Quiet tyres

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694528 said:
Haha truck tyres.
I just got an offer for RE003 @ RM303/pc all in.
Kind of irresistable. Any advice on this? Is the RE003 considered a noisy tyre or average sounding tyre?

In addition to Izso's comment above, this tire also might not be as good in the wet especially as it gets more worn out. You can see the tread pattern has more big rubber blocks with not so much water channels like Michelin PS3/4. Note also the tread wear rating is rather low at 220 only (as opposed to around 300 of the others) hence it will finish off quite fast.

It's a sticky tyre. Sticky tyres are not quiet tyres. Last time i was following a car with RE003 going up Ulu Yam and that car was flinging rocks at my car.

I honestly doubt it'll be quiet.

Yup, big thread blocks design are usually more noisy, but would like to know how loud will it be? Louder than Michelin PS3? Louder than AD07 (yes, I am THAT old :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:)?
Any idea how it fares in the wet? I drive according to speed limit in the wet, but you know, some shit tyres can break traction even with minimal puddle of water.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694533 said:
Yup, big thread blocks design are usually more noisy, but would like to know how loud will it be? Louder than Michelin PS3? Louder than AD07 (yes, I am THAT old :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:)?
Any idea how it fares in the wet? I drive according to speed limit in the wet, but you know, some shit tyres can break traction even with minimal puddle of water.

Bro.. I've used AD07. So yes I'm as old as you. :biggrin:

And nothing is noisier than AD07.. nothing. My god my ears. But what grip!

And tbh I've heard the Re003 on a Wira and it seemed ok. But I can't really compare the PS3 cuz my car is a Sylphy running on 17" vs the Wira 15" with thicker profile. And PS3 I'm finding it quite noisy on a Sylphy which is supposedly a quiet car. And I have my sound proofing done for my car for my sound system too.. so you can imagine la.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694533 said:

Loud level not so sure due to exhaust but one thing for sure, you can hear the pasir or the tar sometime hits the fender on some roads. Quite noticeable amount of sound.

Driving on wet so far for me ok la. Not bad and didn't pull to the side or whatsoever

Bro.. I've used AD07. So yes I'm as old as you. :biggrin:

And nothing is noisier than AD07.. nothing. My god my ears. But what grip!

And tbh I've heard the Re003 on a Wira and it seemed ok. But I can't really compare the PS3 cuz my car is a Sylphy running on 17" vs the Wira 15" with thicker profile. And PS3 I'm finding it quite noisy on a Sylphy which is supposedly a quiet car. And I have my sound proofing done for my car for my sound system too.. so you can imagine la.

I bit blur....previous on chicken brand rp01, ps3 not sound so loud.
Now on rolix type-c ori, sound louder. Hahaha...
Don ask me what is rolix.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694528 said:
Haha truck tyres.
I just got an offer for RE003 @ RM303/pc all in.
Kind of irresistable. Any advice on this? Is the RE003 considered a noisy tyre or average sounding tyre?

RE-003 rated traction A only, and as in recent track day at elite, bro. cv did mention RE-003 lasted better than PS3. PS3 chipped a lot, but PS3 is rated AA and better in the wet. So if rain and wet handling is more your priority then PS3 is better. Got budget then PS4....lol

The two rims any difference in rim width or offset?:hmmmm:

Strange, you're still using the same tires and actually narrower rims, yet feel more noisy after changing rims? Should not be...

What is rolix? :biggrin:

Wider to slimmer profile means the sidewalls less stretched so more contact surface? :hmmmm: so perhaps noisier?

What is rolix? :biggrin:

Wider to slimmer profile means the sidewalls less stretched so more contact surface? :hmmmm: so perhaps noisier?

Should be the other way around I think if it does matter.

Noise is ok for me. Hope sifu have any theories behind it,
About rolix....ask uncleVR. Wakakaka...:listen:

Noise is ok for me. Hope sifu have any theories behind it,
About rolix....ask uncleVR. Wakakaka...:listen:

Hmm I'm no sifu yet so also confused. The only thing I can think of maybe because your tires are not really evenly worn and somehow a few become more noisy than the others, and then when installed, the noisy ones got installed in the front hence the noise becomes more pronounced for you as the driver who sits in the front. Just a wild guess/theory.

To me is 2 things.
1) wider rims means the sidewall angle differs from previous rims. The shoulder pattern contact differs so the contact and wear angle differs and maybe create more noise
2) If Offset is further out it maybe cutting more wind and noise also can be transmitted in, since wira sound proofing is not that good.....lol
Theory also just like you :rolleyes:......hahhahha:rofl: