the most overrated car

Who cares about whether a car is overated or not? The important thing is the buyer of the car is truly happy with his/her purchase. And for every person who thinks your car is overrated, 20 more fanboys think otherwise so don't let it keep you up at night.

IMO those who are so worried about buying an "overrated" car should just let their friends make the decision for them. Pansies.

The ones I admire are those who work their asses off for their dream car, be it some 20yr old iron or an Italian bella, and don't give a flying fuck about what others say about their car.

supra owners all fat like fuck macam michellin logo.. sigh...
lol like my avatar hehe
:Not_Impressed: blackie i tot u own supra oso 1 ?? r u in the michelin group?? jkjk

funny why would anyone put 'overrated' as price? it's their fame... the perception whereby that is a good car.....

if a car is "overrated" naturaly the car will be "overpriced"

I would still say the AE86 is overrated. and of course, BMWs where everyone thought buying BMW means buying a fast car. oh, not to say those wannabes that go "My Gen2 can go 230km/h..... " ---- 230km/h on your speedo doesn't mean your're doing 230km/h ler.........

i wont say bm is overrated cos bm is well known of its quality,comfort and safety, and also the name ofcourse
even mercedes,volvo,rover,bla bla etc etc
their R&D is very efficient very up to date thats y their car can sell in that high price

y proton cant sell in high price,its cos of its quality, not as safety as BM dun say BM lets compare to honda not even near, the bad service they give
car broke down easily (thats y we can find spare parts easily and cheap)

Maybe its just me,but i find those continental exotic cars boring.Nothing interesting about them...does not display your personality or individuality.Any rich man can buy a ferrari and park it in their house.

During all the gatherings and track days,you see a bunch of old uncles talking about their cars as if there is alot to talk about.What they have is just a car bought off the shelf..exactly like in the brochure.Of course ferrari has great technology and all..but its not something to be worshipped about.I bet if Proton was to make a car similar to a Ferrari but with the Proton emblem,people will be able to find countless ways to criticise the car. =P

BTW,if BMWS are so safe,how come there are so many cases of car catching on fire,and all that sort of things?Its people who worship the car's safety that tend to out do the car's limit and end up crashing..they worship the name so much,they think nothing can EVER happen to them because they are driving XX car.

Anyway,the more i type,the more i find how stupid and pointless this is.Any car can be considered over rated,it all depends on the mentality of owner and how people would like to see it. =P

Kyogezsho said:
hahaha to me ferrari is just like GUCCI , LV, ROLEX
even my G- SHock better and more function than ROlex .. but rolex still worth more and prestigious

u holding a bodyglove bag and ppl holding gucci and LV bags ...
both also bag
same function .. maybe design different abit .. but same use .. and will have hold after long usage .. but still
GUCCI and LV is more prestigious

coz this world follow someting call BRANDING :)

Again, Overrated is not about bang for buck. It's the hype. Period, it's about which is not worth it's hyped, rather than the cash.

There seems to be a misconception that if a car is said to be overrated, it is a bad thing. It isn't necessarily the case. The AE86 IS overrated, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great car. If a certain car is getting too much hype and hero worship, that is when it is overrated. I even agree that Ferraris are overrated. So are BMWs. So are your VTEC Civics and Mitsubishi Evos and Scoobies etc. Being overrated doesn't make them less of a car nor is it a criticism of its owners. So, chill. This is purely a discussion for the fun of it.

I think it was said earlier already, when a car has a huge cult following and fanboys, that car will naturally be overrated, simply because there is a lot of people who buy the hype.

koolspyda said:
well my offering on "overrated" = is when manufacturer hype(s) the particular make & because theres a cult following of that particular "marque". the hyped car isnt & doesnt offer more/improve in any aspects of the said vehicle than its direct competitor(s) of its class. It just selling well because well maybe of manufacturers "pedigree" while the competitors isnt a slouch too.
faisal said:
As to the overated argument I agree to koolspyda's comment. Though I might add not just manufacturers are at fault but us car enthusiast too. Witness Evo fans vs Impreza fans, 4wd fans vs RWD fans.etc

i see that we have in agreement of point of arguement. Which i think the whole "overrated" arguement should be based upon to have credibilty. To a person who cannot ill afford a ferrari would say that that prancing horse dont offer more speed & horsepower then his 1000HP supra then the arguement isnt fair. (sorry BLaCkHoWLiNG, just using supra for comparison sake only)

just because the AE86 is now OVERPRICED ; one cannot afford it & say it's OVERRATED, because the purchase has ballooned above his pocket. (This is supply & demand; as there are unfortunately more demand the supply)

dudes, everybody has their own broad term(s) for "overrated" but lets put it into categories & class.

While saying that, IF the/A buyer does not have brand preference in the begining. if demand the effects of the high priced EVO has inevitably created a syndrome of "MUST have one" over the Scooby when both are equal or both only have a very fine difference advantage over the other(s) then ONE is clearly overrated as if the influence of merchandising "fast & furious & initial D" has conveniently placed in "product placement". (from overhyped view point)

now, if we look away from car "prices" but compare spec for spec & find the / an uniqueness or USP (unique selling point) of a said vehicle that DO NOT perform as expectations then another said class/competitor then ITs clearly OVERRATED (from exaggeration view point).

unfortunately people buy ferrari is because of it icon(ic) status.

overrated hmm, let me put it in male-point-of-view; it like trying to buy dolce & garbana panties but a la senza is equally sensuous for your lady. its overrated ; sex is still the same:shocked:

HanJackaL said:
Its not only the sound of a Ferrari..its so low and so hard.A ferrari is IMPOSSIBLE to use as a daily driven car !And also the pedals placement are very weird,so you have to have an awkward sitting position at all times.Also,there are so many better cars than Ferrari.But ferrari is still legendary just because of the name..i mean,whats so great about a ferrari that put it above the other super cars?And why do people worship ferrari so much?Its not that expensive considering its an exotic...and their technology is not that great.I see nothing special about a Ferrari !

I bet even a turbocharged proton decently modified can keep up with a ferrari in pick up.And a Supra/Skyline/RX7/Silvia decently modded can easily out run a ferrari in Pickup,mid end,top end...and those japanese sport cars are more everyday drivable than a ferrari.Whats so great about a ferrari ?!

obviously u are ill informed or maybe did not inteprete my post well enuff.. i do know ferrari made some pretty woeful cars in the 80s or 90s.. but ever since the modena it improves tremendeusly.. few examples i could mentioned. first 575, its comfortable, its not that noisy (which is perfect for day to day use) and unless u use it to do sundry shopping it has adequate boot space.. oh ya its quick too.. its did a 236 in sepang with aircond on (not semi slicks or slicks btw, just a 1 and a half year old tire, every other things are stock, try that in a modified car and see if it could beat it with road tires)

second example, f430, i concede it might be slightly too loud for daily use but i believe any car enthusiat wont mind the noise.. as for boot frankly its enuff as well.. unless u are trying to buy a table or bed.. n its mightily quick for that matter.. its not the fastest if u compared it with drag monsters or 800hps skylines but try top speed.. it will not loose.. ah yes, the quality of the interior is top notch as well (exterior as well frankly)

lastly, the enzo, aside from veyron, most technical accomplisted car, period.

wow... Ferraris over rated? They deserve every bit of reputation they earned my god's sake. I believe the over rated argue is kinda vague and grey. Why not underrated brands?

Honestly, the only car that is over rated in my opinion, would only be the AE86. Had Initial D weren't made, it would just end up being another 80's rear wheeled driven ...... 3 door hatch back...... :)

Alfa Romeo
Saab
Fiat
Audi (at least in M'sia)

Ingolstadt said:
wow... Ferraris over rated? They deserve every bit of reputation they earned my god's sake. I believe the over rated argue is kinda vague and grey. Why not underrated brands?

Honestly, the only car that is over rated in my opinion, would only be the AE86. Had Initial D weren't made, it would just end up being another 80's rear wheeled driven ...... 3 door hatch back...... :)

Alfa Romeo
Saab
Fiat
Audi (at least in M'sia)

hmm that reminds me of the quattro - 1st few cars that actualy used AWD in racing when it was allowed in rally and actualy won the championship .

thats 1 for the 4wd fanboys lol

and the arguements about modified vs exotic would never end as its all about the drivers prefrence and as discussed mindset .

Silverfish is right,saying a car is overrated is not saying its a terrible car.When i say cars like Ferraris are overrated,i dont mean its a shitty car because i would be mad to say it.What i am trying to mean is,it is not as godly as people claim it is untill it has totally no competition because its a GOD of cars.No car is a GOD of cars and every car has their good points and bad points.A car that is overrated is a car which everyone thinks is GOD and the best car ever manufactured.Ferrari is over rated because most people thinks its the god of all cars which is untrue...And AE86 is overrated because people think its the godliest drift car ever made which is again untrue!

It's up to the individual to decide whether a car is the GOD of cars or not. Knowledge and exposure affects this a lot.

For example, a person who gets his first exposure to drifting via Initial D will think the AE86 is king, and an S15 sucks donkey balls. But one who watches the real D1 footage may think otherwise.

well, for me,
the most over-rated car is MYVi
no offence to all the owner

just my personal opinion...
since it come out
always hear ppl say
myvi myvi myvi
now even got biskut name MYVi(to)

always hear ppl say "wan to save fuel change to MYVi"
"i wan to buy MYVi it is very pretty"
MYVi here MYVi there

is it really THAT good?

Ferrari got overrated just because of the hypes....
But I do agree that many continentals got underatted because thy're less enthusiasts for continentals......

Ppl prefer jap cars because they're expert around to tune the gizmo. But its all about supply and demand.........if you have more continental car enthusiasts; than this thread would eventually biased towards jap monster cars as overatted.

Every manufacturer has their makes that sometimes can be quite overatted "IN TERM OF CAR SPECS".

Everyone has the rights to their own opinion; lets not turn this thread into "turbo vs NA"; "Continental vs Jap", "Soobie vs EVO", "Proton vs PerOdua?!?!?!?!"

haha oh yeah. my vote for most overated car in Malaysia has to be the MyVi.

Overated on looks

Overated on value

Overated on quality.

Bollock coz, i think a Kelisa, is way better.

faisal said:

Overated on looks

Overated on value

Overated on quality.

i totally agree
not to mention
Overated on fuel consumption

faisal said:

Overated on looks

Overated on value

Overated on quality.

I agree, the Myvi is getting serious hype which explains the serious sales figures.

But as I've said, being overrated doesn't make it less of a car, you need to be good to have people rave about.

I don't get what you mean about a Kelisa being way better though. I drive a Kelisa and if someone gave me a Myvi in exchange, I'd bite his hand off. The Kelisa is good for what it is, cheap, fun, reliable. Other than that, I can't see what you are on about. Space, for one, is seriously lacking and you can forget about ride refinement cos there isn't any.

Myvi got hyped up because of Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon.....
same like WiraLutions and WajaLutions.......
Proton make the mistake of copying other manufacturer's design. They're some what like sch boys; copy here and there than just re-arrange the sentence. But than again making mistake like forgot to insert punctuation note or silly grammatical error; than dare to boast around with the car specs.................that's what I call overrated car specs!

I am always twitching in my mind with this thought......if the engine is good enough; would you convert or transfer an engine? Seldom see transfer of engine or conversion of engine for continental cars.....am I too naive?! Ok...got.......RB in an old sch BMW. VTEC in MINI....but considering the age of the cars.......it's about time too

But look at M'sian local car; have the Government ever think why there's so many conversion of engines in Wira, Waja, Kenari, Kancil......etc....
Instead of imposing strict rules on conversion of engine, who's going to sugesst to them to build a better car? Come up with something equivalent to Evos and charge them the same price...............I don't think the consumer would mind if the quality is there....

Ummm...ever heard of platform sharing?

I don't mind the copying. I mind it being shite regardless of how its made.

You people should seriously stop ranting about the copying because it happens, and its done by everyone. So its a mute point to make. And so is the engine conversion point.

Myvi is getting serious hype (some accolades they dont deserve as its only a basic car, handling = 3/10) but shoring sales in my opinion are generally post-proton blues syndrome. if there were fair competion across the board, i think the frenchie cars would take the accolades in the small car category.

new kelisa > Myvi
but serious hype/soaring sales is making it overrated for what's worth.

AE86 >
overrated if you discount cult/fanatics

lotus elise S1 = best handling in its class (no contest)
overrated in department of accelaration by manufacturer
(nobody can replicate the 0-100 times in stock form)

amber chia = overrated malaysian girl as talent not varied but still young

hannah tan = overrated singer (opps)

paris hilton = overrated chick