Temp Problem

mine is on the 5th mark of the gauge(count from the picture)some times will go down lower to the 3rd mark(usually in the cold e.g morning and late at night)

Spoonz said:
yea..near the half mark...
but when it cross the half mark there must be a problem...

syakir,
I had recently service my radiator (double layer) and it cost me 60.
check for the water level in ur radiator oso...
if the water does not kering (when overheating) then ur radiator must be ok..

water in my radiator not dry when overheating. however water from radiator will kick back to the reserve tank.

what do you mean by water will kick back to reserve tank?
usually when overheating occur water in radiator will dry and so do water in reserve tank...
water in reserve tank acts as additional supply if the radiator needs more fluids to cold down the engine..

Spoonz said:
what do you mean by water will kick back to reserve tank?
usually when overheating occur water in radiator will dry and so do water in reserve tank...
water in reserve tank acts as additional supply if the radiator needs more fluids to cold down the engine..

i mean when overheat, the reserve tank is full of water seems like the pressure kick the water from radiator to reserve tank.

aik? really pelik la....
got to ask somebody expert in temp control...

m_syakir_r said:
i mean when overheat, the reserve tank is full of water seems like the pressure kick the water from radiator to reserve tank.

lastime my car also like this.....when overheat, the reserve tank is full of water.
in my case, the 'water drain plug' is loose. i went to radiator shop to checked, they just seal with 'white sealent tape' like water sealent tape. after that ok. can DIY.

parimus said:
lastime my car also like this.....when overheat, the reserve tank is full of water.
in my case, the 'water drain plug' is loose. i went to radiator shop to checked, they just seal with 'white sealent tape' like water sealent tape. after that ok. can DIY.

can u show me some picture how the white sealant tape was applied.

that means you all yang pernah overheat have to go skimm head and block lol

hmm..maybe that happens when the water coolant temperature gets at such a high temperature because it expands, hence the reason for the overflow tank. other than that u could be using a high pressure radiator cap that contibutes higher temp.

just my 2 cents.

m_syakir_r said:

my car got same temp prob too...it always happen when at night and cold wheater like rainy day etc...everything about cooling system already change...but the prob still happen...the meter will rise above the half mark but not touch the red line...

My temp is okay middle on the afternoons, on the hot sun on the highway... but I need to top up the reserve tank almost every other day... Have tried looking for leakage, but cannot find any.. no water/coolant stains on floor when I leave my car overnight.

i suspect the radiator itself has a micro leak in the fins, and when driving, the flow of air causes the water to come out of the leak.

Aih.... considering other mods I'm planning, coolant costs is something I'll bear with until I have enough budget for a aluminium radiator.

shiroitenshi said:
My temp is okay middle on the afternoons, on the hot sun on the highway... but I need to top up the reserve tank almost every other day... Have tried looking for leakage, but cannot find any.. no water/coolant stains on floor when I leave my car overnight.

i suspect the radiator itself has a micro leak in the fins, and when driving, the flow of air causes the water to come out of the leak.

Aih.... considering other mods I'm planning, coolant costs is something I'll bear with until I have enough budget for a aluminium radiator.

Hi shiroitenshi,

I've facing da same prob as u r. So u suspect is the radiator that's causing da prob? is it by changing the radiator will solve da prob?

c00lric said:
Hi shiroitenshi,

I've facing da same prob as u r. So u suspect is the radiator that's causing da prob? is it by changing the radiator will solve da prob?

Err.. that's normal-lah.. depending on how you drive.. on really hot weather, and you're running high revs.. sure high temp onelah! On highways, the heat from the road gets into your engine bay.. cannot avoid one lah!

Changing the radiator won't definitely solve your problem... so hold your horses if you think I suggest changing the radiator!...

I'm changing the radiator coz I'm a mod person.. when something is amiss, I tend to change it to a performance part, rather than the stock one.. it's just what I like..

For you, better check at the mechanic/friend/other forummers I think it's wiser to see what the other's suggest.

I'm not suggesting anything!!!

shiroitenshi said:
Err.. that's normal-lah.. depending on how you drive.. on really hot weather, and you're running high revs.. sure high temp onelah! On highways, the heat from the road gets into your engine bay.. cannot avoid one lah!

Changing the radiator won't definitely solve your problem... so hold your horses if you think I suggest changing the radiator!...

I'm changing the radiator coz I'm a mod person.. when something is amiss, I tend to change it to a performance part, rather than the stock one.. it's just what I like..

For you, better check at the mechanic/friend/other forummers I think it's wiser to see what the other's suggest.

I'm not suggesting anything!!!

Hi Shiroitenshi,

Well, thnx. I've already sent 2 da mechanic for a check up. No sign of leakage or anything like that.

And just now i went 4 a hard drive (rev up to 4 ~4.5K RPM, not really hard i guess) and as i reached home, the water were spilling out as i drove to the front gate of my house. What could hav happened?

c00lric said:
Hi Shiroitenshi,

Well, thnx. I've already sent 2 da mechanic for a check up. No sign of leakage or anything like that.

And just now i went 4 a hard drive (rev up to 4 ~4.5K RPM, not really hard i guess) and as i reached home, the water were spilling out as i drove to the front gate of my house. What could hav happened?

Hmm.. I'm not too sure, but it's usually the sign of blockage, or like some people say, overheating..

shiroitenshi said:
Hmm.. I'm not too sure, but it's usually the sign of blockage, or like some people say, overheating..

Hi Shiroitenshi,

My temp gauge is at da norm level and i did top up some water in the reservoir in da morning as water level has dropped to the low level marked in the water reservoir.

c00lric said:
Hi Shiroitenshi,

My temp gauge is at da norm level and i did top up some water in the reservoir in da morning as water level has dropped to the low level marked in the water reservoir.

Well.. it's usual for me to do the same.. I wonder where the water goes? (O_o)

From what I know, our water pump is driven by the timing belt.. so the higher revs, the more water is pushed into the system, and so..

I assume (so don't hold it as the truth) that if there's blockage in the radiator, the pressure will build up, and the radiator cap will open and water will flow back to the reservoir... hence, the spilling over.

Driving normally would retain the cap pressure, and the water would flow in as required, hence the reduction in the reservoir.

Just a theory of mine.. not really sure..

ok..bro....i think thats u have a problem with ur termostat.....mine also like that last time but........already change....but if u alreday change ur termostat and still face the same prob..............if no leaking....i garenty u........ur temp meter rosak.......

well, how about mine...its just happen 2 week ago untill now...
my reserve tank alwz full like the radiator water kick back to it...
if i don't top up water into radiator then, my temp will raise up...huh..
poning den...no leaking at all..
when i open radiator cap, i can hear pressure with water goes to reservoir...
why haa?

hi....just my opinion.....i am facing the problem exactly same as you r facing now, few months ago i just changed thermostart, sensor and wash radiator. My water temp still will shoot up when i drive long distance, my mech told me that mostly is come from gasket, might need to change:confused_smile: