Advise needed on DIY installing 2 voltage stabiliser in the car...

tigershark1976

well,in the 1st place, some people cant live without this product and some think that its simple another type of snake oil in the market.... thats fine, just wanna ask, if i were to install both atthe same time, how should it be install?

note: VS A is Pivot Voltage Stabiliser, VS B is Zstab.

1) serial: positive wire of "VS A" connect to positive terminal of the battery, then the negative wire connected to the negative wire of "VS B", and then the negative wire of VB be to the negative terminal of the battery?

or

2) palleral: both negative wire of "VS A" & "VS B" are connected to the negative terminal of the battery while both positive wire of "VS A" & "VS B" are connected to the positive terminal of the battery.

what do u think?? any electrician or E&E engineer here?

capacitors are usually connected parallely...

so i support second method.... keep the connection in parallel.....

correct me if wrong....

positive to positive and negative to negative.....

kawtim.....

vs comes with fuse protection ma....u dun need worry even u put it int he opposite side....:X-:

Parallel.

Actually both don't necessary connected togather. You can place one by the battery, another near hifi/ ECU ...

minikar said:
Parallel.

Actually both don't necessary connected togather. You can place one by the battery, another near hifi/ ECU ...

yeap...u can instal one at battery....and the 2nd one at AMP or Alternator.....

at the alternator? how to tap? the the positive to which wire and negative to which wire?

btw, if i insist to connect at the battery, then it should be parallel rite?

whats the diferrent in installing it in parallel vs serial?? can any expert there pls advise?

if the vs instal in wrong way..the LED wont light up.....wat make u so hard to conect 2 vs to battery?

tigershark1976 said:
1) serial: positive wire of "VS A" connect to positive terminal of the battery, then the negative wire connected to the negative wire of "VS B", and then the negative wire of VB be to the negative terminal of the battery?

u mentione Negative of VS A conect to Negative VS B....and VS B conect to batert negative side...

VS B only has one negative cable only wat, how u conect to negative side and then to battery again?

u mean both negative cable of vs A and B wil conected to batery Negative as well at last?

tigershark1976 said:
sorry.... its actually typo, it should be

Negative of VS A conect to positive VS B....

cannot be le...u try to connect....i dun think it wil works....

u tot like the batteries in 24v vehicles meh....:_:

huakenny said:
cannot be le...u try to connect....i dun think it wil works....

u tot like the batteries in 24v vehicles meh....:_:

dun catch the ball... what do u mean??

Capacitors' capacitance add up when connected in parallel, and the value will decrease if connected in series.. the opposite of resistance.

Higher capacitance = shorter charging & discharging cycle = less ripple, I think that's what you want to achieve.

But why would you hook up two voltage stabilizers side-by-side, bro? Maybe you can hook up another one across your amplifier's power inputs, for instance.

huakenny said:
if the vs instal in wrong way..the LED wont light up.....wat make u so hard to conect 2 vs to battery?

aiyo bro.... dun jum the gun lah.... since when i said got difficulties to install 2 VS at the Batt?? just wanna find the best way to install it....:_: :_:

jswong said:
Capacitors' capacitance add up when connected in parallel, and the value will decrease if connected in series.. the opposite of resistance.

Higher capacitance = shorter charging & discharging cycle = less ripple, I think that's what you want to achieve.

But why would you hook up two voltage stabilizers side-by-side, bro? Maybe you can hook up another one across your amplifier's power inputs, for instance.

yap bro, thats what i wanna achieve, higher capacitance.... but i tot that will be achieve in serial??im not too sure, thats why i ask...

CAUTION!

If you really want to put the VS side-by-side be very careful, your hv a high capacitance!

When connecting and disconnecting to your battery, do it with care and the correct way, alot lot SURGE when you charging and discharging them.

I am not trying to scare you, on the wrong day you might blow your battery or fried your electronic..ECU etc.

just VS(A) + VS(B) negative to negative and positive to positive is tat simple ok... now my car also running 2 VS like this..

Connect VS(A) -ve and VS(B) -ve at batt -ve, and connect VS(A) +ve and VS(B) +ve at batt +ve. This is parallel connection. Theoritically, better noise filtering, voltage stabilizing and reserve more current for instantaneous load. But practically, many forumers commented that too high capacitance caused their cars to be sluggish. If you really want to put in 2 VS, try to connect them to your batt one at a time to prevent high inrush current surge.

thanks all....

to play save, i think i better instll the VS seperately...
there are few choices if i wanna do so...

1st: at the amp.
2nd, at the alternator.
3rd, at the air con compressor maybe??

which 1 do you think it is the most effective way in terms of car performance? I'm not so much into ICEactually although i've got 3 x 2 channel amp in my ride :shades_smile: :shades_smile: :shades_smile: