NewBie To Car Maintanance&Services

Norns

Hi all

I just got my 1st car ..... its a 2nd hand car btw ;)

Im really new to car technical thing n system also ... so i dun really know how to maintenance a car. But i heard from my fren like every certain km i need to service.

I also heard many things like engine oil,black oil,brake oil,stering oil and many many more new words to me .....

Can any expert out there recommend me what is the best way to maintance my car ?? Like wad should i do from time to time and so on .....

Thanks so much and your advice would be greatly appreciated

the first advice is to use 'search' function in this forum and just type everything u need to know.if it not sufficient google.com search function is the best!!!:shades_smile: this what I do most of the time!hehe:_:

Search button is always useful.
Learn more about ur car by visiting the section which is divided into different manufacturers...its always better to learn from people who own and drive the same car as you do.

yess...its not that people here are very bloddy sombong or what ever, but I think you should have sufficient knowledge on the subject before getting urself a ride.
but since you are not that occupied by these things, then it is better to learn more from the similar owners..

anyway, congratulation and gutluc to you. welcome to happy motoring!

err.... vr hard to tell u by words in here la bro...

best u go to a workshop and ask the mech for advice..... besides, ask the mech do full service for ur car and check whether those belts and so on need replacement or not... sure u dont wanna breakdown in the middle of the night....

woot... kena sabur teruk
just take your car to service every 5k u drive
service what u can ask them 1
they sure know it, they will recomand u d proper service for your car according to your millage, but better seek some 1 u know or else kena potong

maybe we shall create "Car Maintenance & Service Tips for newbie" and make it sticky?

to be fair to car newbie like Norns, he don't even know a thing, how to perform effective search?

Norns said:
Im really new to car technical thing n system also ... so i dun really know how to maintenance a car. But i heard from my fren like every certain km i need to service.

I also heard many things like engine oil,black oil,brake oil,stering oil and many many more new words to me .....

Can any expert out there recommend me what is the best way to maintance my car ?? Like wad should i do from time to time and so on .....

Thanks so much and your advice would be greatly appreciated

This is a really long and winding subject. There is an endless list to maintain in the car. Suspension, brakes, engine, bodywork, tires, electronics, transmission, drive shaft, interior, and the list goes on. For the engine oil, i do mine every 5,000-8,000 km's this is quite frequent, as i do it myself. But every 10,000kms should be fine, or as many have said, ask your mechanic.

Keep your brake oil topped up, you never want to be low on that, and powersteering fluid can be changed, but it isn't a neccesity. Remember to change your oil filter when it is needed to be aswell! Don't forget fuel filters, they'll clear up quite a bit.

Simple bits for your outside, is wash your car, give it a wax, keeps the body clean and prevents build up of crap, and it's the best way to know if you have new scratches, chips, or even rust. And check the tire wear and brakes, those are the only tihngs keeping you on the ground.

There's alot more for maintanence in your car, you'll never cover it in one post. Good luck with it.

tq blacksamurai ... really agree with u that we need a complete basic guide for noob. cos some ppl who new to car or some ppl just know to drive only without knowin much :)

thx to all again.

blackmarker very useful tips. engine oil is we can buy and refil our own ? oil filter is wad lai de @@ and wad bout blackoil ?

of cos i'll seek for mekanik also ... but since im new i dunno any mekanik . anyone got know frenly n reliable mekanik around pj area ?

Hi Norns,

Just say u are ladies need help and advice on this....i'm sure 1000 of gentlemen
willing to help and advice in very details. hahaha Joking..

happy driving

wahahaha .... how u know im guy also :p

im girl ler xD

I dun mean to curse u but if u really wan to know then u hope for ur car to spoil more often.
I learnt so much n in fact almost all my knowledge comes from the car spoiling quite often.
Each time each part spoil i will go research n ask around for info n therefore i gain knowledge from there. Same wif studying lor. U dun practice n do more problems u sure cant learn much by the end of the day.

JEJ said:
Just say u are ladies need help and advice on this....i'm sure 1000 of gentlemen

buahahaha
i tell u, this is REALLY effective!!!
no joke!

kher said:
I dun mean to curse u but if u really wan to know then u hope for ur car to spoil more often.
I learnt so much n in fact almost all my knowledge comes from the car spoiling quite often.
Each time each part spoil i will go research n ask around for info n therefore i gain knowledge from there. Same wif studying lor. U dun practice n do more problems u sure cant learn much by the end of the day.
yeap, sad to say but true... learn from mistakes and damages... thats what u will experience and learn.... listen from us here can only give u little information...

but well, maintaining ur car basic stuff such as checking engine oil, water level, battery water and tyre pressure is a must la.... others more detailed stuff, u will learn soon when ur car breaks down...