Exactly my point. He should be charged with sex with minor but not rape. Whether the punishment is the same or not is another story but the whole context of rape used here is just wrong. :)
Yeaps, agreed. He should still be charged nonetheless for having sex with minors, which is an offence under Malaysian law. The judge is not wrong to sentence him. I am merely stating that the word "rape" used in this case is just just not right. hahaha. No offence anyway, I agree with the judge as well. :)cyclonite said:Nope I agree with the judge.
The Law CLEARLY states that if you have sex with a minor you will be charged as Rape.
It's the guy's fault not to read the law clearly and understand it.
He should know that even IF the girl consent to him, he will still be charged with Rape under Malaysian law. but he still decided to do it.
It WAS his responsibility to find out the girl's real age before doing it. But he chose to ignore that.
Knowing the law will punish him for Rape whether he is innocent or not, he still choose to ignore the warning and commit it. So too bad.
devious17 said:I wonder how would the judge would sentence an underage girl for raping an adult male.
:cyclops:
astalavista_baby said:Yeaps, agreed. He should still be charged nonetheless for having sex with minors, which is an offence under Malaysian law. The judge is not wrong to sentence him. I am merely stating that the word "rape" used in this case is just just not right. hahaha. No offence anyway, I agree with the judge as well. :)
What the hell are you jokers arguing about?Definitions of statutory rape on the Web:
* Nonforcible sexual intercourse with a person who is under the statutory age of consent.
www.umaine.edu/security/sexoffenses.htm
* The common law definition of rape has not proven adequate to reflect modern values. It is limited to sex without consent and with a woman, and only where the victim is not the wife of the rapist. Many states have enacted laws which include under the charge of rape , sex with a minor even if done with the minor's consent, sex without consent regardless of whether the victim is male or female, and sex without consent regardless of the matrimonial bond between victim and rapist.
www.charges-dropped.com/law-glossary.html
* Sexual activity that is criminal based upon the relative ages of the victim and the actor, regardless of whether the activity was consensual because the law presumes that persons below a stated age are unable to legally consent.
sexlawsdata.org/terms.aspx
* sexual intercourse with a person (girl or boy) who has not reached the age of consent (even if both parties participate willingly)
wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
* The term "statutory rape" is sometimes used when national and/or regional governments, citing an interest in protecting minors, consider people under a certain age to be unable to give consent, and therefore consider sexual contact with them to be rape. The age at which individuals are considered competent to give consent is the age of consent. In the United States, the limits set by each state vary in accordance with local standards of morality, and range from 15 to 18. ...
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statutory_rape
Thank you, thank you. Now, that solves my doubts on "statutory rape", read "statutory".si|verfish said:What the hell are you jokers arguing about?
Here you big ninnies, read up. Stop fucking bickering about the semantics.
Right, right. I get your point there. I know the law says it is wrong and it is considered rape. So if he does it, he is considered raping regardless of whether he actually raped her or not. All I was merely stating was it shouldn't be classified as "rape" under the law. I guess we are pursuing a whole different issue here huh? lol.cyclonite said:You are not getting my point, we as citizens have to abide to what the LAW says. If I create a new law saying that "If you bang a coconut tree you will be charged as a snatchthief" Then that's the LAW. You should well know that the law already states that and you should know well enough not to bang the coconut tree or else you will be charged with being a snatchthief. THAT'S THE CONDITION. But you still choose to bang the coconut tree, now you want to complain that you're not beinbg judged rightly.
Likewise in this guy's case. Same thing. He should have known that HE WILL BE CHARGED WITH RAPE regardless of whether he actually raped her or not.
I rest my case. LOL.satria_95 said:astalavista_baby,
That's why lor. Though the sentencing will be continued, but the judge don't know how to differentiate between "charging due to rape" and "charging due to sex with minor". Rape is forced sex and sex with minor is agreed sex even though both may carry the same penalty. It's like a black and a white and the judge says that black and white is still the same because the guilty fuck will be sentenced anyway. This simply shows the incompetency of the judge. She/He only wants to finish the job and be done with it, or so it seems that way. I wonder if there's any chinese judge or not, cos I seem to always read non chinese names for judges. hhmm.... No wonder people speculate when they try not to.
Well, they weren't wrong. According to the laws of the land, statutory rape is still rape. Its like there's 1st degree, 2nd degree murder etc. Still murder just different classification to cater for different conditions.satria_95 said:si|verfish,
Oh, means it's either the newspaper wasn't specific enough to mention "statutory rape" (if it is classified as that) or the judge wasn't specific enough. hahahaha Aiya, heck with it la. We're not the ones getting laid the smackdown anyway haha