Time and time again I have heard so many comments, sadly negative, from the general public, mechanics, past & even present owners of the RX-7 that "the engine is no good lah!" Other comments go like "this engine is sooo weak, always break one" There are so many misconceptions held about this engine that are not proven nor supported by actual understanding of why the engine failed. Most often (if not always) it wasn't the engine's fault but rather bad modification, too little fueling, clogged fuel filter, poor cooling system leading to high water temperatures and overheating...the list goes on.
Sadly the RE is the most misunderstood and poorly maintained rotary engine this side of Japan and Australia. The Aussie's absolutely love it and currently hold the quarter mile world record at 7.69 seconds using a 3 rotor 20B!
My humble personal opinion on the matter is the rotary engine is an EXCELLENT engine, amazing in its design, fantastically free revving with HUGE power & torque to scare most other engines out there. However, I do understand that very early generation REs (i.e 10A & 12A) did have some o-ring problems but that is some 25 years ago.
When new friends, family & often clients come to know I have an RX-7 the first thing they say is not how nice my car is or wow looks good or something similar but instead "you had lots of problems with your rotary?" I bluntly reply "No actually, it has been really good" They typically pause for a moment in shock and say well then thats surpisingly good... After that those that are more familiar and once owned a rotary powered car engage in further investigation with me...others just walk away in disbelief to continue their bad opinion of RE.
Personally I have owned my 1995 FD RX-7 for some 4 years now and since rebuilding the engine with a mate haven't had any major problems, that is to say no blown apex seal(s), compromised o-ring or low compression etc etc. It has been running beautifully since day 1 after the precision rebuild which was needed due to "old age" and tired o-rings. My engine was the original one since 1995! How do I know this..because when we took it out we could see that all bolts were untouched with the original paint markings intact.
I want to stir up some emotion from my title to this post and hopefully generate good discussion on the various opinions held on the RE and with a bit of good fortune disprove most of the misconceptions & bad rumours out there.
Please post up your comments and views on this engine and what you have heard from people about the Rotary Engine.
Thanks.
Sadly the RE is the most misunderstood and poorly maintained rotary engine this side of Japan and Australia. The Aussie's absolutely love it and currently hold the quarter mile world record at 7.69 seconds using a 3 rotor 20B!
My humble personal opinion on the matter is the rotary engine is an EXCELLENT engine, amazing in its design, fantastically free revving with HUGE power & torque to scare most other engines out there. However, I do understand that very early generation REs (i.e 10A & 12A) did have some o-ring problems but that is some 25 years ago.
When new friends, family & often clients come to know I have an RX-7 the first thing they say is not how nice my car is or wow looks good or something similar but instead "you had lots of problems with your rotary?" I bluntly reply "No actually, it has been really good" They typically pause for a moment in shock and say well then thats surpisingly good... After that those that are more familiar and once owned a rotary powered car engage in further investigation with me...others just walk away in disbelief to continue their bad opinion of RE.
Personally I have owned my 1995 FD RX-7 for some 4 years now and since rebuilding the engine with a mate haven't had any major problems, that is to say no blown apex seal(s), compromised o-ring or low compression etc etc. It has been running beautifully since day 1 after the precision rebuild which was needed due to "old age" and tired o-rings. My engine was the original one since 1995! How do I know this..because when we took it out we could see that all bolts were untouched with the original paint markings intact.
I want to stir up some emotion from my title to this post and hopefully generate good discussion on the various opinions held on the RE and with a bit of good fortune disprove most of the misconceptions & bad rumours out there.
Please post up your comments and views on this engine and what you have heard from people about the Rotary Engine.
Thanks.
-
128.1 KB Views: 3,056
Last edited by a moderator: