Robbers caught and beaten up badly

deacon and luke skywalker (may the force be with u). it is certainly refreshing to see both of you engaged in orderly manner debate.

deacon,

i can see your points and i have to say i agreed on most the thing u have mentioned.

Deacon,

I respect what you said and I appreciate that often at ZTH I see you putting your points across in a logical and calm manner.

I understand what you are getting at but I would not completely agree with you.

As you said, it's true that crime is a function of socio-political failures. Generally, where poverty is rampant, so too is crime. Yes, I agree that in the long run we need to play a role in elevating the governance of this nation in order to reduce the incidence of crime.

But here and now, we are not law abiding, low crime Switzerland yet and probably won't ever be. We still have to deal with what is happening now. What you suggested about a moderate thinking, non-aggresive citizen is an ideal which works fine mostly in Switzerland and in theory, but this is Malaysia. it's 50+ years of independence now and we are still nowhere near an ideal.

To the guy in the street who just got robbed and violated, to the cop who just had to put his life on the line in a high-speed car chase, the last thing going through his mind is any larger issue of better governance and socio-political function of crime. Of more concern to him is the immediacy of the situation and waht he would do when confronted with a real-world situation, right here, right now.

You might think that a lot of the folks in the footage acted stupidly by the use of undue force. It's no question that they were heavy handed.

Personally I think there' a place for everything....even for such heavy handedness.......

You might feel it is disagreeble from a moral, intellectual or legal perspective but as someone who's actually been put in several situations of public assisted apprehension of criminals I can certainly appreciate people like these truckers have their uses.

It is mostly people like all these tow truckers, blue collar workers......tough, no-nonsense, aggresive guys...who tend to respond to a call for assistance. You don't find some moderate, intellectual, peaceloving, Mr Investment Banking guy to put it on the line to risk his neck to help fellow citizens. It' mostly the working class, low education Joe Mechanic who helps out.

Put it this way. In the real world, when it is inevitable that things will turn rough, I rather have a couple of simple-minded lions on my side than a couple of sophisticated, intelligent lambs.

I have seen plenty of lambs standing by, not having the balls or the ability to help out in various situations. Yup, the lions in those footage acted like a pack of animals on a feeding frenzy despite the presence of cops who are already on scene to control the situation.

But...I will stop short of saying these lions have no place here. Until this country can put itself right and become like Switzerland, you need some lions roaming around. I'm sure the robbery victim thought the same way when he called for the assistance from these tow truckers.

Although the tow truckers resorted to violence like the robbers, the big difference here is the tow truckers didn't go around robbing people. I'm certainly not going to equate what these truckers did to what the robbers did. I don' have a moral hangup to seeing a couple of robbers getting the crap kicked out of them. It might not be the most morally righteous thing to do, and their methods are blunt and brutish to say the least. However, I have seen plenty of the same righteous folks who talk a lot but when the chips are down, these intellectuals are nowhere to be found. Why is it that it's always the rough and tough Joe Mechanic who tends to risk it all to respond to a call of help ?

I personally think if citizens like these feel a need to kick the living sh1t out of criminals, let them have their pleasure. If they want to put themselves at risk of prosecution, it's their prerogative. I certainly won't stop them from doing what they did to those two robbers. When Malaysia becomes like Switzerland, them maybe you have a point, but until then......

Deacon,

I respect what you said and I appreciate that often at ZTH I see you putting your points across in a logical and calm manner.

I understand what you are getting at but I would not completely agree with you.

As you said, it's true that crime is a function of socio-political failures. Generally, where poverty is rampant, so too is crime. Yes, I agree that in the long run we need to play a role in elevating the governance of this nation in order to reduce the incidence of crime.

But here and now, we are not law abiding, low crime Switzerland yet and probably won't ever be. We still have to deal with what is happening now. What you suggested about a moderate thinking, non-aggresive citizen is an ideal which works fine mostly in Switzerland and in theory, but this is Malaysia. it's 50+ years of independence now and we are still nowhere near an ideal.

To the guy in the street who just got robbed and violated, to the cop who just had to put his life on the line in a high-speed car chase, the last thing going through his mind is any larger issue of better governance and socio-political function of crime. Of more concern to him is the immediacy of the situation and waht he would do when confronted with a real-world situation, right here, right now.

You might think that a lot of the folks in the footage acted stupidly by the use of undue force. It's no question that they were heavy handed.

Personally I think there' a place for everything....even for such heavy handedness.......

You might feel it is disagreeble from a moral, intellectual or legal perspective but as someone who's actually been put in several situations of public assisted apprehension of criminals I can certainly appreciate people like these truckers have their uses.

It is mostly people like all these tow truckers, blue collar workers......tough, no-nonsense, aggresive guys...who tend to respond to a call for assistance. You don't find some moderate, intellectual, peaceloving, Mr Investment Banking guy to put it on the line to risk his neck to help fellow citizens. It' mostly the working class, low education Joe Mechanic who helps out.

Put it this way. In the real world, when it is inevitable that things will turn rough, I rather have a couple of simple-minded lions on my side than a couple of sophisticated, intelligent lambs.

I have seen plenty of lambs standing by, not having the balls or the ability to help out in various situations. Yup, the lions in those footage acted like a pack of animals on a feeding frenzy despite the presence of cops who are already on scene to control the situation.

But...I will stop short of saying these lions have no place here. Until this country can put itself right and become like Switzerland, you need some lions roaming around. I'm sure the robbery victim thought the same way when he called for the assistance from these tow truckers.

Although the tow truckers resorted to violence like the robbers, the big difference here is the tow truckers didn't go around robbing people. I'm certainly not going to equate what these truckers did to what the robbers did. I don' have a moral hangup to seeing a couple of robbers getting the crap kicked out of them. It might not be the most morally righteous thing to do, and their methods are blunt and brutish to say the least. However, I have seen plenty of the same righteous folks who talk a lot but when the chips are down, these intellectuals are nowhere to be found. Why is it that it's always the rough and tough Joe Mechanic who tends to risk it all to respond to a call of help ?

I personally think if citizens like these feel a need to kick the living sh1t out of criminals, let them have their pleasure. When Malaysia becomes like Switzerland, them maybe you have a point, but until then......

:congrats: well said... this what im trying to say... till we reach the root of the problem which may take a long time this is the only way to make them fear us abit... If at this time and situation we keep quiet there are just going to get more brave...

That's a very well thought out argument.

But aren't the robbers and truckers just one bad decision away from each other?

I mean both may lead impoverished lives, desperation plays a big part, you never know one thing could lead to another.

Sure they're a riot (pun intended) to have around in a bad situation, but isn't vigilantism so close to borderline criminal assault that the lines can't be seen?

What happens if common placed thinking is as such then?

Should we all get our clubs and return to days of old when the wheel was first made?

What would we do if should all hell break loose and people roam the streets looking for the scalps of those (potentially minority races) who have more or are perceived to have more than others?

I don't expect answers, but these are questions that don't sit easy with me.

I totally agree that when the chips are down most intellectuals would rather not engage, perhaps many of them feel that they have too much to loose, sadly. The well being all humans should be a priority for all of us. Help given where and when help is needed - whether you are a trishaw(sp?) puller, or the maharajah of Yeo Hup Singh (little joke).

While this statement is true, "When Malaysia is like Switzerland...", what about what we do to work towards it as a society?

I digress. :hmmmm:

I'm not debating at all man. I'm trying to give clarity of vision, the problem here is that you prefer the barbarian way to solving problems. Rather than changing the root of the problem for the better.

Yes you are giving an opinion but that's all.

I'm giving you something to think about rather than just saying "Fuck them balls let's kill those motherfuckers!"

Sadly i've wasted my efforts. You obviously can't appreciate something unless its in front of your face, again, another sad situation.

Mr Deacon...hurm...what all u wrote...yeah..its true...but back again to my 1st post...pijak di bumi yg nyata bro...

all thing that u mention above is only valid on paper...and court...but when u are in the real world...fuck off all that things...people always follow what their heart say to act rathe than follow those 'so called law'...get me?

u can just bla2 with all those civilised..law...good enforcers...patient...but again...how patient u can be??? and...who the hell follw those real rules nowadays..

even those 'so called high educated' like karpal singh also do lost his temper in the parliments...

but...its all up to u mr deacon...u can just keep on typing 1000 of pages of what to do and dont..but i am fucking sure... u will end-up realise that u are only talking to the mirror...it all come back to you...

p/s: wonder what;'s ur car plate number......:hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:....and sorry again for the bad grammar yah....

That's a very well thought out argument.

But aren't the robbers and truckers just one bad decision away from each other?

I mean both may lead impoverished lives, desperation plays a big part, you never know one thing could lead to another.

Sure they're a riot (pun intended) to have around in a bad situation, but isn't vigilantism so close to borderline criminal assault that the lines can't be seen?

What happens if common placed thinking is as such then?

Should we all get our clubs and return to days of old when the wheel was first made?

What would we do if should all hell break loose and people roam the streets looking for the scalps of those (potentially minority races) who have more or are perceived to have more than others?

I don't expect answers, but these are questions that don't sit easy with me.

I totally agree that when the chips are down most intellectuals would rather not engage, perhaps many of them feel that they have too much to loose, sadly. The well being all humans should be a priority for all of us. Help given where and when help is needed - whether you are a trishaw(sp?) puller, or the maharajah of Yeo Hup Singh (little joke).

While this statement is true, "When Malaysia is like Switzerland...", what about what we do to work towards it as a society?

I digress. :hmmmm:

bro you should not say this la common... robbers steal form hardworking ppl and all... truckers all work for their money and they work hard pls dont compare them... to robbers... truckers eventhough have no good education make a effort to work and support their family... atleast they make a honest living

for all your questions and situations put up there pls get real there is only a 1 percent chance it might happen... im not saying it might not happen but chances are low so lets talk bout thinks which are more real bro... lets not talk about getting clubs and roaming streets...

i do agree with what your saying we as a society should work together to making our country better...

Mr Deacon...hurm...what all u wrote...yeah..its true...but back again to my 1st post...pijak di bumi yg nyata bro...

all thing that u mention above is only valid on paper...and court...but when u are in the real world...fuck off all that things...people always follow what their heart say to act rathe than follow those 'so called law'...get me?

u can just bla2 with all those civilised..law...good enforcers...patient...but again...how patient u can be??? and...who the hell follw those real rules nowadays..

even those 'so called high educated' like karpal singh also do lost his temper in the parliments...

but...its all up to u mr deacon...u can just keep on typing 1000 of pages of what to do and dont..but i am fucking sure... u will end-up realise that u are only talking to the mirror...it all come back to you...

p/s: wonder what;'s ur car plate number......:hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:....and sorry again for the bad grammar yah....

Hmm I can just blah blah about civilised law and such, how long do you think we'll last the way we are.

There is no mirror in front of me.

And what will come back to me?

Why again do you need my car plate number? Maybe you should give me yours. :idea:

lukeskywalker,

I want to believe that mass rioting will never occur here but reality is setting in. We have people protesting another religion walking around with cut cow's head. This really can't get anymore pressing an issue. But that's a separate issue.

lets not dwell into politics once again guys... stick to cars... stick to cars...

Perhaps this thread has had its time in the sun. Time to close?

both sides have put forth very good arguments to support their view points. i think this type of debate is very healthy and also demonstrates the maturity of the forumers here. :wavey:

i'd just like to conclude that if i were to ever call the shots, deacon would be the most impartial law enforcer we can have while luke is the most no-nonsense judge who won't hesitate to give out the max sentence to an offender.

btw, if i really get to call the shots, i'd make petrol dirt cheap and abolish all import taxes for foreign cars. :rofl::rofl::rofl:

as the video is no longer available and as the starter of this thread, i request the closure/lock of this thread from further posts.

have a nice weekend :wavey:

Hmm~~interesting debate here and I applaud to bothe Deacon and Luke both have shown some good manner in the debate better if without the F words. Each of you have a different POV and findings.

I think in a situation like the video, emotions will be taking over rather than rational thinking. I will beat that guy too if I was there. Sometimes things happen so fast until you can't think of how to react and just react according to your emotion. We are humans and not robots so some times we tend to make the irrational decision. Then when we calm down, we will realize that we did the wrong thing or make the wrong move. In a long term, its still important to educate the people.