Turbo Maintenance

et5828

guys...i hav a budget of 5k to mod my kelisa performance...
planning to get turbo kit to maximize my 1liter engine...or i just change to 660cc turbo engine?
i heard some of my friends told me turbo is hard to maintain...gasket melt,oil leak...etc etc...
i need real turbo user to clarify this and need advice weather go turbo kit or L's engine for kelisa....
those who sell turbo engine and do turbo kit can pm me to quote me the price...
i'm serious into it...thank you

Im using L7 in my kelisa. No problems. No oil leaks.. no melts... i am boosting at 1.1bar.

y got ppl tell me use turbo car means canot go far 1? :huh:
far is like from this state to another state....

they say the engine n turbo will overheat although u dun do any hardcore driving.... :huh:

how true is this statement???

i have been driving my gsr up and down malaysia for 3 months, no probs, although please change all the rubber hoses, stoppers etc to better grade rubber/ silicone if you are transplanting to a "new" engine ^^;

yeah man
misconception that turbo cars can't go long distance.
my car has been to penang and singapore... furthest down south and this new year might be going furthest up north with it ;)

its just how unlucky you are and how well u take care of ur engine...

who's ur fren telling u all this crap,if properly modded it will just be as easy to maintain like n/a car but u have to service the engine at a shorter interval time compare to n/a,so maintenance cost otherwise would be slightly higher than n/a...to me having a turbo is great if u know how to maintain it...

the reason y ur fren tells that the gasket melt la,oil leak la is bcoz they r tampering with the original engine,original factory will last long,unless ur fren love to boost very high la,drive very hard la,change this n that without proper setting of coz there will b some damage to the engine n turbine,etc...

et5828,for rm700 u cn get a turbo kit for kelisa,u get L9 turbine n intercooler with the exhaust manifold n some few necessary hose n equipment,but u might wanna thicken ur gasket a lil' bit to lower the compression...

wa :huh: ....

dolly n ccl.... when u all traveling in long distance u all got full throttle or speed all the way ah? :huh:

if got means turbo cars ma actually very reliable also... somemore can overtake cars as u like when it is needed... :D

not wot all the way leh haha, abit of wot here n there, but stay at 120-130kph most of the time

Originally posted by dolly@Jan 23 2005, 20:51
not wot all the way leh haha, abit of wot here n there, but stay at 120-130kph most of the time
ok wat.... some ppl juz say tat even u maintain a moderate speed the car canot tahan also....

makes me think tat wat??? y own a car tat can't even bring u to places tat r a bit further away... :D

nope
was boosting .8+- all the way back from johor the last time
was going fast la... duwan say the speed or ppl will start flaming
but my stock turbo oil feeder hose pecah bcoz the oil pressure was too high. changed to steel braided and its proven well so far.

thank god it broke down nearing kl toll... PHEW!

even the turbo mechanic told me turbo is not hard to maintain...
i guess is just fake rumors <_<

is it wise to bolt on turbo on my kelisa engine?
i'm plannin to do that coz my budget is not much if tranplant engine... :(

oi edward

'bolt-on' turbos are not reliable la.

if you want a proper job
go straight to L9 or L7 turbo-ed engine.

or, YRV :P the halfcut is RM8k i think!

i agree with ninja_iga,bolt on is safe if u play normal boost (i assume 0.7-0.8)but beyond that i dun think the stock internal components can withstand it,take L7/L9,or better still take L6 but hv to modify the frame a lil' bit to make it fit into kelisa...or hv the budget go for yrv 1.3 140hp or L7 storia xx4 120hp...if yrv hv to mod a bit but L7 storia pnp... the decision is up to u...

bolt on - lifespan of engine is shortened.
get a L7.better reliability.
turbo engines are just like your NA engines.if you take care of it,it will be okay.
you can torture your engine a lil bit.but you should know what's good for you. ;)

need to know the exact amount of money i need to spend...
how much for L7 and L9 engine cost?
everything complete with installation and jpj approval need how much? :)

I agree wif what y'all comment, own a turbo car would not be a problem if you know how to take care your engine... just ask yourself.. does the Japanese was so stupid to design a problematic engine...an engine that can't drive long distance???

control ur leg when going long distance lo.. u keep ur engine on boost all the way on high way sure will creat little problem.
dont apply too much throttle open when cruising no problem at all.

Originally posted by muskasim@Jan 24 2005, 12:51
I agree wif what y'all comment, own a turbo car would not be a problem if you know how to take care your engine... just ask yourself.. does the Japanese was so stupid to design a problematic engine...an engine that can't drive long distance???
tink b4 also after ppl tell me...
tat's y i ask all the taikors in zth izit true? :D