SOHC 1.6 TURBO

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
Seriously, this topic is NOT AIMED AT ANYONE! i'm jes curious. Please give constructive replies and suggestions and not flaming anybody? thanks...

SOHC 1.6 Turbo vs B16A

wat's the difference? torque? hp? response???

I will vouch for the b16a. From the point of view of a practical user. End of the day, whatever's spoiled, just get the oem replacement parts. For sohc turbo, not many ppl know how to tune it. If i want to go turbo, i'd rather settle for b16a + turbo. Why only settle for sohc vtec turbo when a dohc turbo has got lots more potential? AYE! The only reason i can think of anyone going the sohc-turbo way is when they have an original engine inside and wants to save the hassle of jpj procedures. Other than that, it wouldn't be wise.

Difference in hp, torque, wouldn't know but the same amount of money spent on an sohc turbo i can spend the same amount on a b16a and give it a good run for the money. End of the day, the b16a got nothing to lose. Constructive enuff?

abit OT, but tech-wise, the D16 would be a better candidate for the turbo versus the B16 AFAIK in reliability because the SOHC runs a cast iron block while the B16 runs a aluminium/alloy block.. correct me if i'm wrong though.

but i think b16a will definitely tapau soch turbo..my fren did once drag with std soch turbo,third gear the turbo came close but still cannot take over..

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Mar 11 2005, 21:28
Seriously, this topic is NOT AIMED AT ANYONE! i'm jes curious. Please give constructive replies and suggestions and not flaming anybody? thanks...

SOHC 1.6 Turbo vs B16A

wat's the difference? torque? hp? response???
Hello bro!
Regarding ur topic SOHC 1.6 Turbo vs B16A..
Sincerely tell u if compare with performance definitely sohc turbo will win B16A...
provided the turbo engine setup nicely.... just like what KillerB said many ppl not really expert to tune it... In oversea, many ppl prefer single cam turbo than big V...It feel really different when u r sitting inside a b16a and a sohc turbo..

However this depends to every individual.... many ppl choose big V becoz it is more practical and more spare parts..comes safe fuel (compare wif turbo)....
But for performance just so so only (stock 170hp if not mistaken, correct me if i m wrong)...

As u said b4 the civic ADD66XX is 1 of the example. He is my close fren... The car is really very very fast...
I test b4 his civic with some friends with B18C typeR and B16A 2.0L.
As the result sohc turbo take first...even original evo cant win him...this alrdy proven...if ur engine setup nicely...I m sure it will tapau all the NA vtec car....

But if u compare with long lasting aspec, SOHC 1.6 Turbo is not a rite choice...
Turbo is turbo, somemore is a bolt on turbo, it definitely will appear some problem sometimes... so it not so tahan compare with vtec...So a lot of ppl rather choose vtec more 'slower a bit' than choosing the sohc turbo which more 'faster a bit'...hehe... :P
But for DOHC VTEC TURBO, the cost is few times higher compare with sohc turbo..
Although it is more potential...

Nowadays, NA vtec car very cham in kl, always being buli...
But for a practical way, what killerB said is rite too.... ;)
Haha...

correct me if i'm wrong...

if a D-series refering to ZC, i've read somewhere that ZC has weak internal to be boosted compare to B16A, not sure about newer D16 series though.

but d-series have cast iron block, should be good for boosting provide it's tuned well enough and has strong internal parts

hmm...going out of topic oredi???? ;)

anyway, are we talking about LPT or HPT? coz both produce different HP, cost different and probably reliability also different.

alo frens..

SOHC turbo is a veli veli fast ler...

aledi proven in Sepang drag ler.. all those sub 12sec. honda all using SOHC ler... the B series all so cham even 2 liter crower track cars oso doing high 20sec. ler.. dun plray pray... how to go wif SOCH turbo, tons of em running sub 12sec. maybe this year one more street car gonna do sub 9sec. kakakakakaka....

Dun believe check back AMF records, soo many all using SOHC turbo.. where got ppl wanna play DOHC Vtec one.. no lah...DOHC vtec can throw sumwhere liao even half cut shop oso no body wants it... selling so cheap.. if u ask SOHC vtec everyone wants it even US market oso so much demand, this year SOHC half cut maybe going up to 10K RM cos soo much better than DOHC.

Can give chance to 2litre maybe 7 - 8 cars handycap ler.. come come .. lets go for SOHC..

Forget about our 2 litre, forget about our B16 hybrid, lets all convert our cars to SOHC it's good ler...

hahahahaha!!!!!!!!SOHC....who knows next type R gonna go for SOHC..

Originally posted by tarrant8877@Mar 12 2005, 16:09
As the result sohc turbo take first...even original evo cant win him...this alrdy proven...if ur engine setup nicely...I m sure it will tapau all the NA vtec car....

Which original EVO are you talking about? All EVO are original what , IMHO?
;)

Originally posted by isitabird@Mar 12 2005, 21:44
alo frens..

aledi proven in Sepang drag ler.. all those sub 12sec. honda all using SOHC ler... the B series all so cham even 2 liter crower track cars oso doing high 20sec. ler.. dun plray pray... how to go wif SOCH turbo, tons of em running sub 12sec. maybe this year one more street car gonna do sub 9sec. kakakakakaka....

Dun believe check back AMF records, soo many all using SOHC turbo.. where got ppl wanna play DOHC Vtec one.. no lah...DOHC vtec can throw sumwhere liao even half cut shop oso no body wants it... selling so cheap.. if u ask SOHC vtec everyone wants it even US market oso so much demand, this year SOHC half cut maybe going up to 10K RM cos soo much better than DOHC.

Can give chance to 2litre maybe 7 - 8 cars handycap ler.. come come .. lets go for SOHC..

Forget about our 2 litre, forget about our B16 hybrid, lets all convert our cars to SOHC it's good ler...

ok...I suggest you stop it here. We are here for some constructive feedback.

If you wanna flame, bring it somewhere else.

<_<

Originally posted by SataniC+Mar 12 2005, 21:09 -->
QUOTE (SataniC @ Mar 12 2005, 21:09 )
--QuoteBegin-tarrant8877
@Mar 12 2005, 16:09
As u said b4 the civic ADD66XX is 1 of the example. He is my close fren... The car is really very very fast...
I test b4 his civic with some friends with B18C typeR and B16A 2.0L.

hmm...bro do you mind reminding your fren that my fren's offer for a friendly match is still open....mind u...he is using true B16A...not B16X....if u nor ur fren dun believe it we can always ask my fren to do an autopsy on his engine...but 1 bolt/nut open will cost u ard RM20...AHAHHAHAHAHAHA..but seriously...if ur fren's turbo car is considered fast...surely he's not scared to come out and test with my fren's B16A rite?cos it would be quite funny for a car that was claimed to take first with a B18CR,B20B and ORI EVO dont dare to play with a small kicimiao B16A now wouldnt he?anything just drop me a pm...

Cheers [/b][/quote]
Hmmmmm..... I smell blood! :lol: :lol: :lol: Chinese movies will call it flying pigeon message book. (Fei Kap Chuen Shue) Hahahahhhaa. That means looking for a duel :P

1.6 soch is normal setup ,
tdo4 turbine ,
all on stock internalls , injectors , FMIC and with VAFC ,
could take on B16~b18 non or type r Easily ,

tested personally , no joke ,

respond faster then EVO's

wat about if it's used for daily driven? i think it's more viable to have NA car for daily driven...

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Mar 13 2005, 01:47
wat about if it's used for daily driven? i think it's more viable to have NA car for daily driven...

daily driven NA lar....then put in laughing gas lor..... :)

Originally posted by isitabird@Mar 12 2005, 21:44
alo frens..

please correct your fact.

US ppl get sohc because those are cheap. dohc vtec will cost them an arm an a leg. this is the truth actually. hahahaha.

Well , I have recently got a chance to sit in a SOHC turbo Auto. well the power band reall can't compare with manual, well can't expect much. But for daily drive to me it would be much more worth whiule than a manual. if looking for torque, go with manual.
THis is just my own opinion on these matter. :D

Lets not talk about how this setup with win that setup, DOHC, SOHC, etc. etc. too much variety to compare.. endless combination of possible setup's..

In the end it will all depend on preferences..

however..

if your question IS whether the SOHC civic is worth turbocharging.. then the answer is Yes.. 100% :)