SIC Track Day Report

TRD16v

SIC Track Day Report On 2nd April 2006

First of all, I would like to say a big thank you to Chu @ EG9 and his brother for guiding me throughout the track day event on the lining, the throttle to apply, the gear switching, the fast reaction and many more guidance that was given to me. Without their guidance I guess mistakes could have happened somewhere but I certainly owe to them a lot.

The 2nd April 2006 (Sunday) a memorable day for me but I would certainly said it’s not enough for me. I will go again to the track but certainly not this coming week but on the next event mostly.

It was 12.15pm when I reach Dengkil rest area and later Chu called me to inform that his brother will be coming soon so he gave me his brother contact no. so later I called him to ask of his whereabouts. About 12.45pm later his brother arrived but did not stop at rest area because he needs to go to the nearest petrol station to check for the tyre pressure. He called me and I said I saw you passed by and then later after he has settle his things we both met up. During at the rest area saw couple of Evolutions and Subaru gang meet up as well. Then later few corolla vios was there also and my guess will be the same they are going to the track as well. Later after having enough rest and chit-chatting with Chu’s brother, chu arrived with ah choy, his gf and his friend called Darren who owns a corolla SEG.

Later went to the petrol station awhile as Chu needs to pump petrol and then Darren checks his tyre pressure and pump petrol as well. Then off we go high revving, top speed, together with all the vios team heading to SIC for the memorable track day. As we have expected, today’s event will have lots of car attending. Reach SIC area, get ourselves registered and then proceed to look for empty pit area. Found ourselves a pit area together with couple of Corolla LE nicely done up from Ipoh mali. Really nice car, great engine and manage to talk to few of them from ipoh.

The next thing take out all spare tyres, stuff from the rear boot, jack, everything and chu was seen busy changing tyres and get ourselves prepared. Chu’s brother become my guide and I sat next to him using my car. But before that I guess 1.45pm already the event started! Gosh! Chu said wahh so fast meh.. then he also as quick as ever changing the tyres and the sound of NA, vtec, whatever tech all pass by the pit area from outside memang makes you happy, unexplained kinda feeling, excited and all come together as one. There we go setting on my vehicle, helmet wore but what happened?? Shit!! Red light UP! Arrrgggggggggg!! Just about to go out, red light sudah keluar! Ya na dei! Apparently got some accident or some fella might have over or understeer outside to gravel area. Aisehhhhh potong stim la! But nevermind just wait. The announcer also pissed cause apparently when red light were up some participants still excitingly driving on the track and the announcer said until the last warning to them. Hahhaahaha! Well cannot blame everybody as all also excitedddddddd mah including me! Wahahahahhahaha!

Ok, now it’s the time for showdown! There we are setting up in queue and really to blast off! Gentleman! Start your engine! Wahhh all revving revving revving.. queue and it’s my turn and out we go! Wahhh really de track dem kaw wide and out from pit area masok 1st corner turn right and its better known as the dangerous S corner of sepang! Right exactly in front of the K1 stand! From here start Chu’s brother guide me and tell me each corner here take at what gear, which line to take, pay attention rear and side mirrors for cars coming behind. Wah the whole excitement starts! Ok ok, I get too excited. First corner 2nd gear, controlled throttle and let the car slide out and control steering very super important.

Exit from this point all the way revved engage till 4th gear. Always watched the sign 200 meter, 150 meter, 100 meter and 50 meter. This sign will tells you when needs to brake, change gear and this is where the heel & toe techniques need to apply, now I also paham why some people said bill Sherwood late braking dem terror one! Wahhhhh late braking at 100 meter, change gear at 50 meter and masok! Wow!!!! Can’t imagine those adrenaline rush to you if done at that stage! Really gilerrrrrr but this is what we called motorsports! Really the kind of excitement cannot explain but ownself go down and test drive with your car then only you know! Ahahaahahahahahahahaahh!

So sorry I lost count which corner but there are deep uphill and there are corners you don’t need to use too much brakes just control throttle and then steering very important. Taking the line also important as well. What I can say summarizing from Chu and his brother advice is stayed focus at all time. Physical and mental both equally strong for a track racers. I understand all this now. My car has overall a bit improved due to suspension changed and UR really helps my car respond a lot. Really happy with my best buddy that has serves me since year 2001 until now. I never regret buying this corolla SE and will not sell it in future. I love my car very much after my wife! Hahaahahahahahaahah! I would also like to say thank you to sifoo alan for recommending me bendix brake oil dot 5.1 and all I can say I’ve never been so satisfied with the car braking performance. Really good brake performance fluid and I found it in klang spare part shop! Hahahaah! Good!

A lot of accidents occurred on yesterday track day and if I still remember the count it was 5 times red lights were up and couple of times yellow flag were raised! Wahhh! But all for the spirits of motorsports. Well to say it all, take it like a man and once you are into the track you are on your own no matter what happens. This is a risk all motorsports enthusiasts needs to undergo. It’s certainly exciting to see all drivers enjoyed the entire event. A lot of cars at yesterday’s event but overall really fun!

Last but not least, my many thanks to Chu and his brother, thanks to Darren for the pisang, to sifooo alan, to UR products and also nice knowing the infamous Ah Choy from PJ so the next development on my cars will be going soon and hope to meet more toyotarians at upcoming events! A big Thank You to all and Bye! See you again at SIC!

Regards,
Mike

AE82GT,
Thank you! heehehehe! Next round join in to SIC so u can personally see all the nicely done up Corolla LEs from Ipoh mali one! ehehehehehe....

Guys/Gals,
On the way back after the event at SIC, saw a kembara burned up by the road side and engulfed in full fire and black smoke filling up the sky! wahhhh really pity to the owner.. a lot of ppl were getting down from their car snap photo and i only manage to snap partly of it when inside the car. Then quickly goes off. Sorry la KPC a bit! ahahahahaahahaha!

Regards,
Mike

which pit you'r TRD16v ? i at pit 7 post some of you car pic so next time i know who car is that , below is mine , my report at early topic

100-0026_IMG.jpg

TEsepang.jpg

TRD16v said:
Chu,
Thank you very much.

Regards,
Mike

No Prob Mike, this is spirit of motorsport.
Slowly improve you driving skill in order to go faster.
Once you familar with the track and and able to push your car to the limit, then that is the time to improve your car.

I got quite a large file video taken from inside my car.
Anyone can suggest which FTP site or any other webpage that I can upload the file?

Thanks!

chu
waaaaaaaaa every week you goin go SIC ahh !!! practise for MME so early already meh ??? kekekekeke .. how big the file ?? too bad i forgot on my pc at home if not ask you to ftp there so I also can see it .. hehehe HPC how ??? go or not next week :D

mike
waaaaaaaaaa change suspension liao ka ?? no more row row row your boat la ??? keng keng ... cun leh SIC .... told you to go so many times b4 lor ... totally different feeling driving in track and road maaaa .. track full throttle all the way also the car like not moving ... wahhahahahaha .. glad to hear you had fun .. next time we go together laaa :D

HPC? Have to take some rest also....Car and driver will over heat if non stop going to SIC like this.
Maybe going there to have a look at the event.
As far as I know you can offer them to be their instructor for the event and you can bring in ur car "FOC" but you must have race experience.

yoga san,
yep really enjoying.. good setup of suspension and UR makes de car feel good now.. eheehehehe.. dem enjoy de track day! no problem next round if can all of our own same geng masok la.. den have fun.. ehehehehehee....

chu,
yep more improvement need 2 be done to the car.. den onli push to limit.. i oredi got the map of the track so now imagine de track corner as wat i've gone thru semalam to have it more study thorougly.. den next time masok de track at which corner, wat speed to go, brake, etc.. all oredi must be inside kepala liao.. ehheheheheehe....

chinozie,
now ketawa lagi besar siap gelak satu kampung can dengar.. wahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahaahahahaha!!!!

unker fred,
thank u unker for ur unlimited support. heheheheehehehe!

klgauto,
u at pit area 7 ar? me duno de number but de pit area is when lepas masok to pit stop its de 2nd one on ur right side.. but i know i saw ur car also after seeing the pictures.. ahahahahaaha.. hope u also hav fun man..

Regards,
Mike

wahhh..this thread is going non-stop liow leh...hehehehe! so after this event, Mike surely joining all the up-coming events liow......hhahahaha!

AE82GT,
yep SSO event will have to miss this danga bay but next event if its here will join again. SIC not forgotten will join in also and never give up. Guess now track day has been programmed into my mind and soul oredi. Virus confirm infected! waahahaahahahahahaahahahaha!

Regards,
Mike

klgauto,
but i duno its u loh so sorry sifooo next time i must spot ur car and u den will go to the pit say hi to u.. ahahahahahaahahah..

Regards,
Mike

deongster,
I bought it at klang here at one of de spare part shop. The shop is nearby to the klang bus station. RM25 per bottle. Gold color tin written at the bottom bendix rated dot 5.1 recommended by sifooo alan @ QiW.. ehehehehehehe.. I ask my mech flush out all de old brake oil and put dis in.. till even after track day never been so satisfied! ehehehehehe...

Regards,
Mike