Thermostat

ae101svt

Sifus here...
my car when idling it's temperature raised exactly at the half but once i speeding it's drop ....the fastest i drive the lower the temperature... wonder why like tat??? is it because of the thermostat not installed???
will it affect the car's performance since VVT won't works on low temperature (correct me if i'm wrong) ...
do i need to installed back the thermostat??

Thanks alot...

I removed my thermostat and removed my air-con

yeah the temperature drop below like I turn off the car

it is adviced to have thermostat in your car cause it will warm up your car faster and it ensure yur car have proper working temperature

my fuel economy been very bad cause the engine running tad too cold >< . I believe lah , cause find any other reason for bad fc

u are mostly correct about the effect to ur bad fc, altho it is not DIRECTLY caused by removing the thermostat. however it's still the reason anyway. when the engine is too cold, u'd have to drive with higher revs or considerably more aggressive to get decent power. what this means is that u open the throttle more, thus using more fuel for less distance. having the stock thermostat for daily town driving is a must. dont believe anything anybody says otherwise. the power and performance of the engine will be unbearable at low revs & speeds.

to the starting post, the "speed goes up, temp comes down" situation is inherent in almost all cars. it is simply the air going thru ur front grill and thru the radiator at higher speed and efficiency that it helps to dissipate heat better. it also means that u have generous and good flowing front face and engine bay. it is nothing to worry about. as long as ur temp still stays at half on idle, it means u still have a working thermostat installed :D