the most overrated car

alright.....gotta agree with koolspyda.....
so the actual definition for overrated: (http://www.allwords.com/word-overrated.html)
adj

Regarded more highly than is deserved
Thesaurus: overblown, overvalued, disappointing.

So the only makes in the market now I would most probly think it's those makes by Proton. - Tiara, Juara, Arena, Savvy

if price of AE86 is high is more so the supply & demand. People recognise the enormous fun from such a tiny aged car.

for example I wouldnt call a high priced lamborgini "DINO "a overrated car. it represents an era defining moment for sports car history even when there are more sports cars from that era that may/probably offer more motoring enjoyment.

sorry but i hope we can stick to the topic issue, then to turn this into a anti EVO or Scobby or AE86.

the price of and evo is now double of a scooby....
and the performance for both is somewhat almost the same.....

thats the glamour of evo....

i think the most overrated is AE86 cos last time b4 initial d come out the car was like rm7-8k(stock car) then after the first series of initial D the car price double up to 14-17k (stock car)
then later drifting gets popular in this country the car price double up again to
20k+(recondition not moded)
25-30k+ (moded drift spect)

so it all comes down to fanboy-ism not real enthusiasm ? . so its like worshiping random gods without base like in the olden times , thats just pure uncivilized .

all the fanchy-smanchy tech is primarily for safety aspects in mind , with an add on bonus that it improves driving performance . so thats a good thing , right ?.

but the problem arise when such drivers overrate the ability of the system . result - accidents . so like koolspyda said skills of drivers is as important as the tech .

btw , where are the tofu car/86 worshipping kids and evo-boys to defend the good name ? lol

let me point out what's on my mind. Since Faisal pointed out my mistake, I guess I should clarify why I stated both cars are overrated in my mind.

Firstly, I'd agree that AE86 is a good car, in fact a great car to drive...eventhough I have not driven before, but I have a few friends who owned it. Faisal as one of them.

But, many people ONLY admire the car because of the anime. I'm sure most of us loved the car b4 today...also because of the anime, I admit that I used to be crazy about this car also. It is because of this, the price of the car went up like mad....so? There're still people who is willing to die for it. But does many people here know how good is the car?

My personal opinion, a good driver doesn't need any electronic gadgets, and like Faisal mentioned, a car like this can make good drivers. I myself never like gadgets like ABS or TCS....etc. But do people love this car because of this? A brilliant car which has a good weight distribution? Not many does that...they just love the car because of the freaking anime, no other intentions like making use of the car.

As for Skylines, no doubt they are good cars, but how many people here knows about the Atessa ETC system which is the unique part of the R34? People here rate the car as Godlike, why? Not because of the system, but only because of the engine RB26DETT, I doubt some of you even know that. The fastest engine? Some even say that this is the fastest car...I doubt people even care about the car's weight. The true value of the car is indeed there though...if you know the car well enough.

As for FC3S, I would certainly pay 40k for the car...why? I'm a fan of rotary, call me stupid or dumb or whatever, I've been hearing bad things about rotary everywhere, but what about the unique part of the engine and the performance of the car? No fancy gadgets or anything...but why I like it? Like Faisal said again, these cars reward drivers. It is still an overrated car because of the price....or I should say overpriced.

Sorry Faisal, didn't have the time to explain as I was rushing just now...and this is just my humble opinion based on general terms. And sorry to some evo fans, the car isn't that bad after all, it's still based on your own opinions, any car can be a good car....I misunderstood the meaning of overrated afterall :P

Doods, how can Proton be overrated? OK maybe by the Proton marketting guys and the high rankers themselves but I doubt so by the rest.. even the guys in Proton garages will tell u " bang ini Proton lah" when u complain about noises and product quality..I'm not flaming Proton here coz I believe most of u guys here will nod in agrement to my statement..
OK back to the point IMO the BMW 850 is overated.. totally not a drivers car, no steering feel/feedback, under powered, spongy brakes, car rolls like a boat, not a really appealing look and too expnsive..
The Audi TT is another overrated car i feel.. so-so power controls meant for ladies and free understeer...
oh well cheers guys

well some statements seem to be saying (an) overhyped car cause the price of car to be over inflated = hence it then deemed overrated

corrento??

well my offering on "overrated" = is when manufacturer hype(s) the particular make & because theres a cult following of that particular "marque". the hyped car isnt & doesnt offer more/improve in any aspects of the said vehicle then its direct competitor(s) of its class. It just selling well because well maybe of manufacturers "pedigree" while the competitors isnt a slouch too.

haiyo u all ah.. break faisal's heart.. in terms of handling.. i think ae86 is UNDERrated la.. see how NA can tapau cefiro with rb20det in drift track anot? lol..
its not over rated.. just over priced my dear friends.. ;) just for the sake of its a collectors item.. ;) hachiroku mann.. ;)

do u peeps even know wat are ratings? its speed handling and designs and stuff.. ever seen the pentagon shape rating profile? lol..

my 2 cents.. rolls royce is over rated la.. i dont really find its beauty.. just hand made by plane turbine makers dats all.. ;)

IMHO

i think the word ovverrated in this thread has been exxagerated ..

hehe :)

wenshen, I've explained about what I've said, I do know Faisal in person and I know what he can do with his AE86, eventually it's up to the driver to control the car. And I do know how do people rate the AE86 in terms of handling.

if you don't mind, please do read what I've written just now.

lake315, this is just a debate between opinions, no grudges. :P

hhaha.. brother thteh.. we oso from dcm la.. i wasnt tembaking u.. ;) relek kawan..

this is just an online debate...there won't be any grudges...like i said, everybody is entitled to their own opinions bro, cheers