An Open Letter to Pak Lah, from theSun

invisibleghost

Mar 19, 2005
An open letter to the PM
Jacqueline Ann Surin

Dear Prime Minister Abdullah, When you first came into power after the 2004 general election, you promised us that you would be prime minister for all Malaysians.

In fact, I still have the letter you sent out to voters before the elections that promised you would fulfill your duties with sincerity, integrity, efficiency and fairness.

It was a letter that moved people, including staunch Opposition supporters.

There was hope that a new leadership which was more conciliatory, more willing to listen to differing views and more just was in store for the country.

And people invested in that hope by voting the Barisan Nasional back into power with a clear majority.

But recent events, including your administration's reactions to these events, have been deeply troubling.

The most recent has been the disruption of a peaceful and legitimate public forum in Penang organised by a group of non-governmental organisations that wanted to help people reclaim their rights under the Federal Constitution.

It was unfortunate, but really no longer inconceivable, that those who opposed such a civil discussion should frame their opposition in ways that incite hostility, threaten violence and make false accusations in the name of Islam, a religion that in fact promotes peace and justice.

What is actually more troubling is that as prime minister, you have also publicly announced that these issues of Constitutional rights are "sensitive" and the organisers of such events must be careful not to tread on "dangerous ground", lest the government has to use the Sedition Act against them.

Why would you lend legitimacy to the argument that Malaysians should steer clear of discussing issues which affect us all as citizens, whether Muslim or non-Muslim?

By continuously telling Malaysians these issues are "sensitive" and "dangerous", isn't your administration really creating a self-fulfilling prophecy? Aren't you in fact supporting the argument that these issues should not be discussed?

Additionally, Malaysians have been reminded by Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz that it's not for no reason that the word "amok" comes from the Malay community.

Non-Muslims - and that easily translates to non-Malays in this country - are told we cannot speak out about the way Islam is used to formulate laws and public policies in this country even though they affect all of us.

We are told that not just the Sedition Act can be used, so can the Internal Security Act which allows for detention without trial.

In fact, I found it deeply paradoxical that Nazri could repeat the threat of the ISA at an international meeting of experts on Islam and human rights last month.

How can an unjust law be Islamic? We know it cannot, and yet, it would seem your administration is wielding it as a way to silence citizens in a democracy.

The way I see it, naming something "sensitive" and "dangerous" is just a disingenuous way of saying, "This is not open for dialogue and discussion. We might tolerate your views but only to a certain extent."

What that extent is, is left to be seen. We hope your election promises will be kept for all Malaysians, but really, many of us are more fearful than reassured.

From a non-Muslim perspective, the events leading up to the need for public discussions such as the Article 11 forum in Penang, have been disconcerting and troubling.

The painful injustice suffered by S. Shamala who found that her estranged husband could unilaterally convert their children to Islam, and the widow of M. Moorthy who discovered she could not bury her husband according to Hindu rights, are real and frightening.

But those instances of injustice are not being framed as "sensitive" by non-Muslims. They are not being used to threaten violence or incite hostility in order to silence discussion of the issues at hand.

Additionally, when you upheld the decision for the tudung to be used in police parades, did you consider how it would make non-Muslims feel? How can it still be a surprise then that most non-Malays will not join the police force?

Really, I don't need to be a Muslim or a Malay to have a stake in this country. But even that might be delegitimised because in more ways than one, I'm a minority.

And I'm constantly reminded that my views and concerns must give way to the privileges and rights of the dominant race, and a specific interpretation of the faith they profess.

But really what I want to ask you is this: Why do I have to constantly feel afraid in my own country? Why am I continuously told I have less rights to discuss important issues affecting my community?

You promised to be prime minister for all Malaysians. We hope you will remember that promise.

A Malaysian citizen.

http://sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=14290

links

May 26, 2004
we are afghanistanising......the gomen are talibanise....... corruption will turn a good man into evil....

eg595

Nov 1, 2006
I think this will lead to racism issues ...... just my 2 cents

adyzul

Oct 6, 2005
Well....at least The Sun got the courage to print it. Hopefully The Sun don't get closed down.

Another matter of hiding the truth is the Mogolian Model murder case. Geezzz.....

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
I SWEAR IT WILL BE MAJOR BULLSHIT IF THE SUN GETS CLOSED DOWN.. wtf . She spoke her mind and MANY MALAYSIAN'S MIND ... The government and badawi better god damn listen to this shit and WAKE UP motherfuckers.

Kudos to The Sun for printing and letting this letter out and be read.

Goodness, Jacqueline Ann Surin , real name or not , i support you!!!

The way I see it, naming something "sensitive" and "dangerous" is just a disingenuous way of saying, "This is not open for dialogue and discussion. We might tolerate your views but only to a certain extent."
I LOVE this part. I fully agree with her man totally.. Lol , i can already imagine V speaking those words ...

links

May 26, 2004
before sun gets close down..this thread will get closed first...."sensitive" and "dangerous" did existing here....

links

May 26, 2004
adyzul said:
Another matter of hiding the truth is the Mogolian Model murder case. Geezzz.....

perhaps they will say that model is a spy for genghiskhan who are plotting for a mongolian invasion....so the man discover the true identity of the spy..so he followed this gal to check whether she got any more gang member in the town...but then halfway the gal kena kidnapped by the artic avenger and planted with a C4 bomb.....

Actually he was trying to defuse the bomb to save the girl...but then he didnt carry the defuse kit so the bomb blew..and then he heard the sound..."terrorist win"......

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
links,

you sure about that?...there is so many cerita behind it la..dunno what is true and what is not true...the cerita you said sounds like ' mission imposible' or another james bond 007 , gengkishkan invasions.

malaySIAL.....booooooooo..leh

infernaL

May 22, 2005
N/A
alantan : all the people who dress sexy sexy already outta there .

props for thesun for posting it but the thing is with msian we talk the talk , but dont walk the walk .

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
i'm just cuirious of this matter...as that PAS beardy guy if he has done anything sexual (will insult islam)..or let just say..if i throw a porn magazine will he take a peep?...

interesting eh

disclaimer :no offence to muslim..just commenting about the discussed topic and no further more

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
The article is well written..again..i think instead of getting emotional and spewing it out by attacking individuals will not solve the problem.
What the article says is correct..that in Islam, it promotes justice and peace.
The conclusion i draw from this is that until and unless all MALAYSIANS are treated as equal citizens regardless of thier race or religion...no progress in terms of understanding will be made...

PS: I am not a malaysian...and i have been observing for the past few years...that there seems to be friction between all the different races...
Again..all matters should be openly discussed...as the article says..

On another Note: The amount of rights that the different races get in Malaysia..is quite a lot when compared to other countries...At first i was impressed that Malaysia has Chinese and Indian Ministers in the Govt...
Let me remind you that the place i come from this does not happen...when one is a minority in a country..one will always feel intimidated...BUT As muslims the govt should show that Muslims treat others with integrity and equality...
I say this as i have read books on Islamic empires..and how they treated thier civilians..

I hope all of you have the guts to discuss in this thread..as this will not be solved by calling each other names

links

May 26, 2004
Not we no guts to discuss this kind of topic here..just when our balls get big..the moderator will take a knife and chop it down...so the thread will be closed.....

but if the moderator also let our balls go big..then maybe next thing u see is Tom need to flee to singapore to hide already...

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
links said:
but if the moderator also let our balls go big..then maybe next thing u see is Tom need to flee to singapore to hide already...
and so i wonder, why would Tom need to flee anywhere?

links

May 26, 2004
if he allow his website to tok about those "sensitive" or "dangerous" issue...do you think the gomen will be happy??

:)

eg595

Nov 1, 2006
I would say that every race in Malaysia have their own ways of protecting their interest. Don't tell me that this ain't happening . Its just that when sometimes an issue gets coverage by the media , its blown up to such proportion then everyone will start thinking that their rights is being discriminated.

I'm not taking any side nor am I pro government people whatsoever but from my opinion , people will face discrimination unless you're at the top of the " food chain ".

If you can remember during Anwar's ' REVOLUTION " back in the 98 , you would see people of the same race going against each other .

Even now in the private sector , when companies post for vacancies or looking for workers , such requirement as able to converse in certain " language " is prerequisite but you don't see the parliament debating against this issue nor did you see instructions coming from the govt to dispose of this requirements. Why , because that is their rights.

No offense here to anyone . Just my opinion and I do respect others opinion too cause opinions are never wrong ....just my 2 cents

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
I didn't even bother to read all of it. Just about a quarter of it and all I'll say is, remove some muslims from the govt and other races have a part in decision making for the nation.

Now hold on just a minute for those who are outraged by my comment. That was just a mere general opinion and if any one of you think that statement is sensitive and should not be said in open, or you feel like it's a racist remark, of whatever, the I'll say this to you....

Please clean your narrow and utterly discriminating mind before even reacting to my post, or any other posts that touches on "sensitive" issues simply because, it's sensitive to you but not other people.

Peace out or piss off.