Need Help from all the DIY SIFU

kelisa6009

To all the DIY Sifu….i plan to do undercarriage light with the long tube that ppl use for their shelf display….the shop told me the volt is 36V….but the light is plug through our house plug….so here is my question…

1) how many volt is our house plug?
2)
Can I just connect the positive and negative directly to the battery since the whole light come with ballast?
3)
Do I need to add fuse?

Pls advice…thank u

hi kelisa...
1st....DANGER..
1)the light for undercarriage is 36 vDC..the shop use a voltage regulator to convert it from 240v AC to 36 v DC.
all house outlet plug is 240vAC.
i advise u not to connect the undercarriage light directly to outlet socket if u not sure with the voltage regulator..
2)yes u can connect it to battery but u will need 3pcs battery.1battery can supply 12vDC.
i pretty sure the shop will sell u together with voltage converter when to install the light.
3)fuse is adviseable for protection...:)
sifus...correct me if i am wrong..

the shop told me that the light just connect to our house plug and that it....the ballast and starter all come in with the light housing....

just wan to check..like ppl using for pasar malam...i saw that they just plug the whole negative and positive point to the battery and directly to the light....so can this apply to our car too?

kelisa,like pasar mlm one,the ballast they use is 12VDC and it is compatible with car battery.thats why they can like up the light.

since u want use shelf display light and put it under ur ride,then i would say u will need use an inverter.usually inverter use in car or others vehicles to convert from 12V DC to 240V AC to power up electrical item like a television,water heater and other thing.

in ur case,to light up the under carriage light,to find a inverter which is converting from battery supply to 36V DC,i dont think can be find easily..
yes the shop told u is true. just plug it and the light can be on already coz it use ballast and starter like normal flourescent light.

so if i buy the light...i need to find inverter to convert from 12V to 36V.?
wah..i now pening liaw....

last auto show in Subang.there is one Satria Neo with this type of light...i didn;t see any converter or so ever...maybe he hide it some where....i think i better let shop do for me then i DIY......

thans for the info

i think better buy a aftermarket undercarriage light.
aftermarket just a plug n thats it...can function already..
ok dude...cheers:)

thanks for the help....i still open for advise here..so any sifu can just drop by and teach me..thanks a lot...

waste money on the booster ..... no use one buy aftermarket one better .....
the converter easily get hot n cannot put near radio

imagine when u start ur car n the undercariage light blink, blink
then oni nyala.........

This light come with all the starter and ballast…all in one…just only I scare the voltage not enough to supply 4 of the light…

i'm planning to do mine also but i will have to stick to leds.. coz it may consume less electricity plus you can buy cheap ones, only RM1 each.. maybe can be alot chaper if you buy it in bulk

hi,
why dun u connect the tube to room light wire?when u open the door, it blink2...or connect to brake light...when u brake, it blink2..

use those flourescence light not fragile meh ?
bump here bump there a bit wun picah arr ? :hmmmm:

try the aftermarket light..abit tahan because it made from strong plastic not glass

yeah... flourescent light tubes are very fragile. Enter a pothole, get hit by a small pebble or even a hard bump can break the tubes. Those tubes are not meant to be mobile. Consider gettin aftermarket neons.