the most overrated car

I don't agree. Myvi sales were partly because Proton were doing themselves no favours but also partly because, like parent company Toyota, they gave what the market wanted. And the Myvi filled the general public's transportation needs to a tee almost. The overwhelming response is no lie.

BTW, what new Kelisa?

i don't agree that Proton is sharing platform with Mits....
Mazda with Ford, Yes
Toyota with Daihatsu, Yes.....

my car - Lantis compared to Ford lynx; basically they're sharing almost the same parts....but even the looks are different and engine is tuned differently........

but Proton; for Saga, Wira and Satria; it's more like pure copying (can't they just change the look to be more different?!).....Can't blame Perodua as Toyota-Daihatsu has their stake in the company. Chasis is basically a replica; and engine is still using back mits engine with the logo Proton embedded. Up to the extent that even if there's an actual mirage on the road; we'll still critize and say that it's a proton converted car!
Okie, kudos for Proton to develop the Campro engine....that would be my definition of "sharing platform" from Lotus technology. But the old Proton cars are basically in my definition, not-so-good-quality-replicas of Mits car.

si|verfish said:
I agree, the Myvi is getting serious hype which explains the serious sales figures.

But as I've said, being overrated doesn't make it less of a car, you need to be good to have people rave about.

I don't get what you mean about a Kelisa being way better though. I drive a Kelisa and if someone gave me a Myvi in exchange, I'd bite his hand off. The Kelisa is good for what it is, cheap, fun, reliable. Other than that, I can't see what you are on about. Space, for one, is seriously lacking and you can forget about ride refinement cos there isn't any.
I used to own a Kelisa (A/T) till 6 month ago.

My comments are usually from a driver's point of view and drive-wise the Kelisa is way better. Even went Autocrossing with it (bog Standard too) and won haha.

And such an overall better car for a single guy who needs an urban runabout and space not being an issue (which is not really that bad, really)

And the ride, apart from "impact feel" are pretty good. And it generates one of the highest "Gs" too.

So good that Proton benchmark it as one of the cars , Ride & Handling wise, for the Savvy.

faisal said:
I used to own a Kelisa (A/T) till 6 month ago.

My comments are usually from a driver's point of view and drive-wise the Kelisa is way better. Even went Autocrossing with it (bog Standard too) and won haha.

And such an overall better car for a single guy who needs an urban runabout and space not being an issue (which is not really that bad, really)

And the ride, apart from "impact feel" are pretty good. And it generates one of the highest "Gs" too.

So good that Proton benchmark it as one of the cars , Ride & Handling wise, for the Savvy.
I can agree with that. Mine is a manual. It is just so chuckable. And for urban runabout, it is really more than anyone really needs (big fat 4x4s anyone?).

By "impact feel" you mean crashy right? Because that's how I feel. Going fast, over shite Malaysian roads, the vibrations jar your teeth fillings out. It might be better on 13 inchers though.

actually ford and mazda is the same company is because 1 of its share holders decide to come out with another brand mazda if u look back at the history of ford
thats y the car that they produce is almost the same

as for toyota,perodua and daihatsu they are interrelated eg.myvi = toyota passo
toyota avanza = is daihatsu but dunno what its called saw it in indonesia they dun have avanza there
and kenari = daihatsu move

as for proton last time they dont have machine and all those stuff to make a car thats y they need mitsu as for now i heard they terminate the contract with mitsu
thats y u saw gen-2,savy and satria neo is different from mitsu cars
but for me the bad reputition has make the proton name suck
milo tin lar ptoton= lar etc etc pen tan

bro, wrong infor ler....
Ford is from the state and Mazda is from Jap.
Mazda : 1920 Toyo Cork Kogyo Co., Ltd is founded in Hiroshima, Japan. (http://www.fordmotorcompany.co.za/corporate/history/mazda.asp)

http://media.ford.com/mazda/article_display.cfm?article_id=15147
Mazda History
Mazda builds its first rotary vehicle, the 110S Cosmo Sport.
Mazda establishes Mazda Motor of America (N.W.), Inc.
Vehicle sales in the U.S. begin with the R100 coupe, the first mass-produced rotary-powered car in America.
Mazda Motor of America (Central), Inc. established.
Ford Motor Company purchases a 24.5 percent stake in Mazda Motor Corporation.

Ford only comes into the picture in 1979 in Mazda's history.
Whereby the sharing of platform is being introduced.

From wikepeida (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda):
The Ford Motor Company has owned 25% of Mazda since 1979, and its stake was increased to a 33.4% controlling interest in 1996 when Mazda fell into financial crisis. Ford has based many of its models on Mazdas, such as the Probe, late model (North American) Escort and Mercury Tracer, and the co-developed Escape/Mazda Tribute.

The 1979 deal paved way for Ford selling badge-engineered Mazdas in Asia and Australia, such as the Laser and Telstar. These models replaced the models from Ford Europe sold throughout the 1970s. Ford also used the Mazda models to establish its own retail presence in Japan - the Autorama dealers sold these cars, plus the occasional Ford US and Ford Europe models.

The badge-engineered models came to an end in the early 21st century, as Ford replaced the Laser with its own Focus, and Telstar with its own Mondeo. Ford and Mazda have moved onto collaboration in a more fundamental sense, by way of platform sharing.

HanJackaL said:
Maybe its just me,but i find those continental exotic cars boring.
1. Yes, it's just you.

HanJackaL said:
Nothing interesting about them...does not display your personality or individuality.
2. You sure? GT40, Pagani Zonda, F430 Spyder, Koenigsegg, Lamborghini Gallardo, Mclaren SLR, Porsche Carrera GT...

HanJackaL said:
Any rich man can buy a ferrari and park it in their house.
3. Probably not you :D

HanJackaL said:
What they have is just a car bought off the shelf..exactly like in the brochure.
I believe every car is as its stated in the brochure when you bought it. But most luxury marques offer you the choice of color of your leather seats, the panels you opted for, be it wood, aluminium, carbon fibre, on top of that, you can have bespoke finishings, your signature perhaps in one of the panels and so on.

HanJackaL said:
Of course ferrari has great technology and all..but its not something to be worshipped about.
There's always a difference between those who founded these new technologies, apply them, and those who copied the technology, and refine them.

HanJackaL said:
I bet if Proton was to make a car similar to a Ferrari but with the Proton emblem,people will be able to find countless ways to criticise the car. =P
You're exactly correct, that's why those 'uncles' are not buying a car in the end, they pay for the legacy, the image, the status and history as well. Which most youngsters shall never understand for the time being.

alright..... badge-engineered models is the definition to label the early proton models...

My vote.. is the Subaru Impreza

Hahahha.. way over rated, but keep seeing more and more of them around... hehe

DarkHelmet, care to share "why"...instead of just simple "I felt that" hunch.
Just wondering what other's thoughts are..than mayb we could all group up and build a machine that is based on the pros and try to minimise the cons based on all our criticsmn.......

kekekekeke

si|verfish said:
By "impact feel" you mean crashy right? Because that's how I feel. Going fast, over shite Malaysian roads, the vibrations jar your teeth fillings out. It might be better on 13 inchers though.
Not quite . It's when the damping can't handle moments like when,for example, you go over a 2"x 2 " plank. (well that's how R&H dept test impact feel ) The car, or more specificaly the dampers compresses too slowly, hence the whole car just bounces into the air, the wheel leaves the ground and the whole weight just drops back on terra firma.

Also having a relatively short wheelbase and short travel rear suspension plays into it too.

DarkHelmet said:

Ya la.

I have this friend who owns a Red WRX. He really Abuses the car, in track, autocrosses, Touge runs. All is good since he is of a few that can actually drive the car properly.

The he opens his big mouth. Tells all his friends that the Impreza is "The Dog's Bollocks", "Best thing since mince meat" etc etc

And sudenly in my group of friends there's too many of them from old models to the bug eyed and MY03 oval eyed versions..

Hype hence overated... hahaha

b00n said:
bro, wrong infor ler....
Ford is from the state and Mazda is from Jap.
Mazda : 1920 Toyo Cork Kogyo Co., Ltd is founded in Hiroshima, Japan. (http://www.fordmotorcompany.co.za/corporate/history/mazda.asp)

http://media.ford.com/mazda/article_display.cfm?article_id=15147
Mazda History
Mazda builds its first rotary vehicle, the 110S Cosmo Sport.
Mazda establishes Mazda Motor of America (N.W.), Inc.
Vehicle sales in the U.S. begin with the R100 coupe, the first mass-produced rotary-powered car in America.
Mazda Motor of America (Central), Inc. established.
Ford Motor Company purchases a 24.5 percent stake in Mazda Motor Corporation.

Ford only comes into the picture in 1979 in Mazda's history.
Whereby the sharing of platform is being introduced.

From wikepeida (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda):
The Ford Motor Company has owned 25% of Mazda since 1979, and its stake was increased to a 33.4% controlling interest in 1996 when Mazda fell into financial crisis. Ford has based many of its models on Mazdas, such as the Probe, late model (North American) Escort and Mercury Tracer, and the co-developed Escape/Mazda Tribute.

The 1979 deal paved way for Ford selling badge-engineered Mazdas in Asia and Australia, such as the Laser and Telstar. These models replaced the models from Ford Europe sold throughout the 1970s. Ford also used the Mazda models to establish its own retail presence in Japan - the Autorama dealers sold these cars, plus the occasional Ford US and Ford Europe models.

The badge-engineered models came to an end in the early 21st century, as Ford replaced the Laser with its own Focus, and Telstar with its own Mondeo. Ford and Mazda have moved onto collaboration in a more fundamental sense, by way of platform sharing.

aiii :confused_smile: y last time i read an artical that mazda and ford is the same company:Not_Impressed:
hmm nvm thanks for the info

faisal said:
Not quite . It's when the damping can't handle moments like when,for example, you go over a 2"x 2 " plank. (well that's how R&H dept test impact feel ) The car, or more specificaly the dampers compresses too slowly, hence the whole car just bounces into the air, the wheel leaves the ground and the whole weight just drops back on terra firma.

Also having a relatively short wheelbase and short travel rear suspension plays into it too.
Yeah, that happens as well. If there is a short, sharp bump in the road, you can feel the back end lifting off. Something you don't want to run into when you are going fast and in mid-corner.

faisal said:
Ya la.

I have this friend who owns a Red WRX. He really Abuses the car, in track, autocrosses, Touge runs. All is good since he is of a few that can actually drive the car properly.

The he opens his big mouth. Tells all his friends that the impreza is "The Dog's Bollocks", "Best thing since mince meat" etc etc

And sudenly in my group of friends there's too many of them from old models to the bug eyed and MY03 oval eyed versions..

Hype hence overated... hahaha

Yup, im sure you've drove tha car before. I accept your critics that impreza are overrated. Well, most of the car need minor improvement with aftermarket parts. With the correct settings, handling, driver and car setup, it should be just fine. Handling and safety comes first for me. Its just that people bad mouth who never drove the car before simply criticize it.

I just couldn't agree more people who overdone up the car and simply install this and that without knowing the function on it. Yes, there are a few so-called car enthusiast brags about the car and this sometimes make me just uncomfortable making a conversation with this kind of people. From Proton to rex, evo. Conti to luxury. These prople makes me sick.

DarkHelmet said:

I guess faisal and me has the same friend....

sabelt said:
Yup, im sure you've drove tha car before. I accept your critics that impreza are overrated. Well, most of the car need minor improvement with aftermarket parts. With the correct settings, handling, driver and car setup, it should be just fine. Handling and safety comes first for me. Its just that people bad mouth who never drove the car before simply criticize it.

I just couldn't agree more people who overdone up the car and simply install this and that without knowing the function on it. Yes, there are a few so-called car enthusiast brags about the car and this sometimes make me just uncomfortable making a conversation with this kind of people. From Proton to rex, evo. Conti to luxury. These people makes me sick.
Sabelt, We are on the same wavelenght then :shades_smile:

I think we all have a name for these kind of "enthusiast" - Posers.