thinking of getting a 6.5

Originally posted by B18C-R+Dec 22 2004, 00:10 -->
QUOTE (B18C-R @ Dec 22 2004, 00:10 )
Originally posted by miata@Dec 21 2004, 01:43
--QuoteBegin-B18C-R
@Dec 20 2004, 21:53
DJ,
I just came back from JB last nite. I am in JB for the past 4 years and now back in KL but I go down very often. I think if you roam enough in JB, you might had seen my car before. I drive a Red TME kit e6.

hey red TME ? do you have volk racing (white) wheels?

Hi Miata,
I used to run on White Enkei (Tarmac evo) but now I'm on Advan RG (Gold) rims..hehe.

I usualy hang ard KL area lar..although I work in D'sara. [/b][/quote]

Dude .... Red TME centerpoint B.U is it ? Pls tell me u r the one ! i need to know something about that car ! cant remeber the plates . Car was in LInks a few days ago

guys, do you think Enkei WRC Tarmac EVO Sport Rims (white colour) would go beautifully with White E7? The size is 17 x 8 ?
I am thinking of getting this rim for my car...

Originally posted by KLmafia@Dec 22 2004, 08:35
guys, do you think Enkei WRC Tarmac EVO Sport Rims (white colour) would go beautifully with White E7? The size is 17 x 8 ?
yeah....very nice that rim...go for it man !!!!! :lol:

White enkei tarmac on a white 7 ? i guess it will look nice , i have a fren with white tarmac on his 7 but his car is blue. Maybe you should get the hyper rev book and get some more ideas

Originally posted by KLmafia@Dec 22 2004, 08:35
The size is actually 17 X 8.5J. Will fit evo5,6,7 & 8 nicely. Since the standard wheel for evo7 is 17X8J, you may want to check if the standard 235/45/17 tyres are ok. Probably get wider tyres since the rim is wider now and may be damaged from kerb etc

Been eyeing to bag myself an evo for ages, time to upgrade to a nice family frenly four door sedan. ;) well at least thats the idea I'm trying to sell to my gf..haha.

Anyone have any suggests on where I can start to look for a good evo 7? Prefer the 7 compared to the 6. Heard that there were quite a few stolen evo's on the market, fren even offered an evo for rm25k cash, but of course no proper papers. But wanna get a legal one. So where can I start my search?

Originally posted by Replay@Dec 22 2004, 21:14
Been eyeing to bag myself an evo for ages, time to upgrade to a nice family frenly four door sedan. ;) well at least thats the idea I'm trying to sell to my gf..haha.

Anyone have any suggests on where I can start to look for a good evo 7? Prefer the 7 compared to the 6. Heard that there were quite a few stolen evo's on the market, fren even offered an evo for rm25k cash, but of course no proper papers. But wanna get a legal one. So where can I start my search?
Get the 7. You won't regret it. There are 1001 reasons why you should get one, but I can only think of a few:

- practicality - good and spacious enough to ferry your wife/kids on a daily basis and a cracker in terms of performance with superb handling
- loads of tuning potential and plenty of performance parts in the market - relatively easier to extract that extra HP and torque
- Well, may not be as brutal-looking as a 6 or 6.5, but will still stand-out in the crowd compared to the beemers, mercs etc
- the 4G63 is bomb-proof
- well sorted-out chasis - standard
- etc etc

Start your search now man! Motor trader - there are usually a few, Star Classified and of course, showroom-crawling. And always insist on proper documents/papers.

Hi Seventh,

I have checked out a few in car lots and motortrader, but kind of difficult to figure out if the car has any history or problems. Would be bad if ended up with a 170k plus lemon :(

Yes evo7 is definately sweet.... :) de apartment I'm staying at has 3 evo 7, 2 evo 7 gta, damn, everyday have to drool at the cars...

Would it be better to get a reg or unreg car? do you guys bring along your mech along when viewing the car?

Theres a E7 2001 black with goldish rims , going for 158 k !!! in motortrader today . However 3 owners since 2001 and 80 000 kms already . I ll check it out tmmw anyway

Like Forrest Gump said "life is like a box of chocolate...."

Anyway, couple of things I could recommend:

1. Test drive - the dealers will accomodate if there's nothing to hide
2. Insist on warranties - I got 3-months warranty although this may varies from one dealer to another

You're right - if possible bring your mech during test drive. At least take someone who know technical stuff. Since you have buddies with e7, drag them along.

Reg or unreg - there's no guarantee that unreg is better than reg. However, it does affect the loan amount and tenure

Originally posted by miata@Dec 23 2004, 18:41
Theres a E7 2001 black with goldish rims , going for 158 k !!! in motortrader today . However 3 owners since 2001 and 80 000 kms already . I ll check it out tmmw anyway
80,000 kms mark is where all the major services are to be carried out. Add the following items to your normal 5000 kms service:

replace timing belts (2 of them)
replace spark plugs
replace fuel filter

Any ideas how much all these will costs?

Seventh, I dun know de evo owners staying here, if i did would be bumming rides from em all de time ;)

unreg, I assume will grant more loan and longer tenure right?

by the way does the sun roof comes standard?

Miata,

You going to view the car? bring me along also ler, somemore can tumpang ur e6 :D

Sun roof is not standard - mine no sun roof. Unreg - longer loan up to 9 years, bigger amount but higher interest in the end. Pokai guy like me, I take everything maximum!!!

only one thing that a clone evo don`t have...an aluminium chassis...

The funny thing is .... since 2001 it has changed hands 3 times .. i wonder why ? which may make you the 4th owner counting the one in japan unless its imported new. Chances of it being trashed would possibly be higher.

Originally posted by miata@Dec 23 2004, 18:41
hi ... :lol:

with 3 owners since 2001..register when ?? price at 158k....what do you think the interest like and the loan yr ? and aso the downpayment.....

can u recommend how much i should downpayment the car ? based on your exprience...can you calculate for me ? :unsure:

; )

Originally posted by Replay@Dec 23 2004, 20:18
theres one nice yellow one also but price diff is 20k??
how abt the EVO 6.5 (M) 96/99 RM96,800 blue >>> is this lancer converted version ? coz since the is 96/99 ....... :blink: