thinking of getting a 6.5

Originally posted by Soundstream+Dec 24 2004, 00:25 -->
QUOTE (Soundstream @ Dec 24 2004, 00:25 )
--QuoteBegin-Replay
@Dec 23 2004, 20:18
theres one nice yellow one also but price diff is 20k??

how abt the EVO 6.5 (M) 96/99 RM96,800 blue >>> is this lancer converted version ? coz since the is 96/99 ....... :blink: [/b][/quote]
correct

DJmobile,

no worries...hope the infos is accurate and helpful in to you now or in near future.

KLmafia,

I am not sure if this is Enkei tarmac evo, (cant see properly), but its similar to it. :)

Torment,

:) who are you by the way?

Originally posted by seventh_son+Dec 23 2004, 08:25 -->
QUOTE (seventh_son @ Dec 23 2004, 08:25 )
--QuoteBegin-Replay
@Dec 22 2004, 21:14
Been eyeing to bag myself an evo for ages, time to upgrade to a nice family frenly four door sedan. ;) well at least thats the idea I'm trying to sell to my gf..haha.

Anyone have any suggests on where I can start to look for a good evo 7? Prefer the 7 compared to the 6. Heard that there were quite a few stolen evo's on the market, fren even offered an evo for rm25k cash, but of course no proper papers. But wanna get a legal one. So where can I start my search?

Get the 7. You won't regret it. There are 1001 reasons why you should get one, but I can only think of a few:

- practicality - good and spacious enough to ferry your wife/kids on a daily basis and a cracker in terms of performance with superb handling
- loads of tuning potential and plenty of performance parts in the market - relatively easier to extract that extra HP and torque
- Well, may not be as brutal-looking as a 6 or 6.5, but will still stand-out in the crowd compared to the beemers, mercs etc
- the 4G63 is bomb-proof
- well sorted-out chasis - standard
- etc etc

Start your search now man! Motor trader - there are usually a few, Star Classified and of course, showroom-crawling. And always insist on proper documents/papers. [/b][/quote]
Replay,

both are good quality cars (well in that range i mean). The CP9As certainly looks more aggressive compared to the already matured looking CT9As. It depends more on personal preferences.

If you are a person who is into body styling, the vii/viii/MR certainly would be the choice to fiddle with as I doubt that anyone would touch the already beastly looking v/vi/TME (like julian's aka miata :)) You can have personal preferences in selecting your outlook.

The reason i chose the vii over the vi/TME is due to the fact that I'm aging, and i doubt that I would fit in a rugged looking car like this. I ended up with the subtle yet has performance car, which is a vii. Secondly, I was not too fond of the interior (no hard feelings, just my own thought) and not to say the vii has something to shout about too, but it just looks neat'er and cf panels would certainly look great on it...... but the auto climate control is aint as fancy like the vi/TMEs and the recaros on the TME/vi sits better for town use and you dont have to hop in and out of it like the viis (got a fat ass here dude!)

There are lots of reasons why i chose it over the predessor, nevertheless, I couldnt think of it after 4am now, and the best part is, its hard for a lancer cedia to convert to look like the ori evos, due to the flares on the rear fenders (no offence to the converted evos, sorry dudes, just my opinion again)....

Just remember, when you buy these kind of cars, never try to be penny wise, pound foolish. Saving 10k on a not so good condition car could cost more than another better conditioned car that cost 5k more......

Nites dude....

Originally posted by miata@Dec 23 2004, 23:20
The funny thing is .... since 2001 it has changed hands 3 times .. i wonder why ? which may make you the 4th owner counting the one in japan unless its imported new. Chances of it being trashed would possibly be higher.
Definitely right! Beware and be aware - ask questions, lots of questions. ask for service history, ask for workshop sent to, ask for etc etc. Get satisfied with the answers. Not to rush into buying and that's why you need to go with somebody more level-headed.

Here's the formula to calculate monthly payments:

M/payments = Principal X (1+(Interest Rates X No of years))
------------------------------------------------------
No of years X 12

Usually, the finance will determine how much they will give based on your credit standing & income, then work out with dealer how much to pay the downpayment. General rule, you should expect to pay 10% although 5% is possible.

Hi Noti,

Thanks for the feedback bro, ur in pg rite? i should be heading up there in jan for a fren weddin dinner.

Your reasons are similar to mine for wantin an e7 over e6, dun wanna be know ah pek in sport car :D no offence to anyone. For me the e7 looks slightly more grown up, but of course the e8 would be nicer but thats beyond my budget, darn.

Hi Seventh,

I'm planning to whack more downpayment, like that can take less loan and less interest in the long run. If buying unreg, does the does arrange for the loan or normally we do ourselves?

Guess I'll need to start thinking about selling off my present baby, better start taking off the parts and selling seperately, I think if I sell the car lock stock, I will get lower price, by the way its a N/A with Turbo, with ori engine. Dun wanna play mod on a proton, my frens advised it a losing battle with $ and costs. Just my 2 cents.

Originally posted by Replay@Dec 24 2004, 10:23
Hi Noti,

Thanks for the feedback bro, ur in pg rite? i should be heading up there in jan for a fren weddin dinner.

Your reasons are similar to mine for wantin an e7 over e6, dun wanna be know ah pek in sport car :D no offence to anyone. For me the e7 looks slightly more grown up, but of course the e8 would be nicer but thats beyond my budget, darn.

Hi Seventh,

I'm planning to whack more downpayment, like that can take less loan and less interest in the long run. If buying unreg, does the does arrange for the loan or normally we do ourselves?

Guess I'll need to start thinking about selling off my present baby, better start taking off the parts and selling seperately, I think if I sell the car lock stock, I will get lower price, by the way its a N/A with Turbo, with ori engine. Dun wanna play mod on a proton, my frens advised it a losing battle with $ and costs. Just my 2 cents.
Replay,

Good... let me know when ur up in penang, could do some coffee or something. The buttom line I didnt get the VIII was similar to urs, budget constraints. Loved the 6speed tranny (though i dont know where in penang i can utilise it....), the Super AYC and the rear cf wing..... nevertheless, am not too much of a fan of the rounded front facia attached to a squarish body (though it looks much nicer now than when it first came out).....

Should be parting with it early next year...

What about the 8 MR? THe MR has more handsome looks i.e. with the new headlights and wheels (BBS?), 0-100 4.3s etc I think I'll be itching for one 1-2 years down the road. Now price still a bit steep.

Originally posted by seventh_son@Dec 24 2004, 17:55
What about the 8 MR? THe MR has more handsome looks i.e. with the new headlights and wheels (BBS?), 0-100 4.3s etc I think I'll be itching for one 1-2 years down the road. Now price still a bit steep.
BBS wheel is an optinal, as mine is without. order the car too late. hehe.
i dun think 0-100 can done at 4.3 sec la, only japanese can do.

i think he was referring to the Lanevo MR FQ-400........

Fellow Evoers,

Blessed X'mas and A Happy New Year~!!!!

God Bless~!

Originally posted by miata@Dec 23 2004, 23:20
The funny thing is .... since 2001 it has changed hands 3 times .. i wonder why ? which may make you the 4th owner counting the one in japan unless its imported new. Chances of it being trashed would possibly be higher.
yeah saw the car also..saw a big zth.com sticker on it..maybe the owner is a forum user..any one? yoHooo? hehhehe

any way..merry xmast to all!! drive safe..

Originally posted by Johnyblze+Dec 24 2004, 22:57 -->
QUOTE (Johnyblze @ Dec 24 2004, 22:57 )
--QuoteBegin-miata
@Dec 23 2004, 23:20

yeah saw the car also..saw a big zth.com sticker on it..maybe the owner is a forum user..any one? yoHooo? hehhehe

any way..merry xmast to all!! drive safe.. [/b][/quote]

is it black with work emotion rims?

eh guys..... Meeryy Xmas to you all man !!!! B)

Abt today paper...have you guys heard or read abt the asean import car is cheaper 10% effective 1st jan05......

what do you think guys ? does this include the unreg. EVOs ? :D

How abt others evo4/5/6 ...converted version perhaps...those register car..the price is going to effect too ?

Pls share some opinion here.... :ph34r:

Hi Noti,

Will give you a call when I'm up in Pg, let me check out ur monster evo :D PM me ur contact bro.. Your selling your evo?

Is there any evo club in malaysia? Wanna found out more info about de car before commiting leh... not rich guy mar. :(

I dont think the evo prices will be affect much coz its not produced in asean and most of them are grey imports anyway. But very dissappointing and embrassing how our country is so called "opening up" our motor industry by removing the import tax with one hand, but the other hand is imposing high excise taxes...sigh...

afta didn't effect $ of any imported car... x-size duty are going up bout 12+-% but import duty down for 10+-%... so almost same LOL.. 20 % goment income r from automobil..

price for evo probly will increase just wat happen early 2004, almost 20k increase....

happy new year! to ZTH forumers

wah....like dat ar...than mah gai.....hmmm...duno when only able to buy a new evo then............... :blink:

Just wanna be nosy.... what kind of mods have you guys done? Mine as follows:

exhaust - decat, blitz rear section
filter - K&N panel filter
electronics - turbo timer

very "long" list, huh??!

Thinking of doing the following:

exhaust downpipe
intercooler hard pipes
boost controller - What's the standard boost for e7? 1.0, 1.1 bar?
ECU - maybe

Advice appreciated.

Notiguy and those in Penang and areas affected by the tsunami...

Hope you guys are ok.

Originally posted by seventh_son@Dec 27 2004, 10:37
Notiguy and those in Penang and areas affected by the tsunami...

Hope you guys are ok.
can you imgine a huge sampan was on the road of jalan tanjung tokong after the tsunime wave hit penang....gurney area aslo very bad...... :ph34r: