some questions about tyres..please help me sifu!

mir_nofx

hi guys..i've posted this once in someone's thread but no reply..so i might as well start a new thread maybe others will benefit frm this info too..
this is my question..
if on my tyre says the max pressure is 275kpa..shud i pump till the max?
or wut? cz smtimes i read dat under inflated tyres will eat up fc..
so is the max pressure regarded as the ideal pressure for tyres? or do i pump in at a lower pressure..say 250kpa or something? wut kpa is considered under inflated if my tyre is around 275-300kpa max pressure?

and i'v got another question..recently i changed rims..and tyres..so when the kedai quote me the price..it was different..when they started to install the rims..then they say need cnter cone or smthing..cost rm100 for all 4 bcoz they say there's gap in btween..is dat the real price? n do i really hv to install dat? or am i being cheated?

anyway since budget already lari a bit..i dcided to install 2nd hand tyres..bridgstone techno..15/50..i know the tyre's old..but got no choice wit the money i had dat time..the techno was a 2nd hand..korek punya tyre..
he said can still last like 4-5months..
my question is..wut kinda risk am i facing? the tyre can blow up ar? since already korek tyre..or is it just less grip n traction danger?
if less grip..i'm not realy worried since i dun drive dat fast n i'v got 2 new yokohama parada in front..
but if u guys say there's a probability of the tyre blowing up..then i'm woried..n wana change tyres..
fyi the 2ndhand tyres already got like small lines..is it considered cracking? like old rubber but inflated..i duno how to dscribe the condition..but other than that the tyre looks ok to me exteriorly..

can any of u or any tyre sifu enlighten me please?
thank u..really appreciate the info cz still newbie..

u should nt pump till max pressure
30psi should be good to go
cos when u drive tyre will expand due to heat,
and i dnt like 2nd hand tyres korek one
even if its 2nd hand, try to avoid korek ones
cos the tyre is thin at the inner patterns
its a risk to face, i dont tink it will blow or wht
bt its easier to puncture cost its thin.

the cone is nt important, 90% of cars dont run with it

pump 220 kpa f,200 kpa r.it should be good for u.don't buy or use rethreaded
tyre.it's quite dangerous if u bought the 1 that r already thin n old.the possibility
of ur tyre explode or punctured is there.depends on the tyre that u bought.

Agree with the others. Since ur tyre already 2nd hand and rethreading one, just pump it at safe psi whic is in between the min an max.
When the tyreman said last for 4-5 month, he was actually refering the normal worn out for these tyres in normal driving condition. These type of tyre will not give u safety assurance if u hit patholes or need emergency braking.
Get better tyres asap, at least for the front tyres.

Agree with the others. Since ur tyre already 2nd hand and rethreading one, just pump it at safe psi whic is in between the min an max.
When the tyreman said last for 4-5 month, he was actually refering the normal worn out for these tyres in normal driving condition. These type of tyre will not give u safety assurance if u hit patholes or need emergency braking.
Get better tyres asap, at least for the front tyres.

allrite..thanx..gt auto,jinkl, and sebastianloeb..
advise taken..as soon as i have enough money..gona change the tyres..
and the front ones are new ones already - yoko parada, sebastian..
only the rear ones are rethreaded..

i think i've been cheated lor bout the cones..dang it..cost me another extra rm100..if not for dat i cudv changed the rear ones to new ones..
they only told bout the cone just when they are installing the rims..not at the beginning..their strategy maybe..and kinda threaten me sayin dat if i dun put it in..next time it'll be at a higher price and dun blame them if the steering rattles by not putting it in..so i was trapped to make a quick decision..

anyway thanx guys for the helpful infos and comments!

mind to tell us where the shop located to avoid similar case happen to our member here?

Looks like it's a bit too late to help mir_nofx since he already bought the second hand rethread tyres.

mir_nofx,
Don't fret too much about it but drive carefully with those tyres. No point making a fuss out of it since you've already bought it. As for those cones (I don't even know what it is), when you change tyres, many shops will tell you to add this and that because they want extra money, even if those things they sell to you is not required. Perhaps this is just how many malaysian tyre shops run their business because they know well enough that no customers will go to the consumer association to file a law suit or a whatever against them. Actually, in general, not many malaysian consumers will do that but just imagine if we do that. We'll then be treated accordingly and fairly.

http://www.carbibles.com/tyre_bible.html
have a read here.

from the article. suggested to pump 10% less than the tyre can take.
i have pump according to the article, and until now no problem so far.

silverstone ftz 15", max press. 44psi. minus 10% = 39psi.
i pump around that figure 37-39%. so far no problem.
tyre thread all still "equal" wear.

for the cones. if after changing rims/tyres and do balancing/on wheel balancing still got vibration, last option is the cones.

the cones placed at the hub/rim center to remove gap and provide max contact between rims and hub. btw, result maybe good or still vibrate, depends.

mind to tell us where the shop located to avoid similar case happen to our member here?

unfortunately it's the well known kedai papan in klang on the road to meru..i assume it's kedai papan because the first time i went there not a single worker were free to cater around my needs not like other rim shops i went to..so the second time i went there i asked one of the older workers there and he says dat it is the kedai papan..

neway..i was looking for dat kedai since heard dat they sell variety of rims at a good price..so..i surveyed around and their price is ok i guess..and bought a black 15" buddyclub taiwan replica..and i asked which co. in taiwan is it from..
they said it's k-speed..but wut makes me wonder is dat..i saw other k-speed's rims..and all got k-speed cap..but mine just got buddyclub on it..
so is it really k-speed's or not i'm not sure now..i asked them to write k-speed rims on the receipt but they said they'll just put the serial number on the receipt..i wanted them to do dat because next time if i wana sell the rims it's easier to prove it's k-speed's (i think they got a reputable brand compared to other taiwanese brands) since on the rim itself doesn't say which co. made it..

wut done is done..i'm ok with the rims and tyres..so just have to tutup mata la and forget bout it n treat it as a lesson..there's good and bad bout it..the good thing is dat i got a pair of yokohama parada 195/15/50 for rm280 something which i thot was quite a good price..i duno the actual market price actualy..but i compared it to the bridgestone my01 which the guy offered me for around the same price..the parada i had to add about rm10-20 more...
it's not that bad of a shop but other potential buyers must know what they're goin to have to go through before going there..(not like me who bought the 4 cones for rm100) lol...

oh..the famous black-shop

famous black-shop? can xplain further ar? anything i need to know bout the shop? cz maybe goin back for the new tyres? or any good tyre shops with good price to recommend?

yea..i went last time still orange..dunno if it's black now got burnt down or something..lol..

guys..got my new tyres already from one of the forumers..
selling new tyre dat he hasn't used..
bfgoodrich g-force sport..
i saw the review at tirerack..it was pretty good..
u guys' opinion? ok or not dat tyre?

erm..neway..wanted to ask one more question bout the tyres..
i changed my rims from 13' to 15' but my spare tyre is stil 13'..
can i still use it for spare eventho all of em now are 15'? or do i need to find another spare rim dat is 15' also?

i've been using it for more then 2 years now.the grip is quite good.it's also
perform well on wet.last quite long too.for me,money well spend.

yes,u can still use the 13" as ur spare.no need to change it.

cool..2years ar? quite a long time..how long (range of mileage) is the tyre can be used?
i've got a pair from a forumer who's had it but never mounted it on..
he sold to me only rm250/pair..how much was urs gtauto?
the market price how much? i didn't survey the mkt price as i thought it was a good price already..
the tyre code is 3006..so 30th week 2006 right? dats wut he said..so is it ok if the tyres are kept that long without mounting it on any vehicle?
maybe i wana install it tomoro..around how much do they charge to change the 2 tyres ar(labor cost only no purchasing anything)? just for a guide tomoro..dun wana be cheated..

gtauto..if i were to change the spare to a smaller spare (sometimes got those small-yellow-steelrims-sparetyre..)would it make a big difference in weight compared to the stdard 13"steelrims spare tyre now?

the price that u get for the tyre is consider a good bargain already.i bought
mine for rm150ea.if i'm not mistaken,tyre shop selling it for rm190ea.

usually they will charge u around rm8-rm10 each incl balancing.

if u said ur's is steel rim,i don't think it make much difference cos ur's is already
quite light.mine is alloy so quite heavy.i go to h/cut shop n bought that yellow
steel rim for rm20.

oo..ok then..
yeah i thot my tyres were a good bargain too..so dats y didn check the market price..

anyway wana ask one more thing..i was thinking of installing a zenden strut bar in front..is it worth it?
cz my car if around 70-100km/h and corner..feel a bit lari..so i guess the strut bar will help stabilize it a little right? i'm still using standard absorbers and springs..satria 1.3

still dun hv enough money to change the absorbers and springs though..
got quoted for the zenden strut bar at 135/piece..any comments? maybe other brands?

and if i do install it..do i need to do alignment? cz heard smone saying after install need to do alignment..

u wont feel dat much improvement on front bar 1.. try invest on anti roll bar on de rear or just change new stiffer abs :)

no need for alignment if u just install the strut.u will feel a slight improvement
on ur handling n ur car will stay align longer.if ur budget is rm135,u can opted
for sport spring too.it's all depends on u.