can a 4G63 SOHC bolt a turbo?

kokchiew2 said:
hmm..i think my engine is still healthy...jus the transmission got problems....ATF leak like water paip........

my car petrol are RM80 = 480km..

My sohc 4G63 lagi teruk....full tank 300++ oni....
Highest km i've tried is 320++km oni...

kher said:
Sometimes they don understand a car enthusiast's feeling...:D
So sometimes things we do will be so different til they think we're crazy and hav too much money...:rolleyes:

yeah! agreed...not sayin abt got $ or not...just wanna see the difference...cos mostly ppl r not interested in a turboed SOHC engine.....
:D

kher said:
My sohc 4G63 lagi teruk....full tank 300++ oni....
Highest km i've tried is 320++km oni...

oooooo :rolleyes:

u are also a 4G63 SOHC owner too..!!! welcome! ur full tank onli lasted 4 300++km? wahhh....sure anot? or u always press the throttle hard...4-6k rpm rite?....i always keep it at below 2.5k rpm......i only press hard when ppl flashing lights...hehehe...

kokchiew2 said:
can giv an idea of the parts dat needed to upgrade a 4G63 SOHC engine list....say 1) exhaust manifold 2) intercooler 3) compatible ECU.....hehe! really wanna upgrade my old car without using a halfcut engine....a BIG PROJECT 4 me..

this's what i remember..

1. exhaust manifold
better if u can exhaust manifold with turbo attached to it...less work to do
2. metal gasket..
3. low compression piston
4. turbo td04 twin blade or td05 single fin (for beginners hehe)
5. intercooler
6.original hose ..but if u have RM just o stainless piping
7. vr4 turbo injector

will update if can remember...

kokchiew2 said:
yeah! agreed...not sayin abt got $ or not...just wanna see the difference...cos mostly ppl r not interested in a turboed SOHC engine.....
:D

That's the fun lor......like growing a seed to a tree n u buy a tree n see it grow somemore....
Sure is from seed to tree more syiok...

kokchiew2 said:
oooooo :rolleyes:

u are also a 4G63 SOHC owner too..!!! welcome! ur full tank onli lasted 4 300++km? wahhh....sure anot? or u always press the throttle hard...4-6k rpm rite?....i always keep it at below 2.5k rpm......i only press hard when ppl flashing lights...hehehe...

Nola...mine is memang problem alr 1...
Normal driving also same....
Then of coz full throttle is worst...

ruhaz said:
this's what i remember..

1. exhaust manifold
2. metal gasket..
5. intercooler
7. vr4 turbo injector

Tank Q tank Q..!

must cari the parts from potong shop rite..?
hmm...mus need time to get the parts too....

1. exhaust manifold
better if u can exhaust manifold with turbo attached to it...
less work to doCOLOR]
2. metal gasket..COLOR]
4. turbo td04 twin blade or td05 single fin (for beginners hehe)COLOR]
5. intercooler
7. vr4 turbo injectorCOLOR]

kher said:
That's the fun lor......like growing a seed to a tree n u buy a tree n see it grow somemore....
Sure is from seed to tree more syiok...

oooooOO! good poem!! hehe! yalor...stage by stage...like Initial D...stage by stage u learn more....

kher said:
Nola...mine is memang problem alr 1...
Normal driving also same....
Then of coz full throttle is worst...

isit ur engine combustion timing are out...air/fuel ratio r N.G? tis thing will effect ur fuel consumption...

ruhaz said:
this's what i remember..

1. exhaust manifold
2. metal gasket..
5. intercooler
7. vr4 turbo injector

or jus change the valve block/cam block to 4G63 DOHC block? i heard frm my fren is possible..? isit true?

Sigh... talk about unhealty engine... mine gave up ghost and died... timing belt snapped while driving back home. Tiu! KNN!

Now looking for VR4 RS A/T halfcut. Damn bad luck... must happen when I'm flat broke.

acbc said:
Sigh... talk about unhealty engine... mine gave up ghost and died... timing belt snapped while driving back home. Tiu! KNN!

Now looking for VR4 RS A/T halfcut. Damn bad luck... must happen when I'm flat broke.

hahaha! same 2 me..jus last week took me abt 4.5k jus repairing my oldie perdana..
1) Changed torque converter ( RM1600 )
2) Changed Mitsubishi timing belt+bearing ( RM600 )
3) Changed new engine mounting bush ( x3pcs = RM450 )
4) Alternator belt ( RM38 )
5) Aircon belt ( RM25 )
6) P. Steering belt (RM32)
7) Grand front disc (rotor) (RM160)
8) Changed new Bosch Brake pad-front ( RM80 )
9) Changed frt upper arm ( RM160 )
10) Changed frt lower arm ( RM720 )
11) Changed left frt camber ( RM170)
12) Add electric fan ( RM150 )
13) Changed all my botak tires ( RM 700 )

Now i'm totally broke..n near bankcrupt...why one shot all damaged 2gether when got no $.....not fair....totally not fair...

dude..nobody would want to bolt on a turbo on any kind of SOHC engine la..cos SOHC engine cant stand the high performance of a turbo and even if u really do it..it wont last long cos ur engine cant stand it..and talking bout special, maybe ur pistons will fly out 3 stories high..and that's special..

Rons said:
dude..nobody would want to bolt on a turbo on any kind of SOHC engine la..cos SOHC engine cant stand the high performance of a turbo and even if u really do it..it wont last long cos ur engine cant stand it..and talking bout special, maybe ur pistons will fly out 3 stories high..and that's special..

If done properly, it is ok.

Ask Joeker... he bolt-on turbo to stock 4G92 Proton engine... now who would bother to spend money on Proton engines? Better yet, he maintain the stock gasket! Yes, Proton gasket! :eek:

Sometimes, not everyone is into Jap conversion stuff... it is all about satisfaction.

Other reasons why bolt-on is still worth it...

1. No hassle with the law - JPJ or cops
2. Healthy engine - new engine vs junkyard engine
3. Experiment - learn more the hands-on way

kokchiew2 said:
Can anyone giv sum technical advice whether the old 4G63 SOHC engine be bolted a small turbo in order to increase the HP/Torque?

try to go for EON original turbo kit can direct bolt on. no need change anything..

Rons said:

u r wrong my friend. u know taiwanese they bolt on turbo on SOHC a lot.It's just whether u know how to set n tune it perfectly then its ok.

verticalimit said:
u r wrong my friend. u know taiwanese they bolt on turbo on SOHC a lot.It's just whether u know how to set n tune it perfectly then its ok.

bolt on sohc engine quite costly...t not juz get a dohc turbo engine?

anyway.....if u r too much money for fun..then u can bolt on on sohc n removed it if u dislike it...no offense

i know can..but it will not be good for ur engine lifespan..
..cos the sohc head cannot tahan mah rite??
(correct me if iam wrong)

Rons said:

This is a ZTH urban legend, search for the ROBOTS guys to hear the truth from some real bolt-on sifus

Rons said:

Wrong... many people tried and many were successful.