DIY Session : Car Battery Relocation

Originally posted by johnsonlam+Dec 3 2003, 02:20 PM-->
QUOTE (johnsonlam @ Dec 3 2003, 02:20 PM)
Originally posted by old_junkie@Dec 3 2003, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by johnsonlam@Dec 3 2003, 09:56 AM
--QuoteBegin-headache
@Dec 2 2003, 06:01 PM
Fire extinguisher.
Advisable to get those that have a pressure meter built-in. If a good brand and make is purchased, it should withstand the heat. Anyway, good to mount it away from direct sunlight.

Location of mounting is very important as it must meet 2 criteria i.e. easy and quick access and it must not be a 'projectile' should you suddenly brake or get into an unfortunate accident.
My 2 cents.

Yeah.

Good places to put Fire Extinguisher.
- Under the Glove Compartment
- Under the Driver's Seat
- Boot

But these fire extinguishers are built for car rite ? They Shouldn't explode mah rite ? b]

which brothers u go?
i din see any fire extinguishers in sban brothers...
how big is the thing?

Brothers Bukit Mertajam, Penang :)
I saw in Brothers Kelana Jaya got wer...
[/quote]
thanks.. will go there once my car is out :) ;)

Originally posted by old_junkie@Dec 3 2003, 11:22 AM
how to differentiate a wet cell and a dry cell?
got write there ah?

if rewire the battery to the back... it means that we cannot use the grounding cables anymore, rite?
It will surely be written on the battery what chemical it's using inside wan ler... like example 'Calium' or something like that. You gotta do some research online to learn how each technology works and then decide based on it.

If you relocate battery you can still use grounding wire but you have to pull one of the grounding wire all the way to the back seat and connect it to the negative(-) terminal lor.

ok... i'll do some reading... but no today.. very lazy.... hahaha :lol:

about the grounding.. if dat is the case.. i rather not do it... need more $$$$ and very long cable
i think enuf cable oledi now :D

aiya, if you guys use the welding cable, the earthing set put in front (engine bay la)

old junkie,
the difference between the orange cables and black is:
orange : silicone rubber outer casing, resistant to heat
black: natural rubber, gives off black powder when heated

well, that's why i use welding cables..

yeah...i use welding cable also....lasts longer....
one more thing.....if you relocate with a normal battery (not MF), make sure u buy a plastic cover to cover all the battery's cap.... (not the terminal, the cap u open to refill)....if u notice carefully, the bettery caps have a small hole to ventilate...asidic vapour flows out of these holds....so on a hot day, it makes ur car smell of acid....very sour... it will also spoil ur carpeting (boot) and it will cause rust....
to avoid all these, u have to cover the battery caps, clean it often or get a MF battery (recommended) ..

uhh ... how to do grounding and volt stabiliser on this one ? connect all the way back or just tap into -ve wire ?

hi guys, where can i get the welding cables? please recommend a shop and location...