpose of such system is to keep the engine's heat constant at the most optimized level all the time while your engine is on. Doesn't matter if you drive 400 km non-stop, or 5 km, the coolant system's job is to keep the engine's heat stable all the way. Therefore, after a long drive, it won't hurt the engine if you shut it off immediately. WHy? Simple logic.

You said the job of the TT is to cool down the engine. Now let's see, why? Cause when heated up to fusion point, the pistons will melt and blow the engine up. Right? So what creates the heat? The combustion in the engine, correct? Now if there's no combustion in the engine, where does the heat comes from? NOWHERE! So why idling the engine for 30 mins is gonna cool down the engine better than just shutting it off and let the atmosphere do it for you? No combustion = no heat.

The engine doesn't need a long cool down period after a long drive. After a HARD drive yeah, its good to leave the engine running for a while.

Turbines get heated up very fast when you're driving it pretty hard, and unlike the engine, the consequences of not cooling it down properly is pretty severe. The compressor assembly might be wrecked if its hot, and no oil is fed into it after the engine has been turned off. That's y most manufacturers recommend a cooling period after a hard run. For normal drives you can do it the same way as an NA - turn it off once you've parked your car.

No offense, just providing my side of argument.

soggie said:
Well, here's a few quotes from various website:
Now onto my own justification. For an engine, when you are running it, the engine oil is not really the one that cools the engine, unless you've got an oil cooler installed. The main cooler is the radiator system. That takes heat away from the engine, and the fan itself kicks in for additional help when outside air is not enough. The purpose of such system is to keep the engine's heat constant at the most optimized level all the time while your engine is on. Doesn't matter if you drive 400 km non-stop, or 5 km, the coolant system's job is to keep the engine's heat stable all the way. Therefore, after a long drive, it won't hurt the engine if you shut it off immediately. WHy? Simple logic.

You said the job of the TT is to cool down the engine. Now let's see, why? Cause when heated up to fusion point, the pistons will melt and blow the engine up. Right? So what creates the heat? The combustion in the engine, correct? Now if there's no combustion in the engine, where does the heat comes from? NOWHERE! So why idling the engine for 30 mins is gonna cool down the engine better than just shutting it off and let the atmosphere do it for you? No combustion = no heat.

The engine doesn't need a long cool down period after a long drive. After a HARD drive yeah, its good to leave the engine running for a while.

Turbines get heated up very fast when you're driving it pretty hard, and unlike the engine, the consequences of not cooling it down properly is pretty severe. The compressor assembly might be wrecked if its hot, and no oil is fed into it after the engine has been turned off. That's y most manufacturers recommend a cooling period after a hard run. For normal drives you can do it the same way as an NA - turn it off once you've parked your car.

No offense, just providing my side of argument.

woww... such a lengthy response and i agree with soggie. Anyhow, reason for turbo engines to have TT is because under a turbocharger system, the engine gets hotter than a normal engine would (more power generated more heat) and hence if it was just switched off after a hard drive, u might risk damaging the turbo, overcooking ur engine oil, burning and hence damaging ur gaskets. Engine oil does cool down the engine but this is to a small degree, remember the function of engine oil coolers? Also soggie's part on not all turbo cars need turbo timer is again very true coz if u r using a small turbo and running on low boost, u dun even need a turbo intercooler coz less heat.

TT on a N/A is more for show rather than practical reasons ;)

whoaa ..... cool down .... everyone .... i mean untill now still no one can 100% say that TT has no pratical reasons for NA cars right .. ? so no point arguing .... if soggie u say that TT on NA cars are for show off .... then u have your prove ? i mean like u don`t have right .... ? so no point going untill so hot like dis rite ? just a talk n phew .... slide off .... some more TT on NA cars won`t kill u right .... they got the money to do it ... let them do it ..... no critics ..... but i trully believe that it has .... coz i tried b4 ...... u tried b4 ?

Err it was trex92 that said TT on NA is show off. I said it's a waste of petrol at best :P

Relax ppl, I'm just providing my point of view. If you like to install TT on your NA car, feel free to go ahead cause its none of my business. I believe that sharing of knowledge is welcomed in ZTH and I'm only doing my part on pointing out why according to my knowledge, TT in an NA car isn't useful at all. Doesn't mean you can't install it tho. Hope you guys understand.

Cheers!

BTW edwin, I drove a NA car before and now driving a turbo car. So yes, I've used turbo timers before.

soggie said:
TT in an NA car isn't useful at all.

chill, chill ... ahahaha

i dunno la whether it has use on a NA or not, but all i know that it has helped solved my problems on my proton saga LMST ..
not long ago b4 this , i had difficulties starting my car after few hours (not morning cold start) , so i asked around n ppl told me few ways to solve my problem ..

i didnt know who to believe.

one person on ZTH here told me bout letting my car run awhile b4 turning it off everytime, coz our iswara/saga have some problem with the fuel not flowing back to dunno which shit hole bla bla bla...

so i thought, wah lan, i dun hav tat much time everytime wait at my car when im rushing off to somewhere after i parked .

so i bought the cheapest TT i cud find n hid it somewhere in the car n set it to 30 seconds..

now my problem is solved.. hahahaha!!! so u all say TT useful for NA car or not? i dun noe, dun care.. all i noe tat it conveniently solved my problem... cheers! :biggrin:

Gosh this thread has grown so fast....

Well guys listen up a Turbo Timer has its functions in any car may it be a Turbo or Non Turbo...I agree man cos when i was younger had Iswara...That time still lil brat..wanna play around..and you know what i had the same problem...But after getting a cheap one it did help..
I guess it works for carbies cos my iswara was a carbie...
It helps the fuel settle down whereby making it easy for a start later on...

It does any bad sides on having a TT in a N/A car guys....

soggie said:
Err it was trex92 that said TT on NA is show off. I said it's a waste of petrol at best :P

Relax ppl, I'm just providing my point of view. If you like to install TT on your NA car, feel free to go ahead cause its none of my business. I believe that sharing of knowledge is welcomed in ZTH and I'm only doing my part on pointing out why according to my knowledge, TT in an NA car isn't useful at all. Doesn't mean you can't install it tho. Hope you guys understand.

Cheers!

muahahha.... i said TT on NA is more for show not show off la :_:

Yeah guys, we are here to learn and share.... insane_ian thanks for sharing...

Ohh yes i forgot...Trex92...Yeah loads of people put it up for show and don't even know the whole function of it...only on it when wanna show off but after really giving the engine a long ride..they don't...I have to agree man that a certain amount of people who drive n/a cars only put it up for showmanship...They don't get or understand the full use...But what to do...Heart pain when talk about guys who don't know the full use of TT....Anyways TT's are a way cool gadget made for a car...!!!!