Proton..oopss u done it again. congrats !

jombiee

http://www.autozine.org/Misc/Award/AutoZine/AutoZine_Awards_08.htm

last year its Gen2
This year its Savvy

wake up !!

yeah, a bit surprised to see the Eclipse among the 'winners'.. Savvy is a good car, really. try to drive one. in the 0-10 point range, 4 is for Savvy.

agreed the design is not that what we call 'beautiful' or 'macho', the plastic? well, some top European makers struggled with plastic. the interior? we should not blame the car but point the fingers to the over-paid designers and wonder how they got the job at the first place.

Its true that we Malaysians are not that patriotic as the Koreans and Japanese, but hey, Proton is not Honda or Toyota.

when they got to the Honda/ Toyota/ Subaru level, then we'll see the patriotism among the malaysians.

I think yes its a good car,
but its just the looks are freaking me up, I still can spot the good look in it till this day.
& how I hope savvy would not make it for 2006 awards but there it is....

hehehe, savvy... actually this car is quite nice as fun car...
as the artical said, quality not so good..

partially taken from the article...

.....Proton has poor reputation about quality and honesty. Every time it launched a new car it promised vast improvement in quality, but every time its customers found being cheated......

Yeah, cheated the consumers for more than 20 freaking years.... ha, even blind QC officers oso can tell the car is of no quality, after 20 over years ofjust raba-raba the cheapo plastic....what more if the officers are not handicapped at all.

Malaysia Boleh! boleh tipu sampai 20 tahun!!

Guys, after 20 over yrs in the auto industry, it's not easy to get the title
WORST CAR OF THE YEAR !

Furthermore repeatedly for 2 yrs ! SEMUA BOLEH !!

errr

for me m proud to be here as M'SIAN even though m not locally frm here !!!

p/s : think for da people dat live on their hard earn money & for those who are not being well paid...

enjoy guysss

I never knew a honkie web site with such bad English could be this credible...

For a start, are Protons even on sale in HK? The author probably hasn't driven half the cars he writes about. Go read the Author section:-

"I learned HTML and JavaScript quickly, then spent countless nights and holidays to research and to write about some 200 new cars and 100 classic cars. This process took 6 months to finish."

300 cars in 6 months??? Even Autocar or Road & Track will take their hats off to someone who can thouroughly test drive and review 2 cars a day everyday for half a year.

Truly a classic case of the blind leading the blind.

dude his articles are recycled one..some sound familiar..

copy and paste at its best

pity to those who still take this personal website seriously..

hypermount said:

no need hongkie to tell abt proton's built quality. Jst ask any malaysian and you'll get the sad answer liow....

hypermount said:

well have you seen the well known Top Gear show said about savvy dude ?

i second prozac...what is this autozine btw? can we consider them as reliable sources??

anyway, i admit nothing in the Savvy excites me unless of course the AMT gearbox.

at least the Gen2 has good looks on its side.

i watched Top Gear last week (every Sunday 3pm NTV7) and i noted Jeremy Clarkson does condemned Britihs made cars is they are not good. and that include the last Ford Escort (replaced by Focus), Ford Granada Scorpio and Vauxhall Astra (the previous model).

Jeremy even does not like Jaguar XKR and neither Aston Martin DB7 compare to DB9.

even the lastest Merc SLK and Ferrari F60 Enzo ranks low in his list.

in Top Gear, the enzo are listed under very un cool !!

about the sources, when you google for worst car of the year, Autozine are on the first search page.

zan, is savvy designed by our own malaysians ? just cant understand why la they come out with that design