Silicone Wipers vs Rubber Wipers - Which is better? (Open discussion)

LesleyAprotto

Banned

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Yesterday I went window shopping for my cars windscreen wipers...

Because I need a good set of wipers as its raining dogs and cats everyday....

Sometimes it even rains cows and elephants!

Especially in the night, having a good set of wipers is important in safety aspect.

The shops offered 2 types, rubber or silicone.

The rubber wipers have got its advantages & disadvantages, so do the silicone wipers...

So ultimately which one to choose? :confused::hmmmm::dontknow::top::hmmmm2:

ExceL

ExceL

Jan 6, 2004
Ampang/KL
Was wondering the same thing couple years ago.

Didnt want to spend silly money on 2 sticks of rubber, tried some cheap 7ringgit silicone ones from a DIY store. Worked fine, last one lasted 6months+, just got replacements yesterday.

cvkit17

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Get silicone wiper. Silicone is a kind of synthetic rubber and can withstand UV pretty well thus it oxidize or deteriorate slower than rubber. Even cheap silicone wiper are bang for the buck. I bought a pair of silicone wipers from pasar malam RM20 per pair in mid of 2010 and until now it is still working good. All u have to do is spend some time to clean the blade sometimes as dirt and sand will ruin it. Just take a tissue paper or cloth, hold it tight against the blade and wipe it. U'll collect plenty of dirt and sand.

YYC

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
My set is due too. If RM20 wiper can last for 2 years it is definitely good.

FGT

FGT

May 19, 2007
My experience:

Rubber wipers, bosch brand hardened and cracked after 3 months. Wipe fine when it was new. But slowly become bad after 1 month.

Silicone wipers, some japanese brand, which I dont understand, 1.5 years and plastic clip gave way first. The silicone is still soft and no tears or cracks. Always wipe water clean off the windscreen.

papagoines

Orang Tua

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
silicone get my vote... although in my case i have to wait a bit then turn on the wiper... if i turn on when there's little water... it tends to stutter :confused:

My set is due too. If RM20 wiper can last for 2 years it is definitely good.
Go invest in SWV Silicon wipers. Lifetime warranty and anytime they fail (ie- wear out) call them and they'll go to you to replace a new set. And I mean anytime. Even after a year when the wipers aren't working as well anymore.

Where to get?

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
i tink sumo brand is also a good choice and easy to source.
aroound rm35 to rm40 for my kancil and myvi.bought at giant kota dsara.i tink giant shah alam section 13 also got.
around 1 year plus and still working fine.

however if park under hot sun/open parking...the rubber holds the silicon wiper will expand and loose.since it the boneless type.
i just make sure it fit back nicely.other than dat it shud do fine.

peeche

peeche

May 16, 2006
Sin City, MY
Online : sanwonventure.com

Best wipers ever since anytime they are spoilt, they normally send a motorbike fella to your location to swap it out for you and/or service your existing set.
gone through the website.. can't even see the image.. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

BoxCarRacer

BoxCarRacer

May 7, 2008
I'd go for silicone but sometimes they are too expensive! or probably the shop owner want to makan me? lol...

Now i just use cheapo RM20 wipers but at the same time, I use Rain X on my windscreen...a bit noisy when its about to dry but the vision has never been better!

elo..salamzZz..:regular_smile:
all sifu n abg2...:emoticon_U:
I would to ask bout put on turbo in N/A...is it possible?:confused_smile:
Mivec engine convert to turbo...how much is d cozt would b?
4G91 engine convert to turbo..is it d same?
Where is workshop that possibly "otai" in doing this...
Thank YOu....:_: