Rotary Engine no good lah

DRFT_240sx

=) its good to share info , well those are the things i learn from tuning my FC with the T04E stock ports....

phat7

May 21, 2004
DRFT_240sx said:
i would acknowledge and chip in a little about tuning , a/f ratio eventhough the easiest to play around it is the least important thing in tuning.

the biggest role i would think is ignition timing. its a blackart and usually ignition timing would be set first then only a/f ratio. gosh i dont know how to put it in words and i know a lot of great tuners out there hiding their secret as well is a balance of combustion temp , exhaust gas temp from the difference of ignition timing and a/f ratio.

it's not as simple as u say it is.....
I agree. Contrary to what coolblue thinks, ign timing is essential to a happy engine producing maximum amount of power. Thats the exact reason my datalogit should be coming down from new zealand next month :)

coolblue

Nov 19, 2003
phat7 said:
I agree. Contrary to what coolblue thinks, ign timing is essential to a happy engine producing maximum amount of power. Thats the exact reason my datalogit should be coming down from new zealand next month :)
i try on ignition timing already ...
they dont see much gain but just more risk to get apex seal split up .

piston engine will do the timings tricks , but rotary not really getting up much ...

DJmobile

Dec 13, 2003
what i like about rotaries is that there aint no stinkin pistons..

hehehe...

DR78

Aug 26, 2005
subang
Savanna 12A said:
Anyone heard about this name ... Gary Chua?

He was our legendary rotary racer in the late 70's and early 80's, raced with his SA and FC at Batu 3 race circuit. Those days he had a workshop specialised in RE located at Jln Kilang, PJ Old Town.

Indeed he is still operating there, not for RE of course but as the official Perodua Rally Team service centre.

Perhaps someone cld approach him and bring back his RE skills and experience to be shared with us.
wah haven heard this name 4 so long... he is the malaysian rx7 sifu la.. but his shop now perodua showroom only but still got few rx7 inside only..
respect 4 him man

kuroneko

Nov 10, 2005
Some of you guys are mistakened about the 250kw stock power figures, it's 255bhp (yes at the flywheel) for series 6, series 7 bumped up to 266, and series 8 to 280. (with the exception of the RZ models etc)

250kw@flywheel is ~335bhp :eek:

Coolblue, are you using a microtech ecu and tuning a/f via map sensor, or someother one with factory afm?

13btt

May 31, 2004
Sydney, AUS
www.reclub.com.my
Yup been past his workshop - didn't see any rotaries there only heaps of turboed shopping trolleys!

DR78 said:
wah haven heard this name 4 so long... he is the malaysian rx7 sifu la.. but his shop now perodua showroom only but still got few rx7 inside only..
respect 4 him man

Erix7

Oct 11, 2004
i hv a question here..am i runnning too rich o my setting is ok?

idling is 20 A/F (after warm up engine), 15 to 16 when starting the engine..

then after 10 secs is 14 (i think its for warm up the engine)

then when accel is 12 to 12.8

when crusing in fifth gear at rpm 2 to 3, is bout 19 ++ to 20...

thanks in advanced for any infos..

:)

coolblue

Nov 19, 2003
i was using haltech ,

kuroneko said:
Some of you guys are mistakened about the 250kw stock power figures, it's 255bhp (yes at the flywheel) for series 6, series 7 bumped up to 266, and series 8 to 280. (with the exception of the RZ models etc)

250kw@flywheel is ~335bhp :eek:

Coolblue, are you using a microtech ecu and tuning a/f via map sensor, or someother one with factory afm?

phat7

May 21, 2004
i meant erix7 mate. how is the t51 kit coolblue? still at your brothers shop??

coolblue

Nov 19, 2003
errrr ... which kit you mean ? .... the one at ss racing t51r kit for fd3s ? . still available .

phat7 said:
i meant erix7 mate. how is the t51 kit coolblue? still at your brothers shop??

aravind

Deleted User
Jul 31, 2009
rx7

rotary sifu's !! please help me why is it when i start the rx7 black smoke comes out of my exhaust...alot !! and how 2 make petrol not finish faster i mean any mods can be done for this ? thanks !

I would like to check, how well is the aftermarket brake for 285mm rotor?
Is it about the same as stock?

my concern is, now my WHP is near 200 and i still using stock brake system.
my wheel is using 4 bot instead of 5, 2nd reason is i using 15" rims.

so if i using 285mm rotor type and branded caliper ( in complete set)
will it help for near 200 WHP? ( example evo, wrx, CTR are above 200hp and yet their stock already more then 320mm)

any recommend complete set brake for 15"