Safe way to wash engine?

NiCkY7

Yo guys...

my car 7 years didnt wash the engine, now dirty until like shit... 1 dot 1 dot punya stain liow... thinking to wash it, but scared will spoil something after wash... :(

anyway, i got list out some few steps to prepare before wash, pls give some comment... :D

1) wrap all those electrical socket.
2) wrap distributor. How about TB? need to wrap also?
3) disconnect the car negative battery terminal. so wont short circuit right? :lol:
4) after wash, let it dry under the hot sun for whole afternoon (around 4 hours), then baru connect the battery negative terminal back and start...

my step ok ar?

then wat detergent i need to use to wash engine? some ppl said diesel??? :blink:

thanks... :D

im going to wash my engine this week end.buy degreaser

Originally posted by sexycar@Mar 4 2005, 18:52
no dont wash engine.. later 101 weird problems come out!
i know, that's y i didnt wash for 7 years...

but dunno y, now my engine like those rally car after race... damn irritating... :(

so that's y heart shake shake liow... dunno wan wash or keep the same... :(

T.T...

Better dont wash lar, just use a wet clothe and wipe it off. Sometimes if you wash, will damage sensor...

ic...

if i wan to wipe, got any detergent that can just wipe only and do not need to use water and wash away 1?

:D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/scorpio_wan1945/000_19241.jpg

for me i avoid the area circled in red to have any contact with water...especially the distributor and alternator...

well guess my engine are preety messed up right? never bother about it. coz hardly anyone see it. :P

Hi, you may wash your engine with suggested requirements below:

Of course, cover those areas circled in red as in the OPEL car !

1. Get 1 day off just to do the job
2. Get an old toothbrush
3. Degreaser in spray cans (can get in Jusco, Carrefour, etc around 4. A stool - to sit down to do some scrubbing the in-betweens using your toothbrush.
5. Time - To let the degreaser work its way (rendam engine)
6. Hose water - to wash off the dirt and grime on the engine. Just hose it, dont jet it!!

There u are! A clean engine for your heart's desire! ;) ;)

but then i dun really understand, for engine cleaning, beside self-satisfaction and showing off how clean ur engine is to others...what other purpose it serve? prevent some parts from rust, wear and tear?

No actual purpose, just for self-satisfaction and 'security'.

It would also prevent from minor wear and tear of the rubbers and rust on the metals (altho it doesnt rust easily)

Well, its good to see an engine look like new after 7 years of owning it right??

engine degreaser for metal parts

plastic = soap and water will do or you can prob stick with degreaser for plastic (not sure how safe that is, can't remember)

for carb cars, just cover the distri and spark plug covers

EFi, everything you see little wires coming from :) depends I guess.

whatever it is, if you send your car to a commercial washing center, MAKE sure they do not "dress up" your engine with their "shiny shine" rubber sprays after they are done. Those sprays atrract dirt like the plague.. and after that you'll have even more grease on your plastic... good gimmick to make you come running back.

i washed mine.just used the plastic back to wrap the filter.spray degreaser then use car shampoo to wash all reachable place.rinse off,dun jet especially plug wire place

i wash my engine using high pressure cleaner jet... never bungkus anything...

n just use soap water (detergent powder + water) to remove tough stains....

after wash.. i use a dust blower (those look like a turbocharger) to dry my engine

i used to send my car to familiar car wash shop for engine cleaning...stil dare not to do it mysel, although i watched them did it 4 many times...my fren kena once...terrible experience...

Nicky7......if u stil heart move x2 to do so, jus use damp cloth wif detergent n degreaser spray....can control better....less risk. Cleaning of engine is good 4 d ventilation n it discharges the heat from d engine n other heat generater faster...
jus like cleaning ur CPU once a awhile...

bought a degreaser for 9.50 20% discount sumore...spray like nobody business on the engine bay just now.

i just cover the Trumpet, and the rest i spray like nobody business also..including distributor, ignition coil, batt lar...wat also i spray.....still can start no probs :)

but then i dun really understand, for engine cleaning, beside self-satisfaction and showing off how clean ur engine is to others...what other purpose it serve? prevent some parts from rust, wear and tear?

Holy, there is alot of benefit to wash engine bay...

1st- alot of wire is NOT oil prove, so if your engine have alot of oil or grease everywhere, it will DAMAGE your wire (by make the outer jacket HARDEN)

2nd- you will get notice if any part or component inside the engine bay have problem by checking whether they are LEAKING or not. such as radiator, engine head, power steering pump and etc.

3rd- to become a unfriendly place for cockroaches or rat....

4th- to show your future car buyer to think you really take well care of the car.

and etc etc etc....

i buy my corolla for a years, oledy 6 times i wash my engine, i just use some washing powder mix some water and wash the engine, so far no problem, before that remember take a plastic cover up ur car ignition coil.

Just make sure all socket or connector point are wrap with aluminium foil, if you using open pod (use a plastic bag wrap your air filter), if you using HID, you hose the pipe at the ignitor.

only wash the engine when its COLD. Then

1. Wet the engine and all the part that u think wanna wash kao kao with water..
2. Mist engine dressing you have. Don't use too strong chemical or detergent else it might faded, peel off, damage the rubber, paint ...
3. Let it sit there for 2-5 mins (depend what u use), brush might needed if u have thick oil stain or mark
4. Hose kao kao again with water, make sure no degreaser/chemical is left behind since some of them will respond to heat and start become more acid.
5. Wipe those place that you can...
6. Start the engine, open up the bonnet..let the engine heat dry the left over water or vaporise them.

Hope this help

Write your reply...