No Power in Low End.

kennix

I've just recently got my BLT. But I'm not satisfied with the power at low end below 3k rpm. But I have no problem above 4k rpm.

The first fuel pump, the car is damn slow and weak below 3k rpm. I even encountered problem going up steep hill. It's like no fuel going into the engine and the exhaust keep "farting" air... in normal flat road, the car is weak < 3k rpm and will jerk if i maintain between 2k - 4k rpm.

Just changed another fuel pump and it's better. But I'm still facing the same problem though it's not so obvious anymore. I've yet tried going steep hill.

My car setting with stock 4afe exhaust piping, center bullet FGK, rear muffler s-flow. Many told me it could be the exhaust back pressure limitation.

Anyone encountered this? Any solution sifoo sifoo sekalian?

Thanks a million.

Last edited by a moderator:
ermm.. can i know your piping is how many inch? Normally need to use about 2 inch. But as u said Low RPM, the car is no power. I din't think is the exhaust problem lor... Because if the piping small, the power will be at low end. If piping too big, the problem will same as yours lor...

Somemore, did you check all the vacum hose? got any leaking? Please check it out, maybe of the leaking too.

Then are using Hi Cam? If Hi Cam, normally low rpm will not power too.

Hi scomatic,

I think the original 4afe piping is smaller than 2 inch??? I'm not too sure.. let's say it's smaller than 2 inch, it will affect the low end?

I'm not using any hi-cam. it's stock BLT. Just transplanted. I'll check the vacuum hose too like you mentioned. I hope the mech did check for me b4 putting the engine in. Anyway, I'll do another round of checking.

Thanks a lot for ya advice. Cheers...

Hi scomatic,

I think the original 4afe piping is smaller than 2 inch??? I'm not too sure.. let's say it's smaller than 2 inch, it will affect the low end?

If less than 2 inch, it won't affected the low end la but it upside down. The Low end will much power than high end lor...

The CAM pls check also lor... I scare is high Cam le... Look stock but maybe not.

Oh ya, the clutch u checked already? The Mech changed for u during conversion? If the clutch not enough thread or sliped, it also face same problem.

Hmm...hi-cam ar...err...have to open and check...not too sure about that also..cause according to normal driving and when i revved high, it's just like normal BLT. don't feel any pull in high-end...i think the best is to open the head and check..

The clutch checked liao... it's still new. So, i think clutch is ok.

i think it's quite normal for svt n bt. my svt low end <3k rpm really lack of respond, my fren using the original piping the low end even better...but now he just changed to bigger piping 2.3" then he started to complaint the lack of power at low rpm... try to check also the distributor timing...make sure it's not too advanced (pinging) or retarded.

??? wilm3, u sure svt or bt low no powers? coz 1-3k rpm if i tekan habis.. my car front wheel can spin until like got earth quake.... but mine is using C56 gearbox.. so if Kennix is using BT, it should have the same stuff and response... further more should be even better since mine is just svt...

original exhaust i dun think will affect ur car like that... what u say above is like the power band kicks in after u reach 4krpm above.. which is in the vvt band range.. Have u checked ur plug cable wire? and ur spark plug.. since u say ur car is farting.. check ur distributor also.. might have damage or rusted...

i say this is because last time, my svt in auto tranny were running on 2+0.5+0.5 spark plug strengths... at first it was a problems created by that UBI HOLLAND chickened brand spark wire... which i didn't even realise becoz auto ecu flow out more fuel compare to manual ecu.. then after i discovered about that stupid spark plug wire.. the next day, it damaged my distributor.. original cost me rm120 for that TINY stupid thing inside...

I am still using a stock levin exhaust... and if u ask me, from 1-3k rpm... it is already like wanna cabut my whole stupid drive shaft already.. and if i don't let go and still rev it till vvt range.. it will be like a madcow ride...

and wilm3, ask ur friend to insert another mid muffler... for 2.3" setup.. it helps your friend on low rpm range time..

bro.usually 20v engine no power on low rpm.when it climb to 3k rpm br respornd masuk..then check ur plug.if u mean jerking.check ur coil.maybe there is current leak..

original xzos piping come with 2.3" piping.my caar now using 2.2" try to change ur piping.ur xzos how many inch?..try to put big abit.4afe is low presure.4age is hii presure flow....u can try to reset ur vvt.

dear sbirdz, but my car low range really lack response...y? i'm using 2" piping 1 center bullet n straight muffler.

for my fren one. do u mean run 2 center bullet in between?? he's using s-flow muffler.

toy engine characteristic...
FE - low to mid end torque
GE - mid to high end torque
:-)

Hi All,

Thanks for all your help.

During the transplant, i've changed the spark plugs...so i don't think that will be the problem. as for distributor, I'm not sure. So, i'll put this in the list of checking.

My piping is still from the corolla AE101 SEG original piping. The only thing on the exhaust part is just the center bullet and an S-FLOW muffler. According to the mech, he said it could be due to the piping. Anyway, I've tried on my friend's BT when he just got out from the workshop, it was fine. The power from low to high is there.

Well, actually I'm a bit disappointed with this issue. But hopefully I'll be able to solve this soon. I drove BLT b4 on an AE111 SEG and the feeling is so much different. I was with the AE111 since it came out from the workshop till it was modified kau kau....love the feeling. But now i feel differently with my own car.

Today, i've tried again in hi-way...i found out that during the range of 2-3k RPM, the power is so bad. I floor the gas and the car just slowly go from 2 to 3k rpm, then above that, it was fine and fast. I was wondering whether the VVT is ok.

Anyhow, thanks for all ya help. Hope to hear more from others as well. This will help ppl like me to understand more of 4age...

cheers.

1st of all, its very hard to troubleshoot here by just words. If can, give some syntom like the one u mentioned, "farting" which is very usefull clue.

small size pipe will only restrict mid to high band power instead of losing low end so i don't think its ur exht pipping issue. but stock 4aFE pipe size is 1.5"

new plug doesnt means u dun have plug problem. U could be using wrong heat range, plug gap and so.

are you sure the engine is in tip top condition whn i bought it? i suspect more on weak sparking issue instead of pipping. so check is your ignition and spraking system is right.

please check ur regulator.. i just encounter similar trouble with my ride.... Fuel preassure regulator leaks thru the return hose valve causing not enough preassure at the rail....preassure wasnt build up enough but released back to the tank....when u rev up and ur fuel pump relay clicks ,it will pump more causing ur ride turn better....

slowly when it get worst u would stop out of no where in the road without warning and need to be tow back... to double confirm on tis, borrow a fuel preassure gauge from somewhere and check it b4 u suspect any bigger problems..my car farted like urs b4 it break down half way n i spent 2 days to find the problem b4 i manage to find this culprit... u wouldnt wanna know wat i had suspected b4 hand..from injectors to ecu, wirings,ignitor,coil and even changing to new fuel pumps...

gosh ... i spoke alot... do take a peep on how is u FPR going on and let us knw

I found that some bro here even misleading in guiding you to solve the prob, 1st of all you don't need to worry on vacume leak on blacktop engine because it's running on MAP sensor and not AFM. Only engine that run on AFM will have vacume leak prob.
1st of all, please make sure ur engine is in healthy condition, please cheack compression for each of selinders. If it's ok, then proceed to check on distributor timing, set it to 12-13 degree. If it's run at very low ignition timing, your engine will suffer alot and even 4AFE can out perform you engine at low end.
If possible, please get suitable exhaust diameter size. Optimum size is 2.38".

I found that some bro here even misleading in guiding you to solve the prob, 1st of all you don't need to worry on vacume leak on blacktop engine because it's running on MAP sensor and not AFM. Only engine that run on AFM will have vacume leak prob.
1st of all, please make sure ur engine is in healthy condition, please cheack compression for each of selinders. If it's ok, then proceed to check on distributor timing, set it to 12-13 degree. If it's run at very low ignition timing, your engine will suffer alot and even 4AFE can out perform you engine at low end.

chu i agree with u.try check the coil and distributor.maybe ur car already reeeeetat.go abit advance like chu sed.12-13.its already good fro bt engine..

Hi CHU,

Thanks a lot for your tips. Hahaha...i think all the bro here are learning from each other. I really appreciate all ya help. Btw, I did my transplant at Power Speed(ah nga) place. Personally, I think he's quite experience in this 4age engine but anyhow, all comments still welcome. No one is perfect and no offend to anyone ya, chill and cheers.

I'll do according to ya advice. I have myself APEXi N1 full piping but did not installed yet cause of the JPJ inspection. I'll check with my mech on the distributor.

Cheers...

kennix,
just ask ah ngah to advance the distributor timing. he did mine too..but mine was not due to prob like u r facing now.

Hi wfhan,

Thanks for ya advice. I'll check with him. He told me that he had done some setting on the distributor b4 I collected my car. Gotta check with him again.

Hello chek,

wah...when is yours going into ya ae111? Kanasai...you never tell us what's ya monster plan...

try what sifoo EG9 said...
update us on the results...

good luck and all the best...