An Open Letter to Pak Lah, from theSun

An article that i found from the European News Paper.
here is the link to the site

http://www.iht.com/articles/2006/12/13/news/malay.php

and another link regarding that the Indonesian Chinese is gaining their civil rights as well as given the right to preserve thier culture.

http://www.iht.com/articles/2006/12/13/news/chinese.php
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Indonesia and Malaysia have much in common: language; a border that slices across Borneo; overlapping ethnic groups. But the two countries are moving in opposite directions on the fundamental question of what it means to be a "native."

With a new citizenship law passed this year, Indonesia has redefined "indigenous" to include its ethnic Chinese population — a radical shift from centuries of policies, both during colonial times and after independence in the 1940s, that distinguished between natives and Indonesia's Chinese, Indians and Arabs.

Malaysia, meanwhile, is sticking to its longstanding policy that Malay Muslims, the largest ethnic group in the country, are "bumiputras," or sons of the soil, who have special rights above and beyond those of the country's Chinese and Indian minorities.

Maintaining this controversial policy has led to what one commentator calls a retribalization of Malaysian politics, with rising assertiveness on the part of the country's Malay Muslims — who constitute about 65 percent of the population — and a push back by the Chinese and Indians, who make up about 26 percent and 8 percent, respectively.

The Malaysian prime minister, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, warned last week that race relations had become "brittle."

We must eliminate all negative feelings toward each other," he was quoted in the Star newspaper as saying.

Both Indonesia and Malaysia have suffered race riots in recent decades. Indonesia's were much bloodier and more far-flung. Yet today, ethnic tensions are more likely to make headlines in Malaysia than Indonesia.

Malaysia's Chinese community was angered by the recent demolition of a Taoist temple in Penang. Both Muslims and non-Muslims are upset about a series of disputes over whether Shariah or secular law should take precedence.

And a nationally televised meeting of the Malay governing party last month shocked many Malaysians for its communalism, including comments by one delegate who said the party was willing to "risk lives and bathe in blood in defense of race and religion." He was subsequently reprimanded, but only after an outcry from Chinese and Indians.

Early in November, the chief minister of the southern state of Johor, Ghani Othman, went as far as to question whether a Malaysian nation actually existed, describing it as a "rojak," or mish- mash of races, that was diluting the Malay identity.

The government's apparently indefinite extension of an affirmative action program for the Malays, a policy that has been in place since 1971, has stirred impatience among the country's Chinese and Indians. The policy, backed by a special clause in the Constitution guaranteeing preferential treatment for Malays, imposes a 30-percent bumiputra equity quota for publicly listed companies and gives bumiputras discounts on such things as houses and cars.

Terence Gomez, a Malaysian academic who has written widely about Malaysian politics and the ethnic Chinese, and who is now a research coordinator at the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development in Geneva, says the notion that one race should have supremacy is an anachronism in a country where ethnic identities are becoming less important in everyday life.

"The idea of being Malay or being Chinese or Indian is not something that is part of their daily thinking or discourse," Gomez said. The political elite, he said, "seems to be caught in a time warp."

Paradoxically, some in Malaysia, which has long been wealthier and more politically stable, are looking admiringly at developments in Indonesia.

Azly Rahman, a Malay commentator on the widely read Web site Malaysiakini, said poor Indians and Chinese are neglected under the current system.

"A new bumiputra should be created," he said. "Being a Malaysian means forgetting about the status of our fathers. We need affirmative action for all races."

The government says the affirmative action program, which was promulgated after race riots in 1969, is still needed to narrow the overall income gap between the Chinese and Malays, the original justification for the policy. But determining which race has the highest ownership levels in the country is also now a point of contention, involving disputes over how assets should be calculated.

by Thomas Fuller
International Herald Tribune

wayhanz said:

Early in November, the chief minister of the southern state of Johor, Ghani Othman, went as far as to question whether a Malaysian nation actually existed, describing it as a "rojak," or mish- mash of races, that was diluting the Malay identity.

Herald Tribune

this one really stupid, he should asked his god why created other human other than him, so that it contrasted his foolishness......whats his name again? "Honey Oh Man"???

by the way..when he meet those pretty mongolian model, he will sure got "rojak" himself......then use c4 to bomb ppl after that....

our politicians are only study up to kinder garden? howcome talk like those 3-4 years old kiddies?

Koolspyda, still damn lucky. I know a few college fellas that would dedicate quite some of their time on radio contests. You read The Edge too? hahaha. I'm not a business kinda guy. But rarely i do buy one if i spot an interesting story. At almost 5 bucks it ain't cheap, if i can't have what i wanna see inside.

Speaking bout indonesian Chinese. I remeber many of them fleeing to Malaysia when there was some riots in some area waay back in 98 i think? Kind of sad that they have to resort to this way. But its survival.

Look at the dailies everyday. Who is the one who's causing all the stir ups? It's the malays. Who's the one who's practising discrimination? It's the malays. Who's the one who threatened to NOT protect the country if the Anti Corruption Body is erected? The police which comprises, unfortunately, mostly of malays. There are enough evidences to show that the malays are not feeling uneasy about their racial security which is probably why they are reacting in such ways.
And just in case anybody wants to react again, the word "malay" which is used in my context is refering to those who have caused the stir ups, and NOT all malays, OK. So don't turn my specific statement which is general, into a racist statement. Peace.

no matter what happen back at home (Malaysia) i am always and proudly say that im a malaysian and will always have love for my home. Really sad to find out all this are happening over at home...

:(

netmatrix said:
Koolspyda, still damn lucky. I know a few college fellas that would dedicate quite some of their time on radio contests. You read The Edge too? hahaha. I'm not a business kinda guy. But rarely i do buy one if i spot an interesting story. At almost 5 bucks it ain't cheap, if i can't have what i wanna see inside.

Speaking bout indonesian Chinese. I remeber many of them fleeing to Malaysia when there was some riots in some area waay back in 98 i think? Kind of sad that they have to resort to this way. But its survival.

luck yes, but mesti ada strategy jugak. out of pure fun, my wife takes part in contests (radio/mag) & we have been in good percentage in returns. biggest win was RM2K (but thats was more luck then anything~random winner amongst the finalist). CDs, packages, bags etc are some of the prizes we won....wha de...i digress...

These days anybody who keen to know my nationality; its malaysian. period.
if they cant see beyond this chinese face, then its bad, i am sad.

it not something i can control. i sad that i am needed to be identified as a chinese in malaysia. oh well, there are instances that i am chinese first but sadly i would wish the former

it wont be suprise if they want to postpone the election next yr...after the resentment over the increase of petrol...water and electricity....the corruption issues....the current gomen is at a disadvantage stage...

even the election go as usually...but we might likely to see those rats tricks like ghost voters to appear...

wayhanz,
I used to be like you, having a heart for malaysia but the babi govt is just thrashing it up. There was even once, where malaysian ringgit was not accepted in australia, if I'm not mistaken. I had to get my money changed in KLIA before going to aust because once there, it seems that it'll be almost impossible to give them RM. Anyway, some aussie dude has already called malaysia bodoh. This just shows what kind of image the govt has made for the country. memang bodoh pun.

Well, let us all pray that all this matter shall be over..and in hope everything will back to normal as before. When everyone can go to mamak to drink and worried not about anything.

These days been really worried for my family back at KL. Since the crime rate back at home are stadily increase.