New Election Of PM??

I'm sorry, but the gov is still paying a big chunk of RM as long as there is a subsidy. If fuel price free float, then you can say the gov is making money.

No one likes to drink chinese medicine, don't you know why?

Generally. Taxes, tolls, local and import vehicle, profit from private sectors...

Let's see how will the big boys will fall this time. Let them fall hard and pain. Even if the fuel price float freely. I don't think there will be any improvement. Corruption! is all in their dirty mind with reduce subsidy, all the money will go into the pockets of those 'you know who'. There's no way, they will care for the average Joe like us. Only those who have relationship with them gets the cake.

Newspaper says that another 100mil is dumped into the transport fund. Let's see whether there will be any upgrade or not.

Got this in my email today.... what you think now about the price inceases...

Date: Fri, Jun 6, 2008 at 8:05 AM
Subject: Some comparisons on fuel and cars and income levels

Today Tenaga stock rose by about MYR1.00. Volume traded in excess of 35 million units. Yesterday Tenaga stock was suspended.

Put these points together.
If you know that an announcement would be made on Wednesday that TNB rates will be revised upwards you would surely buy Tenaga shares on Tuesday.
If you own an investment bank or have sufficient credit line with an Investment Bank you would have bought as much as you could knowing that the price will surely go up.
Since you have to pay within 3 days (T+3 rule), you would have planned to sell on Friday. So you could have bought 1Million Tenaga shares on Tuesday and sold it today for a cool MYR1Million profit without paying any money (perhaps some borrowing costs for 2-3 days).
Of course none of us are privy to the announcement of the fuel hike, but the family of the PM are privy to it.
Of course none of us have a large credit line with an Investment Bank but the family of the PM owns an investment bank.
Why the surprise announcement on 05 June when the PM has said that it would be in August ? Well you can only make a big and quick profit if you control the timings and surprise others.
For those in the know (the powers that be and their cronies) this has been one hugely profitable week buying and shorting the related shares. The poor rakyat had to queue just to fill up their tanks and perhaps save between MYR20-MYR100.

Now read below..... Need those in know of the basic economics of crude, fuel etc to comment.

WHAT IS NEVER MENTIONED IN Mainstream Media like NST/TheStar/Utusan/BH are these facts....

Malaysian PerCapita Income USD 5000
VS
Singaporean PerCapita Income USD 25000

Further The Star made a comparison of prices in Thailand , Singapore and Indonesia .
For Thailand it is quoted at RM3.90/liter, however are they aware that in Thailand new cars are cheaper than Malaysia by RM10,000? They pay only one life time for their driving license? No renewal fee after that? Also that goes for road tax as well? And do TheStar also aware that you can drive all the way from Hadtyai to Bangkok on a six lane highway without paying any Tolls ??!!

Whereas here in Malaysia you have to pay yearly renewal for road tax , driving license and TOLLS, TOLLS, TOLLS!!!

For Singapore how can you quote RM 5.20 ? Please quote in Singapore Dollars because they are earning in Sing Dollars. You might as well say Europeans are paying RM10/liter. RM5.20/liter = Sing $ 2.20/liter, still cheaper than Malaysia in view of fact that Singapore is not a crude oil exporter. Are you saying that you fill up petrol in Singapore by paying Ringgit?

In economy, dollar to dollar must be compared as apple to apple. Not comparing like durian in M'sia is much cheaper than durian in Japan !! Of course-lah, Japan is not durian producer!!! Comparing Malaysian durian with Thailand durian make more sense!!

For Indonesia we might say is cheaper there at RM2.07/liter but compare that to their level of income!

Now, let us compare the price with OIL PRODUCING countries:

UAE – RM1.19/litre
Eygpt – RM1.03/litre
Bahrain – RM0.87/litre
Qatar – RM0.68/litre
Kuwait – RM0.67/litre
Saudi Arabia – RM0.38/litre
Iran – RM0.35/litre
Nigeria – RM0.32/litre
Turkmenistan – RM0.25/litre
Venezuela – RM0.16/litre
MALAYSIA – RM2.70/litre

RM 2.70!!! Individual perspective:

As of last month a Toyota Vios would 'cause a damage' of about RM 89,000.
In the international market, a Toyota Vios is about USD 19,000
USD 19,000 = RM 62,700 (using the indicative rates of USD 1 = RM 3.30)
That makes Malaysian Vios owners pay an extra RM 26,300.

This RM 26,300 should be cost of operations, profit and tax because the transportation costs have been factored in to the USD 19,000.

RM 26,300/ RM625 petrol rebate per year translates to a Vios being used for 42.08 years.

I do understand that the RM 625 is a rebate given by the government, but it also means that one has to use the Vios for 42.08 years just to make back the amount paid in taxes for the usage of a foreign car. Would anyone use any kind of car for that long?

Now with these numbers in front of us, does the subsidy sound like a subsidy or does it sound like a penalty? This just seems to be a heavy increment in our daily cost of living as we are not only charged with high car taxes but also with a drastic increase in fuel price.

With all the numbers listed out, I urge all Malaysians to join me in analyzing the situation further.

Car taxation is government profit, fuel sales is Petronas' (GLC) profit which also translates into government profit. The government may ridicule us Malaysians by saying look at the world market and fuel price world wide. Please, we are Malaysians, we fought of the British, had a international port in the early centuries (Malacca), home to a racially mixed nation and WE ARE NOT STUPID!!!

We know the international rates are above the USD 130/barrel. We understand the fact that the fuel prices are increasing worldwide and we also know that major scientist are still contradicting on why this phenomenon is happening. Some blame Bush and his plunders around the world and some blame climate change and there are others which say petroleum 'wells' are getting scarce.

Again we go back to numbers to be more straight fwd

1 barrel = 159 liters x RM2.70/liter = RM 429 or USD 134

On 1 hand, we are paying the full cost of 1 barrel of crude oil with RM2.70 per liter but on the other hand the crude oil only produces 46% of fuel.

Msia sells crude oil per barrel at USD130 buys back Fuel per barrel at USD134. And not forgetting, every barrel of fuel is produced with 2 barrels of crude oil.

1 barrel crude oil = produce 46% fuel (or half of crude oil), therefore
2 barrel crude oil = approximately 1 barrel fuel
In other words, each time we sell 2 barrels of crude oil, equivalently we will buy back 1 barrel of fuel.

Financially,
Malaysia sell 2 barrel crude oil @ USD 130/barrel = USD 260 = RM 858
then, Malaysia will buy back fuel @ USD 134/barrel = RM 442/barrel
Thus, Malaysia earn net extra USD 126 = RM 416 for each 2 barrel of crude sold/exported vs imported 1 barrel of fuel !!!
(USD 260-134 = USD 126 = RM416)

So where this extra USD 126/barrel income is channeled to by Malaysian Govt?????????

Another analysis:

1 barrel crude oil = 159 liters.
46-47% of a barrel of crude oil = fuel that we use in our vehicles.
46% of 159 = 73.14 liters.
@ RM 2.70/liter x 73.14 liter = RM197.48 of fuel per barrel of crude oil. This is only 46% of the barrel, mind you. Using RM 3.30 = USD 1, we get that a barrel of crude oil produces USD 59.84 worth of petrol fuel (46% of 1barrel).
USD 59.84 of USD 130/barrel turns out to be 46% of a barrel as well.

Another 54% = bitumen, kerosene, and natural gases and so many more.
And this makes a balance of USD 70.16 that has not been accounted for.

So this is where I got curious. Where is the subsidy if we are paying 46% of the price of a barrel of crude oil when the production of petrol/barrel of crude oil is still only 46%?

In actual fact, we still pay for this as they are charged in the forms of fuel surcharge by airlines and road taxes for the building of road (because they use the tar/bitumen) and many more excuse charging us but let us just leave all that out of our calculations.

As far as I know, only the politicians who live in Putrajaya and come for their Parliament meetings in Kuala Lumpur (approximately 60+ km) are the ones to gain as they claim their fuel and toll charges from the money of the RAKYAT's TAX.

It is so disappointing to see this happen time and time again to the Malaysian public, where they are deceived by the propaganda held by the politicians and the controls they have over the press.

Which stupid idiot economist equates rebates for rich or poor with the cc of the vehicles? An average office clerk may own a second hand 1300cc proton Iswara costing $7,000 (rebate = $625) while the Datuk's children can own a fleet of 10 new cars of BMW, Audi and Volvo all less than 2000cc costing $2 millions and get a total rebate of $625 x 10 = $6,250! Wow what kind of economists we are keeping in Malaysia ...wonder which phD certificate that they bought from...

Misleading concept of Subsidy:

The word "subsidy" has been brandished by the BN government as if it has so generously helped the rakyat and in doing so incurred losses. This simple example will help to explain the fallacy:

Example:
Ahmad is a fisherman. He sells a fish to you at $10 which is below the market value of $15. Let's assume that he caught the fish from the abundance of the sea at little or no cost. Ahmad claims that since the market value of the fish is $15 and he sold you the fish for $10, he had subsidised you $5 and therefore made a loss of $5.

Question : Did Ahmad actually make a profit of $10 or loss of $5 which he claimed is the subsidy?

Answer:
Ahmad makes a profit of $10 which is the difference of the selling price ($10) minus the cost price ($0 since the fish was caught from the abundance of the sea). There is no subsidy as claimed by Ahmad.

The BN government claims that it is a subsidy because the oil is kept and treated as somebody else's property (you know who). By right, the oil belongs to all citizens of the country and the government is a trustee for the citizens. So as in the above simple example, the BN government cannot claim that it has subsidised the citizen!

wat i meant is not bout the oil price profits..about others too...

Besides the profit, you may also need to know about the commitment, especially the gov servant volume. You just can't say fire 5% and ask them to eat themselves. Also the businessmen who live with the gov contracts. The money is channeling from top to the bottom. Not to forget, from the time you wake up till the time you sleep, please count how many things had been subsidized or being suppress way below the standard international market price.

End of everything, the question will go back to the root, that, to make a chicken 1st, or to make an egg 1st. If we increase the people income, then will lead to a major inflation (because the advertising technologies is so perfect) and problems will still remain. The recent gov servants pay raises had proven. If we let the market free flow, no doubt will suffer at the beginning, but the market demand (the invisible hand) will balance it up later. A healthier economy environment will be formed.

So, how the gov use the money is not that important, compare to letting the system to be back to a healthy condition. But I guess most people who doesn't have any confidence toward themselves will over react and feel like the end of the world is gonna be on tomorrow noon. Anwar likes this, cause can manipulate more people to support and achieve his PM dream. What pak lah is doing now should be done when on his 1st term. Although was late, but better than nothing. Because this is what suppose to be at the beginning. Most people grew up in the TDM era and can't differentiate the real world anymore, like the tiger born in a zoo theory.

Most people still continue release their tension towards the gov after the election. Until can't pull themselves off from there to face the reality. No one will sit down, revise what actually happen and how the future gonna be. Some even refuse to accept the good things that the current gov did, like the reformation of the law system, economy system, and etc. Almost everyone only put their own wallet in front of everything. Anything that related on reducing the subsidies will become like the gov trying to pull a lion's misai. After that, count the pass decades' failures to support their thought. But no one would like to let the gov to work out something peacefully. Just like a boss keep on bitching.

Wake up. The election had passed. We need to focus on the coming 4 years (minimum). Not the past nor tomorrow's supper. We know no one will save the water, as it is cheap. Making the water cheaper no doubt can please the majority. But when the population continue to grow, the source will become insufficient 1 day. If through education will ever works, plenty of countries in the world will not charge the water price so high. How far you can see, only you can say.

Got this in my email today.... what you think now about the price inceases...

Date: Fri, Jun 6, 2008 at 8:05 AM
Subject: Some comparisons on fuel and cars and income levels

Today Tenaga stock rose by about MYR1.00. Volume traded in excess of 35 million units. Yesterday Tenaga stock was suspended.

Put these points together.
If you know that an announcement would be made on Wednesday that TNB rates will be revised upwards you would surely buy Tenaga shares on Tuesday.
If you own an investment bank or have sufficient credit line with an Investment Bank you would have bought as much as you could knowing that the price will surely go up.
Since you have to pay within 3 days (T+3 rule), you would have planned to sell on Friday. So you could have bought 1Million Tenaga shares on Tuesday and sold it today for a cool MYR1Million profit without paying any money (perhaps some borrowing costs for 2-3 days).
Of course none of us are privy to the announcement of the fuel hike, but the family of the PM are privy to it.
Of course none of us have a large credit line with an Investment Bank but the family of the PM owns an investment bank.
Why the surprise announcement on 05 June when the PM has said that it would be in August ? Well you can only make a big and quick profit if you control the timings and surprise others.
For those in the know (the powers that be and their cronies) this has been one hugely profitable week buying and shorting the related shares. The poor rakyat had to queue just to fill up their tanks and perhaps save between MYR20-MYR100.

Now read below..... Need those in know of the basic economics of crude, fuel etc to comment.

WHAT IS NEVER MENTIONED IN Mainstream Media like NST/TheStar/Utusan/BH are these facts....

Malaysian PerCapita Income USD 5000
VS
Singaporean PerCapita Income USD 25000

Further The Star made a comparison of prices in Thailand , Singapore and Indonesia .
For Thailand it is quoted at RM3.90/liter, however are they aware that in Thailand new cars are cheaper than Malaysia by RM10,000? They pay only one life time for their driving license? No renewal fee after that? Also that goes for road tax as well? And do TheStar also aware that you can drive all the way from Hadtyai to Bangkok on a six lane highway without paying any Tolls ??!!

Whereas here in Malaysia you have to pay yearly renewal for road tax , driving license and TOLLS, TOLLS, TOLLS!!!

For Singapore how can you quote RM 5.20 ? Please quote in Singapore Dollars because they are earning in Sing Dollars. You might as well say Europeans are paying RM10/liter. RM5.20/liter = Sing $ 2.20/liter, still cheaper than Malaysia in view of fact that Singapore is not a crude oil exporter. Are you saying that you fill up petrol in Singapore by paying Ringgit?

In economy, dollar to dollar must be compared as apple to apple. Not comparing like durian in M'sia is much cheaper than durian in Japan !! Of course-lah, Japan is not durian producer!!! Comparing Malaysian durian with Thailand durian make more sense!!

For Indonesia we might say is cheaper there at RM2.07/liter but compare that to their level of income!

Now, let us compare the price with OIL PRODUCING countries:

UAE – RM1.19/litre
Eygpt – RM1.03/litre
Bahrain – RM0.87/litre
Qatar – RM0.68/litre
Kuwait – RM0.67/litre
Saudi Arabia – RM0.38/litre
Iran – RM0.35/litre
Nigeria – RM0.32/litre
Turkmenistan – RM0.25/litre
Venezuela – RM0.16/litre
MALAYSIA – RM2.70/litre

RM 2.70!!! Individual perspective:

As of last month a Toyota Vios would 'cause a damage' of about RM 89,000.
In the international market, a Toyota Vios is about USD 19,000
USD 19,000 = RM 62,700 (using the indicative rates of USD 1 = RM 3.30)
That makes Malaysian Vios owners pay an extra RM 26,300.

This RM 26,300 should be cost of operations, profit and tax because the transportation costs have been factored in to the USD 19,000.

RM 26,300/ RM625 petrol rebate per year translates to a Vios being used for 42.08 years.

I do understand that the RM 625 is a rebate given by the government, but it also means that one has to use the Vios for 42.08 years just to make back the amount paid in taxes for the usage of a foreign car. Would anyone use any kind of car for that long?

Now with these numbers in front of us, does the subsidy sound like a subsidy or does it sound like a penalty? This just seems to be a heavy increment in our daily cost of living as we are not only charged with high car taxes but also with a drastic increase in fuel price.

With all the numbers listed out, I urge all Malaysians to join me in analyzing the situation further.

Car taxation is government profit, fuel sales is Petronas' (GLC) profit which also translates into government profit. The government may ridicule us Malaysians by saying look at the world market and fuel price world wide. Please, we are Malaysians, we fought of the British, had a international port in the early centuries (Malacca), home to a racially mixed nation and WE ARE NOT STUPID!!!

We know the international rates are above the USD 130/barrel. We understand the fact that the fuel prices are increasing worldwide and we also know that major scientist are still contradicting on why this phenomenon is happening. Some blame Bush and his plunders around the world and some blame climate change and there are others which say petroleum 'wells' are getting scarce.

Again we go back to numbers to be more straight fwd

1 barrel = 159 liters x RM2.70/liter = RM 429 or USD 134

On 1 hand, we are paying the full cost of 1 barrel of crude oil with RM2.70 per liter but on the other hand the crude oil only produces 46% of fuel.

Msia sells crude oil per barrel at USD130 buys back Fuel per barrel at USD134. And not forgetting, every barrel of fuel is produced with 2 barrels of crude oil.

1 barrel crude oil = produce 46% fuel (or half of crude oil), therefore
2 barrel crude oil = approximately 1 barrel fuel
In other words, each time we sell 2 barrels of crude oil, equivalently we will buy back 1 barrel of fuel.

Financially,
Malaysia sell 2 barrel crude oil @ USD 130/barrel = USD 260 = RM 858
then, Malaysia will buy back fuel @ USD 134/barrel = RM 442/barrel
Thus, Malaysia earn net extra USD 126 = RM 416 for each 2 barrel of crude sold/exported vs imported 1 barrel of fuel !!!
(USD 260-134 = USD 126 = RM416)

So where this extra USD 126/barrel income is channeled to by Malaysian Govt?????????

Another analysis:

1 barrel crude oil = 159 liters.
46-47% of a barrel of crude oil = fuel that we use in our vehicles.
46% of 159 = 73.14 liters.
@ RM 2.70/liter x 73.14 liter = RM197.48 of fuel per barrel of crude oil. This is only 46% of the barrel, mind you. Using RM 3.30 = USD 1, we get that a barrel of crude oil produces USD 59.84 worth of petrol fuel (46% of 1barrel).
USD 59.84 of USD 130/barrel turns out to be 46% of a barrel as well.

Another 54% = bitumen, kerosene, and natural gases and so many more.
And this makes a balance of USD 70.16 that has not been accounted for.

So this is where I got curious. Where is the subsidy if we are paying 46% of the price of a barrel of crude oil when the production of petrol/barrel of crude oil is still only 46%?

In actual fact, we still pay for this as they are charged in the forms of fuel surcharge by airlines and road taxes for the building of road (because they use the tar/bitumen) and many more excuse charging us but let us just leave all that out of our calculations.

As far as I know, only the politicians who live in Putrajaya and come for their Parliament meetings in Kuala Lumpur (approximately 60+ km) are the ones to gain as they claim their fuel and toll charges from the money of the RAKYAT's TAX.

It is so disappointing to see this happen time and time again to the Malaysian public, where they are deceived by the propaganda held by the politicians and the controls they have over the press.

Which stupid idiot economist equates rebates for rich or poor with the cc of the vehicles? An average office clerk may own a second hand 1300cc proton Iswara costing $7,000 (rebate = $625) while the Datuk's children can own a fleet of 10 new cars of BMW, Audi and Volvo all less than 2000cc costing $2 millions and get a total rebate of $625 x 10 = $6,250! Wow what kind of economists we are keeping in Malaysia ...wonder which phD certificate that they bought from...

Misleading concept of Subsidy:

The word "subsidy" has been brandished by the BN government as if it has so generously helped the rakyat and in doing so incurred losses. This simple example will help to explain the fallacy:

Example:
Ahmad is a fisherman. He sells a fish to you at $10 which is below the market value of $15. Let's assume that he caught the fish from the abundance of the sea at little or no cost. Ahmad claims that since the market value of the fish is $15 and he sold you the fish for $10, he had subsidised you $5 and therefore made a loss of $5.

Question : Did Ahmad actually make a profit of $10 or loss of $5 which he claimed is the subsidy?

Answer:
Ahmad makes a profit of $10 which is the difference of the selling price ($10) minus the cost price ($0 since the fish was caught from the abundance of the sea). There is no subsidy as claimed by Ahmad.

The BN government claims that it is a subsidy because the oil is kept and treated as somebody else's property (you know who). By right, the oil belongs to all citizens of the country and the government is a trustee for the citizens. So as in the above simple example, the BN government cannot claim that it has subsidised the citizen!

If the writer is not attempt to mislead people, then he must be a very generous mathematics master who full time work for free.

Again, I don't know for how many times already, I just wanna ask the writers or poster, why Russia fuel price at the pumps is R$28/L (RM4/L) when it already surpass Arabs and become the world's biggest oil production country (Russia is not in OPEC)? How much is the fuel price in America, Europe and etc?

About the oil volume that those cheap fuel price country produce vs their local consumptions, I have no clue and please find out yourselves. I just know Malaysia consume a lot of oil for cars, electricity, industrial and etc, but its output is far from near compare to Iran, Kuwait, Arab and etc. Go figure out yourselves. If die die also wanna put something on people's head to make him uglier than you, then I have nothing to say more.

Nevertheless, but increased RM0.78 cents is too much. From the article, why imported car sold almost 2x from world market price? And where the heck the money go? Pls, read the article wisely with open minded... What about the comparison with Thailand, Singapore?

http://www.malaysiakini.com/doc/rpk_against_rosmah.php

if you can't see anything click here: http://www.malaysiakini.com/doc/rpk_against_rosmah.php

Our government is amazing, enjoy the latest twist! :biggrin:
Someone kindly answer what is going on? should I still believe our "amazing government" yang serba-boleh! :biggrin:

A very simple thing, if car selling cheap, what will happen? Everyone buy cars. Then need more roads. Then the oil drain even faster. At the same time, public transport, motorbike factory will die and in future people will be more hopeless than now, because don't even know what is public transport. Look at what happen now, car price expensive? If car price expensive, then the 3-4 lanes highway won't have traffic jam. Of cause, no one can deny the past financial planning was like sht. Just keep on patching the loop holes but also creating new problems. We definitely need a economy and social restructuring. Out of so many ideas, I think letting the fuel price raise and force the market demand to control over the price, will be better than suppress the price and wait for the great doom day to come. From my point of view, regardless the gov does or doesn't involved with corruptions/misused country resource, they should never over subsidized ALL rakyat. Yes, RM0.78/L is pain. But the target is free float. Although it will effect not only rakyat, but also foreign investors. This will force the local people/company to learn faster and have less dependent on other people in order to survive. We are lucky enough to have oil in the country. Why wanna burn it just like that in stead of sell it for money and use the resource to improve the country? If white elephant project pissed you off, why not go to SME bank and start your 1st step to upgrade and take over those WEP in the future and turn them into a profitable project? Look at perwaja history and see what happen now. This will explain a lot of thing, including how to stop the corruptions without creating chaos in the lower level, cause putting 'some people' to jail will involve with many things and plenty of innocent people will indirectly effected. As the pipe water start drying, that's why so many 'upper level' people try to kill Pak Lah. And most 'lower level people' believe all rumors as long as talk bad about BN, without even care if it is true.

Sometimes, to get a thing done, doesn't need to put in a high profile. Get it done quietly may be better. If everything need to purposely 'make people knows', then, it is not doing it sincerely. Example like giving money or goods to poor people, no need to ask the newspapers to advertise big big for the whole week then sometimes drag it back again.

You got your point in certain thing. But its not that simple. What i meant is, remove all petrol subsidies, we pay world market value for it. But we also may want to pay for world market of cars too, surely. Yes, everyone could afford of owning a car, a nice ride, even the poor or students. But, with RM4.xx of per litre petrol, i dont think we need more road, the public transport and motorbike manufacturer can die. Even the oil can remain drain as recently, might be a bit more or less.

I doubt if someone say the $$$ we pay for car price generates economy. What else did G want, every private company profits got taxed, every worker in Malaysia also got taxed, some more, even scrap got taxed, and not to forget, cigarettes. Think of both parties. There will be no prob for the rich, for high grade of G officer (G pay everything for them). It is a big impact on the poor and the middle class. Atleast, the poor got few benefits, they can buy a low cost house and etc (i bet you know better). But what about the middle class party. They earn less than the rich, but have to pay same as them...

Csl, wat ur comments r ONLY asking ppl to b independent & don't always asking help from the govt. Ur ideas some may accept & some may NOT. To thos who paid HIGH taxes (i.e income tax, service tax, govt tax, road tax, etc) every year, v r paying their SALARY u know. Tis bunch of monkeys misused our hard earn $$ & making themselves rich. Big houses & cars, paid overseas trip, etc. If we, as Msians DID NOT pay any tax, all ur comments is acceptable.

Did the current govt doin a good job now AFTER v do our part to feed them?? An easy issues here is our crime rates. Just look!! Wat can the police do except catching small time thieves? Or asking citizens for duit kopi??

csl, I have to disagree with you about the cheaper car subject. If you say cars are cheap than a lot of people will buy cars. That is your point of view, did you thought about the maintenance part as well? Yes, car can be cheap but it doesn't mean it will be cheap to maintain too. Like here in Japan, for Rm150,000 you can get a Toyota Alphard but you have to rent a parking space and servicing charges is not cheap too. If you are talking about traffic jam. Tokyo here has less jams then KL does (but they have more cars & even more people then in Malaysia) and even with cheap car price majority of the Japanese still uses the subway and buses. I think what best is to limit the numbers of cars on the road. Just like what the SG are doing. cars for weekend use only have different plates , cars for daily use another different plate and cars for night use only...etc.
It's just how smart the G have to be to come up with a system like this. Just like the Japanese.

Here all cincai cincai attitude, besok besok attitude, tak apa tak apa attitude....sure die loh....:thefinger:

Kononnya, go to other countries for 'lawatan sambil belajar'. What did they learn? If they really learn from other countries then our country should be more advanced instead of moving backwards with all those silly laws & regulations which becomes the laughing stock for other countries.

YES, i would agree with TITANREV,

SG or JAPAN have much more cars den others country, JAPAN is even CAR makers country. But the G is very smart to control all over. Yet the public transport still the most advance. U may say these 2 countries did scrap car or re-con those over 5 years car to others country, but the G never force the ppl to scrap it. They raise the insurance for those over 5 years car and limit them to highway and MUST go for inspection yearly.
Malaysia cant do like that just bcoz of proton, but since they can put those pain for ppl, y not 1 time settlement on proton itself? They once have a good chance for it, but they screw it up at the end.

Since our G is rich enough for those white elephant project, i dun understand y our G cant manage to handle our TOLL facilities. Y must giv it to 3rd party to handle? If ever since starting, the PLUS is not under private
company, we dun have to NEGO with them today for the TOLL price.
The TNB is making money but G privatise it.
The Telekom, Water, all the same.
Have u seen SG gov how to manage? All these company under control by GOV, even the 4D, soccer bet also under GOV. They can make them listed in Stock Exchange and make every body is happy with it.

These all is about politics and own pocket.

Aiyo, end of the day, still use the high price/cost to control the people and indirectly make public transport to become the main transport . Only different is the cost is in different area. Of cause, I will prefer more on cheap car price and pay the money on other place, make it like what you use, what you pay. But look at Malaysia, you and me also know this will not happen. Wanna lower the car tax for 5% also got million people stand up to say no, what can we expect? That is not even raise any other thing yet. That's why, I still prefer to raise the fuel price. Create inflation which based on something that will effect everything, mess the market up and let things settle naturally. BTW, the high car price cannot hold to long as the afta is waiting. It may be delay but will definitely happen.

The best way is to fix a fuel subsidy amount, like RM1/L, and let the fuel price free float. I guess 1 of the reason the gov don't do that because wanna create a more stable environment for the rakyat and businessmen/investors.

Today, bank employees start to have their pay revised. Last month, lorry drivers' raised. Other sectors may had done or will follow soon.

Najib said wanna bring in nuclear power for electricity. The future electricity cost will be more stable but only if no nuclear explosion :D

The main problem is we have to settle down with our political disputes, the current political problems are harming our economy and the worse is the global economy is going down.

That's why I very upset when see some people don't respect the election result and try to deny it. The worst thing is most Rakyats' mind are still in the pre-election period after effected by some people's talk or forwarded mails/rumors. When we concentrating to complaint all sort of things, we had already lost our direction of finding a better life. The time spent for attending those political talks/gathering/celebrating, demonstrations/riots, and etc, can easily make a few tanks of fuel if use for doing part time job.

For those cases that using children to achieve their political target, no need to talk much. Intentionally no different than those terrorist who brain wash innocent people to carry bomb for them.

My form 2 teacher used to tell me to think positively. Those days I don't know wtf is that. But after left the school for more than a decade, I start to know how important is it. More important than a piece of graduation paper for sure.

Pull down Pak Lah will not solve any problem. The out come will be only 2, where, continue the TDM's route of continuing creating artificial environment and drag till nothing left to be given out and use the IMF facility. Or, use a more aggressive way, which make those people who said they are half dying, will really die in no time.

Someone said don't wanna stay in the big house due to save gov money (created a scenario that the ex-gov really left the state with nothing). But after diverted people with some sweets, still move in. I guess no need to say more. You had learn an important lesson regarding politics.

Pulling him down will not solve any prob. But with he stay, thing becomes worst.

csl,
Disclaimer: Sorry for sounding rude, if you feel it's rude and offensive.
So... basically, you're giving me this impression:
The govt has been making mostly right decisions (or maybe mostly the wrong ones), and whatever they have done all this while, should just be left to them to continue doing what they (the govt) think is right for the country, even if it requires them (the govt) to ignore whatever the citizens say? You give me the impression that we, the citizens, should just shut up from our complaints and use the time to find ways to live with the govt's bullshit and try to improve our lives based on whatever bullshit the govt gives us.
In a short summarized conclusion, whatever your replies, it just gives me the idea that...
"learn to live with whatever shit you get in malaysia, or move to a place with less shit"
Sorry I had to sound like that, dude, but almost all your posts says that we should just adapt to the shit the govt gives us. Yeah, we can do that and we've probably been doing that for years, which is why I still hold on to my believe that the govt will continue to cheat the citizens because they know we will adapt. And this is one reason why the country stays behind. The many citizens who bitch about the state of the country (be it petrol price issues, economical issues, increasing cost of living issues, etc.) are probably those who almost see no more potential future in their lives, or their family's lives. And you seem to say that we should change the way we live our lives to 'adjust' to the govt's shitty decisions because we have no choice. Yet, the govt continues to live happily ever after without worrying about their lives, their family's lives, and all their relative's lives, simply because they continue to suck money from the citizens. Being the govt, they should be the one who should be doing the sacrificing for the better of the country and the better of the citizen's lives. Then following that, only will the citizens start to make certain sacrifices in areas where the govt could no longer sacrifice for the country and the citizens. I don't know about you but if I was the country ruler, that's what I'd do.

Write your reply...