the blue car (c-note) from geocities is juz a photoshop product :)
zan said:a fren of mine who works at Proton R&D platform division confirmed Waja, Gen2, TRM and SRM chassis/platform all are designed locally. Proton have the knowledge, equipment and previous Mitsubishi chassis to study and assistance from Lotus. its true, they are capable.
zan said:a fren of mine who works at Proton R&D platform division confirmed Waja, Gen2, TRM and SRM chassis/platform all are designed locally. Proton have the knowledge, equipment and previous Mitsubishi chassis to study and assistance from Lotus. its true, they are capable.Proton bought the IP rights to the GX Platform from Mitsubishi. This Platform was used by the Carisma/S/V40. However the platform has undergone many changes top mounting points/seat points/substructures before it appeared as the Waja. So you can't just take a Volvo engine and expect it to fit staright in without changes to the engine mount brackets and such
Izso said:Titan : I'm no engineer and by no means am I well educated in this field, but I don't think creating a new car design is by any means easy. I mean, there's a lot of factors to take into account before engineering a car; safety, matching the body parts with other body parts, feasibility of the parts, pricing, etc. I suspect there's probably some standards that car manufacturers have to follow as well.
aiya.. no point thinking too hard la. Proton doesn't have the kind of R&D money that Toyota, Mazda, Volvo, etc have cuz they're just new to the car industry and it doesn't have the technical know-how much less the expertise. But someone said they got Lotus in their custody, which is true.
Does anyone know why Lotus isn't designing new cars for them? Or they are just doing suspension only?
Actually, I'm curious. Does Proton own the WHOLE of Lotus or only just Lotus Engineering or just one section of it?
faisal said:[
Proton bought the IP rights to the GX Platform from Mitsubishi. This Platform was used by the Carisma/S/V40. However the platform has undergone many changes top mounting points/seat points/substructures before it appeared as the Waja. So you can't just take a Volvo engine and expect it to fit staright in without changes to the engine mount brackets and such
No shame in that. Platform sharing is normal among Auto Industries, just as engine sharing. That's y we have a Chrysler (Daimler Chrysler) engine in a Mini owned by BMW.alexz said:interesting to hear a proton man shedding some light on this. so now we know proton bought the design rights of the mitsu platform... not designing it from scratch as they told everyone about... well thats ok for me... so still got and EVO4-6 chassis underneath the waja lah...
oh to iszo... yes lotus is wholly owned by proton.
alexz said:yeah i understand... even the new Myvi shares underpinings with the Toyota passo/daihatsu boon/daihatsu sirion/toyota aygo/peugeot 107/citroen C1 (phew the list is soo long). there is nothing to be ashamed about it. everyone is doing it nowadays.
the problem is that all this while proton announced around the world that they designed the waja chassis on their own, now only i heard (from you faisal) that proton bought the chassis IP rights from mitsu. why cant proton just thell the truth about it earlier??