Silicone Wiper Skipping&Jumping .....

juz this evening i told u guy my wiper is recovered ...

then juz onli i wash my car without anything, then the wiper jump again =___=

i juz use plain water spray n use cloth mop onli =.=

mine i use with Rain-X so smooth ...i apply 2-3 layer or rain-X my wiper still good....
mine silicone wiper ... cheap some more....from HMS

is there any treatment to soften the silicone ... from what i see la ... my mom car don`t go under the sun everywhere shade so the wipers don`t jump .... but mine my car always go under sun so its jumping ..... both bought at the same time ..... i think the silicone is hardening to temporary tempreature .....

wah this case really make me headache ...

sometimes after wash car the prob comes
sometimes after wash then prob resolve
some say it might bcos silicone+rainx not ngam
some say it might bcos rainx must work with silicone
some say must proper put rainx
n many more x.x

I follow the instruction ma for rainx. I wash my windscree, let it dry a bit. Then i use half-wet cloth n drop few drops of rainx and wipe right side. Then drop few drops n wipe left side. After that i re-do everything again as 2nd layer.

After that i wash the cloth , n spray some water on windscreen .... n wipe with the washed-clothe ....

silicone wipers suppose to be durable wether u leave ur car under the sun or not or under harsh conditions compared with normal rubber wipers...IMO....then y spend that much money only to get more problems..?

sorry for interupt, just wondering, since the silicone wiper so good n durable, but y still got refill package sell at those hypermarket and accesories shop? besides, why those famous wiper maker such like bosch and NWB didnt came this kind of design?

PIAA did came out with silicon wipers.

My set of silicon wipers didn't skip anymore after like 2 months of using it. I guess there's a run-in period for those blades?

Rain-X doesn't work well because I guess Rain-X applies a coat of chemical to the glass, which makes it rough to silicon wipers, and thus the wiper skips on it cause of too much friction between the silicon material on the wiper and the chemical from rain-X. THat's my guess.

PS: Sorry to ken yeang for misunderstanding his words. :P

gosh. all the time i thought i was facing this problem alone..

now, i stick to rubber wiperblades, genuine from EON for my wira.

and I add windscreen washer liquid from Toyota to wash/wipe during drive.

rainX does give good effect too....

rubber type wiper still works best, they last well in cold weather contries but not so in hot ones.

i m having this problem too...anyway its a new car...so decided to apply rain x...seem to be more worst..any sifu can help?

After 1month+ :

the wiper still skipping once a while, and worse it got sound when i turn on wiper no matter wad speed . the sound is like ' chiiit chiiit chiit '

issit bcos of windscreen dirty or wad prob ma ?

@@ really headache cos wiper muz match with windscreen a lot lolx

I have the same problem last time, but I didn't use rainx at all. I clean the windscreen with all sort of cleaner. No help. At the end, i found the solution.

I use the new OEM wiper blade, no more sound. From what I heard, rubber is softer than silicone, and all those silicone wipers available in the market, you are just swapping the blades among each other when you claim warranty.

ur wind screen like babies lah.. sum like silicon sum like rubber..

my baby (real baby) likes rubber then silicon puting... hahhaha..

OEM is still the best evan needs changing fr time 2 time...

i had this problem even with rubber blade, then change to silicon it become even worse. i bought one silicon lubricant spray n they say can be use for wind screen treatment. spray some on the windscreen then some to the silicon wiper blade, the skipping gone d so far...

Haihz .... already 2 months n the problem still persist ler ... cant really figure out the prob comes from rainx or not @@

Each time after go car wash i'll put rainx, after that wiper run smooth for 30 minutes . then it skipping again forever till i wash car again

T_T

hi norns,

wat's ur solutions to this, i have been facing this problem for 2 years now with my wira, n whenever it rains, the solutions is i just put up loud volume on my player to cover the chiit chiit chiiit!!!

same here! facing the same prob as well!!
im getting sick of it....

Wipper juddering used to be my nightmare, whatever I can do, I did, until the extend of using thinner, vinegar whatever whatever to clean the glass - problem persist. I have bought almost ALL glass polisher/wax whatever whatever, even use newspaper to dry it. Some solution will work for a few wipes, then it failed.

Why? There's a chemical layer on our windscreen which smoothen the wiping process. After using Rain-X, it will react or 'change' the chemical on the windscreen and causes judder. This will also happens without Rain-X... after thousands of wiping. How long this chemical layer lasts depends on usage or how good the windscreen is made/polished.

To restore this new and smooth windscreen, you will need Cerium Oxide to polish your windscreen - Cerium(IV) oxide - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia . I have been hunting up and down for this item, but it is not easily available locally. Perhaps you should try windscreen replacement shop or other similar shops.

A lot of Singaporean finally solved the juddering problem which haunted them for yearsss by using Cerium Oxide to polish. As for me myself, I bought a set of PIAA silicone wiper (which is a mixture of rubber + silicone, which doesn't last as long as 100% silicone based wiper) and now it can wipe silky-smooth even when the windscreen is dry.

Try google wiper judder / skipping and cerium oxide as keyword. I lost the thread URL. Ebay.com has this powder for sale, but anyone willing to order to try?

Just my 0.02.