Original Black Window for Imported Vehicle

clanzkiller

Good day everyone.

Would like to know if those imported vehicle or so called Recond car that has original black windows on the rear part of a vehicle is still consider illegal in Malaysia? Example like Estima, Alphard, Harrier, Mercs, BMW, etc etc. (for 4 or more doors car)

clanzkiller,

I don't know the actual fact of this matter.
But I can share base on my experience for the Recond Vehicle (with dark glass).
Happened not long a ago...

Dealer 1:
They said the glass/window need to change to clear type for inspection.
Basically they change all dark window to clear type before PUSPAKOM & will be permanent.

Dealer 2:
"It's ok, never mind all has been arrange & settle" told by them.
This dealer are the biggest of all & they do things very fast for inspection & such.
I assume is legal by law due to originality.
I end up with Dealer 2 & until today no problem arise.

My opinion:
As long the car window are original (without tinted) then should be ok.
Window replacement very hard to find especially for Recond Car due to rare model sometimes.

Correct me if I'm wrong...

The dealer usually rent out clear glass before going for inspection... after the inspection they will put back the dark glass...
it all only take less than 1 day

yeah..ive agreed wif u basikal_pancit, this situation same as my friend case buy a recond mpv the dealer told her about this when he do inspection, after approved the dealer fix back original/black screen and another way dealer oledi "kautim" with someone there but after oledi settle dealer told my friend better change to clear screen to avoid summons.

but until now my friend used this black screen w/out any problem..very lucky lorr..

Mine are with approved V-cool tinted...and i tinted it because of heat resistance.
So i guess mine is because black window + tinted = illegal?
that's weird..

so far i heard some of them never encounter anything when road block. And i sometimes also didn't stop by officer..Only on Sunday that time, stopped by traffic somemore, not police not JPJ...and they issued me an inspection letter at Trafik KL.

Goddamiit, now traffic do not issue summons d, but inspection letter like JPJ.
i told the officer, i passed through so many road blocks, you're the first who stopped me and say my window very dark. And in the meantime, a caldina and estima passby the roadblock, i ask the officer, that one can meh? why u didn't go and stop them..he told me, yes that one can, yours too dark..is different from them..i was like wtf?

i've called my dealer and it cost me rm400+ to change back to clear screen and go for inspection then change back to black one..

just wondering, anyone know if we need to pay any fee for the inspection at traffic KL HQ?

if is free, then i'm gonna go there wit my current windows and fight for my rights.

clanzkiller,

Now this thing happened to me.
At the moment i looking forward to find the replacement (Japan Made).
Kindly share the result of the inspection or what you been trough.

kairigi
btul ba? my friend can drive his car with roadtax expired on 2007, which he drove me around on 2010. LOL..
ganas sda dorang tu...i think maybe they are on certain road operasi that's why suddenly become so ganas...is just a season i guess :)..

pangyau
JPJ i hardly kena before...but the time i kena traffic one, and i did changed my black window to original window. So i went to traffic KL HQ, and there is only 1 officer attending me, and he told me, aiya no need change back also can one, can kautim one..lol...and he never ever look at my windows. After talking with him, passing him my another copy of inspection letter, then i leave the place.

not sure how to get that kind of window/glass in KK, but KL i heard they said can get through certain half cut shop. cost around 1.5k like that for 5 pieces clear window.
but since you're in KK, maybe u can go and find those evo 789 owner, which e7 and some e8 had original clear glasses, give them some money to do borrow or watsoever, then go for inspection lo...

clanzkiller,

Base on my observation & friends around here (among the E).
None of them carry the clear glass.

If I miss something maybe you could introduce anybody who has it.
Seems I have to find/search around.

i got few close fren who drove evo 7 and 8...3 of them with e7 are with clear glass, and 1 of them with e8 with clear glass also. but on the road, sometimes can see those with black glasses...when i asked them how come u guys clear glass, they said buy that time is like that one, never change also...

i can try to ask around in KL, see if can get or not..wil update wit u over here...

clanzkiller,

Appreciate on your assistant finding the replacement glass.

---------- Post added at 09:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:39 AM ----------

skyboy,

u also "kena" ka... ? :five:
Kindly share which area & what time u "kena"?

Update,

Finally I already "kena" & received the instruction for inspection.
No other choice, "pusing" here & there to find solution... have to change the glass :bawling:

Hope you guys still "selamat" with the privacy glass. Good luck