Problem with B16a

is it true Din?
my car ok jer after i change to 100% manual ecu...
but then maybe need to test drag with ori manual engine then only i'll know....hehehehee

so bila din? for sure b4 u change to CTR cam lar bro......hahahahahahaha

gunn said:
is it true Din?
but then maybe need to test drag with ori manual engine then only i'll know....hehehehee

Wif all the gadgetry inside your car, for sure me kalah one ... spoon rim lah ...etc... sudah 5hp power than me .... :p

gunn said:
is it true Din?

can me join to??
:D
or maybe just a penonton.. :D

Cimpeng said:
can me join to??

Oii...Cimpeng ... both you kenot jadi ... You must jadi PENAJA .. or in English .. SPONSOR ... muahahaha ....

I got one stupid theory to think. As you all know B16a Auto and Manual should have different bhp. Manual should be 170bhp (reffering to EG models as a sample) and Auto is 155bhp (if I'm not mistaken). So by changing ECU and gearbox, do you think it can increase the bhp to 170 same as Manual? What do you think? If not, then there should be other things which is slightly different between Manual and Auto Engine itselft. Example is the CAM ...

I just informed by my mechanic that the differences between Manual & Auto Cams is its LOBES. Auto Cam has lower LOBES meanwhile Manual Cam has a Higher LOBES. If you ask me what's LOBES I'm also tak tau ... can try read here ....

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/camshaft1.htm

Happy Reading .....

p/s: Habislah kau Gunn, after this TYPE R cam will be inside your engine ..

Cimpeng said:
can me join to??

dont join la... ur car very powerful edi...
u seat w me n hv TT la... chit chat... poison poisoning...
let them battle la... we battle in futsal enuff edi...
miahahahahahahaha...

BlueG said:
I just informed by my mechanic that the differences between Manual & Auto Cams is its LOBES. Auto Cam has lower LOBES meanwhile Manual Cam has a Higher LOBES. If you ask me what's LOBES I'm also tak tau ... can try read here ....

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/camshaft1.htm

Happy Reading .....

p/s: Habislah kau Gunn, after this TYPE R cam will be inside your engine ..

Yes. auto tranny cam have lower profile compared to manual's. I once had my engine detonated, i got another engine. I have no idea where the engine came from since my mech ordered it for me. If i'm not mistaken, its from a DA6 , becoz the auto tranny's engine (B16A1) only come from an intergra. After the second engine swap, i hardly feel or hear any vtec kicking in. Then i change my cam to ITR's. Took out the previous cam...just to find out that the cam is of an auto tranny's engine ( of coz i also found out that the engine had only single valve spring on both the intake and the exhaust side, compared to the normal manual B16A's which have one side dual springs on the intake and single on another) The auto tranny have onlye single valve springs . The auto tranny's cam had quite a big difference compared to the auto tranny's (in term of power and VTEC singing sound) , also, u feel the power starting to flat out at higher rpm. Most probably becoz auto tranny engine wasnt meant to rev that high (for example 8000rpm). The Auto tranny's engine also have a lower redline.

Btw, rechipping an auto tranny's ECU will never be the same with the manual's. IMHO,To really feel the difference, i think the cam, the gb should be changed along with the ecu ..

Aiks, sorry ya bro soulfly, my idea seems to be slightly in conflict with yours. :P You might also have your point in reprogramming the auto ecu according to the manual's. But then, this issue have also been discussed in a few well known honda forums. And alot agreed that rechipping the auto ecu is not quite the same with the manuals. :D cheers!

ARTA said:
Yes. auto tranny cam have lower profile compared to manual's. I once had my engine detonated, i got another engine. I have no idea where the engine came from since my mech ordered it for me. If i'm not mistaken, its from a DA6 , becoz the auto tranny's engine (B16A1) only come from an intergra. After the second engine swap, i hardly feel or hear any vtec kicking in. Then i change my cam to ITR's. Took out the previous cam...just to find out that the cam is of an auto tranny's engine ( of coz i also found out that the engine had only single valve spring on both the intake and the exhaust side, compared to the normal manual B16A's which have one side dual springs on the intake and single on another) The auto tranny have onlye single valve springs . The auto tranny's cam had quite a big difference compared to the auto tranny's (in term of power and VTEC singing sound) , also, u feel the power starting to flat out at higher rpm. Most probably becoz auto tranny engine wasnt meant to rev that high (for example 8000rpm). The Auto tranny's engine also have a lower redline.

So far what I know is B16a or Vtec Kecil from EF/ DA is using single valve spring for both intake and exhaust side. Meanwhile for B16a from EG or Vtec Besar is using double valve spring for intake side and single valve spring for exhaust side. That's why I wanna to change to Type R B16B cam coz It has double valve springs for the both sides.

I think for the Auto Tranny, the cam inside the engine is designed to match the gearbox. Because of Auto gearbox is quite lembap so the cam must be not too aggresive like Manual cams.

p/s: I'm just wondering if they produce B16b with Auto Tranny ... :p

ARTA said:
Btw, rechipping an auto tranny's ECU will never be the same with the manual's. IMHO,To really feel the difference, i think the cam, the gb should be changed along with the ecu ..

Yes, you're rite. My friend already kena. I think he changed his rechipped Auto ECU 2 or 3 times already, but still no syiok. Got problem also .... After that he buy ORIGINAL Manual ECU ...now sudah syiok already and sudah berani challange and tapau my ori Manual car ... :D

BlueG said:
Yes, you're rite. My friend already kena. I think he changed his rechipped Auto ECU 2 or 3 times already, but still no syiok. Got problem also .... After that he buy ORIGINAL Manual ECU ...no sudah syiok already and sudah berani challange and tapau my ori Manual car ... :D

hahaha...lantoiii...
that one not because of rechip lorr..
that is because of kedai salah bg comp. box..
not because of rechip k... :D
but me...yes rechip...perhaps can test this nite?

btw..we r ORI EG9...not conv. one...no pening² kepala wana change rear bonnet+rear screen+black panel+etc... :D
any comment about this??

so... there's really differences for the cam lobes, but i wonder why they never really compare the spec with manual engine. this means... those US ppl are considered quite unlucky lar if they got enjin kosong. it's like gambling whether it's originally from manual or auto.

guess.... my next upgrade would be the cams :D

BlueG said:
So far what I know is B16a or Vtec Kecil from EF/ DA is using single valve spring for both intake and exhaust side. Meanwhile for B16a from EG or Vtec Besar is using double valve spring for intake side and single valve spring for exhaust side. That's why I wanna to change to Type R B16B cam coz It has double valve springs for the both sides.

I think for the Auto Tranny, the cam inside the engine is designed to match the gearbox. Because of Auto gearbox is quite lembap so the cam must be not too aggresive like Manual cams.

p/s: I'm just wondering if they produce B16b with Auto Tranny ... :p

Auto tranny only come from an integra (DA), I got my engine previously from an EF8 halfcut. When i dismantle the engine, i found out that there's dual springs on the intake and single on the exhaust. Also, u mentioned that u r changing B16B cam coz it has dual springs? Changing the cam won't give you dual springs :) Auto tranny is not meant to rev high, so the cam that come along is weaker at higher rpms.

Cheers