can a 4G63 SOHC bolt a turbo?

Rons said:
dude..nobody would want to bolt on a turbo on any kind of SOHC engine la..cos SOHC engine cant stand the high performance of a turbo and even if u really do it..it wont last long cos ur engine cant stand it..and talking bout special, maybe ur pistons will fly out 3 stories high..and that's special..

Fren....Modding car is juz like art la... Dun judge by its appearance la plz...c the word SOHC then assume so many negative things alr... In fact there r some great SOHC engines out there.

It depends how the artist (tuner) draws (tunes n mod) the drawing (engine) oni....

*p.s* dun watch 2 much movies like 2F2F...givs u many wrong assumptions....:rolleyes:

i heard that sohc 1.6 civic internal parts is the strongest/toughest among others sohc engine line up(some mechanic and others outside forum),

acbc said:
If done properly, it is ok.

Ask Joeker... he bolt-on turbo to stock 4G92 Proton engine... now who would bother to spend money on Proton engines? Better yet, he maintain the stock gasket! Yes, Proton gasket! :eek:

Sometimes, not everyone is into Jap conversion stuff... it is all about satisfaction.

Other reasons why bolt-on is still worth it...

1. No hassle with the law - JPJ or cops
2. Healthy engine - new engine vs junkyard engine
3. Experiment - learn more the hands-on way

yeah! very colorfull advise i will take....wad kinda turbo charger dat 4G63 SOHC are suitable? and wad kinda ECU are suitable too?

verticalimit said:
try to go for EON original turbo kit can direct bolt on. no need change anything..

tQ 4 the recommendation...EON got original turbo kit meh?(sorry 4 my inexperience)...where to get? any EON service centre?

Blowerz said:
i heard that sohc 1.6 civic internal parts is the strongest/toughest among others sohc engine line up(some mechanic and others outside forum),

yeah...read sum jap. magazines b4(Option) stating a SOHC VTEC are damn reliable.....if i'm not mistaken... :smile:

If you wanna TC SOHC engine, just get your heads changed to Turbo friendly heads. NA heads can't take the pressure. Boosting up to 0.8 bar still possible, overdoing it will cause your engine say bye bye. Injectors, not really needed unless you upgrade to higher cc blocks. Also, upgrade your fuel pump and fuel regulator to make sure enough fuel transfer to your engine. Take precaution on your engine bay, as once you TC'ed, the engine tends to produce more heat. Get ATF and engine oil cooler to settle it down. TC a SOHC car, don't expect for large hp produced. Afterall, your gearbox not designed for high bhp.

thank you 4 ur advice....i'm really no experience on TC system...wad type of heads are useble on my sohc block? heard dat my sohc valve block can use vr4 valve block...can right?...so means dat i can keep my injectors....do u noe how many cc can my stock injectors are spraying? where 2 get atf n engine oil cooler in penang?...and maybe i intend 2 change my stock gearbox to a manual type?

erm i personally tink
a 63t dohc head , metal gasket
and bigger injector will do for 0.6bar , erm n TUNING

jinkl said:
erm i personally tink
a 63t dohc head , metal gasket
and bigger injector will do for 0.6bar , erm n TUNING

Hi n thank you 4 ur advice!....so i need 2 search 4 63t dohc head..any of them...? evo series or vr4 series? which one can fit on my sohc block? how many cc injector needed 2 change? n using wad type of ECU to move the dohc head from a sohc head?

Yes, you can use evo heads. Stock injectors for Airtrek NA or Turbo is 450cc. You increasing your capacity? Or else don't bother to change your injectors. As for the ATF and Engine coolers, you probably gotta source around. I'm not sure about Penang. Remember, upgrade your braking system too as your stock brakes might not able to stop in time due to your engine too powerful hehehe

kokchiew2 said:
Can anyone giv sum technical advice whether the old 4G63 SOHC engine be bolted a small turbo in order to increase the HP/Torque?

Always can......PM me the best price in town for this project.