Rotary Engine no good lah

SideWaysGrey said:
13btt and KC,
Thanks for meeting up with me on Sat. It was very assuring to have you guys on board my list of expert references. Now I can confidently start playing ard with my RE.
I will bring you guys over to the 'workshop' once the FC clip has been transported over sometime this week.
One question to KC, he mentioned that I ought to get the E-manage for my engine. From what Ive read and understand so far, it's built and works well on 4 and 6 cylinder piston based engine, so will it work the same for RE ? Or do I need a special harness ?

E Manage can do for RE as well. it's just a PiggyBack. just like AFC, u will need to splice the wirings and tap here and there for signals. yes they include all the necessary socket for the splice and harness to connect to the e manage. buttttt as an extra, E manage able to tune engine ignition. and that u will need an additional harness for it.
that's what i know :)
correct me if i'm wrong.
i'm once an owner for AFC2 limited edition till mirror got smashed and cut out my AFC2. now tuning with PFC.

hi ,here got some tips for our twin turbo fren...we know change the vacum hose can have a better respond of our engine,here got 1 more thing many ppl dono...that is our check valve...i think in fd ,we got about 5 check there..inside the check valve there have 6 layer filter...n filter is wear n tear item...change it,u will have better respond,,i had try already

can i say something? sorry for talking like that.... i work at VAZ MAZ rotary before... and also i saw EDMUND the owner of the vaz maz use the shell V power oil and mix it with TRUST engine oil....i ask them why mix it? and also not dangerous at all? they told me like this it can cleanses the engine....

phat7 said:
well aravind when it comes to rebuilds there is only 1 place i go to. let me warn you though it'll cost 5.5k i;ve personally watched this people do their work and its amazing. dont get me wrong, ah choi is very good but for engines i prefer someone whom takes time to measure eah tolerance and spacing before assembly. Once rebuilt you dont want to have the headache of taking it out again. i drive my car really hard, and the last thing i want is the insecurity.

Can I know where and who are those people youve mentioned that rebuild the rotary engine with good brain and heart. Can you share with me your experience. PM me if its too confidential. lol

Regards,
Somebody.

Hello fellas....get the last two issues of FastFours magazine. There's a rotary engine guide in how to buy, maintain and modify our rotary jalopies. Mr Aravind....I hope to meet you soon. As you know we're all in this together.....so be patient and you'll be able to fix the problem but dude.....if petrol consumptions the problem, get a piston engined toy.:mouth_closed:

relax boys... cool down... relax man... this is just a discussion no need to become enemies just because of this kind of discussion right?

rotary suck fuel out of the world... (powerful engine but tears the owner's pocket.. kahkahkah)

Anyone heard about this name ... Gary Chua?

He was our legendary rotary racer in the late 70's and early 80's, raced with his SA and FC at Batu 3 race circuit. Those days he had a workshop specialised in RE located at Jln Kilang, PJ Old Town.

Indeed he is still operating there, not for RE of course but as the official Perodua Rally Team service centre.

Perhaps someone cld approach him and bring back his RE skills and experience to be shared with us.

hi guys, i do not owned an rx but im one of the biggest die hard fans on rotary and rx's

meet this guy once and chat with him when i stop buy that place. ( i stopped by coz i saw a grey FD there, just wana look it closer and snap few pic. Then found out that was his car! hoho. so generous even let me open the door and get the feel sitting inside. urgh. ) Indeed he's a nice guy, friendly and still operating there.

why dont u guys go for a visit.

How well do rotary engines cope with sustained high RPM; for example if I were to drive from KL to JB with consistently high speeds. I drive a GTR now and the RB26 does not handle high RPMs well so you need a few mods.

I've always liked RX7s and the current price makes it seem like a good weekend car but I'm really into high speed runs not so much track etc. What sort of mods would I need other than power upgrades of course.

Rotary engines (with good compression) are rev happy engines. To maintain its rev say 5krpm at 5th gear would bring u to approx 200kph+ (depends on final drive ratio as well lah) is not a problem...as the engine can take up to 8k rpm without sweat.

The essential part is the cooling system though.. as rotary will loose compression tremendously if u over heat it, drive it hard when its not warmed up properly etc. There are threads about this done by the rx7 sifus in the rotary forum..which is very very beneficial for a new rx7 owner.

Rotary engines are great and very durable if maintained properly...and is an engine that u MUST take it to redline every now and then..which is the best part!!

Yes, I wouldn't overlook cooling (used to run twin oil coolers, aftermarket FMIC, radiator etc). What's the top speed of an FD RX7; assuming stock gearing etc but making good power. From what I've read so far, it doesn't seem to require a ridiculous amount of maintenance. Seems to be in line with other modified cars (referring to frequent service, oil levels etc etc) so I'm not discouraged yet.

I think I need to read more on this; at least I can come back better informed and ask more detailed questions. Thanks for your reply.

top speed is rated at 265km/h.... but there are more things u need to take note.... the old age of the car.. making the wheel, drive shaft bearing is worn compared to new cars...and take note that RX7 under carriage is not designed for more than 200 km/h... because the rear end tend to scoop air instead of channeling it out delivering downforce... ur worst nightmare is the rear bumper flew off as it scoops air.... in order to drive long times at 265 km/h you need to sort out the aerodynamics... especially the under carriage...

1. Rx is a guzzler. Maybe 1rm/km in racing mode.

2. Maintenence comparable to BM's.

3. Never seen any fast Rx's on the highways.

top speed is rated at 265km/h.... but there are more things u need to take note.... the old age of the car.. making the wheel, drive shaft bearing is worn compared to new cars...and take note that RX7 under carriage is not designed for more than 200 km/h... because the rear end tend to scoop air instead of channeling it out delivering downforce... ur worst nightmare is the rear bumper flew off as it scoops air.... in order to drive long times at 265 km/h you need to sort out the aerodynamics... especially the under carriage...

Just so we're clear, we're talking about the FD right?

To be honest, I never considered the airflow under the car because I was more focused on the shape which compared to the R34 definitely has less drag. I've taken the 34 up to 300 and it holds steady no problems but you can feel literally feel the wind resistance. I use APP side mirrors and they just slam shut at those speeds. I figured an RX7 would be more suited but perhaps this isn't for me.

I will do more research, see what others have done etc. Should be a good read at least.

1. Rx is a guzzler. Maybe 1rm/km in racing mode.

2. Maintenence comparable to BM's.

3. Never seen any fast Rx's on the highways.

You expect people to believe someone with 6 posts? :hmmmm: