Question about new car (rev'ing)

yytellmey

I heard 2 versions:

- New car must not rev too much
- New car must rev enough to ensure its power

Alright the scenario is this, i am getting a new car, i searched around the internet about how to protect your new car etc etc....and i found 1 thing about new cars, when the car is new, the pistons are still new. They need some "exercise" to make it smooth or whatsoever. The concept is this (roughly), when your car is new, the pistons and the inner part of the engine (i dont know the name) is not perfectly match, u need to rev in order to make it smooth, the concept is like rubbing a "sand-paper" on a rought wood surface. After the procedure is done, u must change your engine oil (around 20 miles?) because it contains tiny metal that fell from the inner part of the engine due to the "rubbing" process.

And people also claims that, if u do not rev your car at the first 2000KM, your car's truly potential will forever be dead. Your car will not have its max power/torque anymore.

But i found anoter version, it says that u should not rev your car more than 3000RPM when its new, because it will spoil the engine and make it "die" faster.

So im confused now, which should i listen to? To rev and not to rev? Because mostly articals i read are in chinese, i dont exactly know the name of the process (i think its called break-in, burn-in or some sort...there are too many versions)

Anyone who is pro in this or tried it before can suggest me? Thx alot

dont rev hard.
whoever says otherwise is uninformed

better not to rev before the first service..

IMHO, we know that engine parts are new and sometimes not fit precisely..and also we dunno how hard the car was driven when it was delivered..so to be safe dun rev before first service..after change oil and get rid those tiny bits of metal(from ur engine moving parts) then u can rev lah..

i also hav this question..on first service, izzit adequate just change oil only (like those usually done when sending our car for its first service)?? cos i heard from my dad and also some of his frens said that in the old days, usually they'll keep the car for 2-3days for its first service, checked it throughly, thighten back nuts and screws, and check for waht the qc missed?

bring the car slowly.. don suddenly kick down/change gear n do e-brake.. coz everything still new.. need to run in.. some call it taming..
if u love it juz don rev it till the first service..

lol!!! dun giv a shit.. if jus a proton car jus rev it man... lik i do.. hahaha.. jus kidding la... jus keep ur car running note more then 120km/hr in de 1st 5000km... n dun rev too high.... for me.. i got my car 1 month n go genting liao lo.. proton 3 gear auto... hahahah... u know wat end up??? not engine problem.. but 1st gear spoil liao.. lol... got it claim n all lik new.. but i lik my engine... kinda nice la.. 3 gear can go 170km/hr.... hehehhe
mayb will convert to manual or transplant GSR
hehe

saw somewhere before, even TRD mention not to rev hard, but for them revving normally is quite agressive for normal ppl like us already. Its something like not over 4k for the first 500 miles, then after oil change you can rev 1-2k more, then after the second oil change you can get it to the redline.

i can't back up what i've just said tho.. forgot the link of the site i got the info on already. so up to you to belive what i've said or not.

All car manuals advise not to rev above 3000rpm..or some are even 2500 rpm before reaching 1000km...or the first service...

Dont REV unneccessarily...

alright, now i know the name is called "break-in"

but accouding to:
http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm
Its the same like what i read in some chinese forum, its translated directly from this and there are quite a number of people who had tried "rough break-in" claims that they have no problem and yet they have compared it to the same model of car which is using another method (not to rev) and the result was like.....the car which rev hard will have a better perfomance....

im damn confused now...which should i listen to?

dont rev hard before the 1st service...after ur 1st oil change or 2nd...u floor ur entire journey also can edi..haha...its just breaking in the engine...'seasoning' take a few years...

just drive casually like daily cruise... u dont need to rev hard just to clear debri or deposits... u're not scrubbing to clean your dirty plates.

dont get the concept of revving hard will clean your engine... a normal cruise has more than enough oil pressure to fully lubricate, clean and protect your engine.

new car is like a virgin girl. dont get too rough...:lol:

we wont do that to our wives rite? :D go slow at first. especially if the piston is big sized!! :lol: