Need help for USB HU!!

zac

Guys, i wanna get some opinion from you all:

1. If i downloaded a good quality song, which way will carry out the best quality? direct plug in usb or burned cd?

2. Is it advisable to get a 2-yr old above used item? as far as i know all these components do hv a life span, and it's not those high end HU, just normal usb hu.

3. Any nice usb hu to recommend? my car already have basic front rear components, woofer, amps... Budget around 500+/- looking for usb hu which has better sound quality.

Thanks for the big help in advance. : )

can get alpine with usb nowadays for 600

Thanks for the help, is it alpine cde series? new or used? I browse through ur selling thread but all considered high end for me...:biggrin:

hehe, must promote high end la, for SQ sound quality, not ABC (ada bunyi cukup)

mostly i list there 2nd hand, or some new ones which are on offer

can get u some new stuff as well, like that alpine, CD-101E i think the model number.

Spend few days to browse though old post from you guys in ICE section, seems like a high end hu is the way to go in long run even though current amp/speaker lvl not at par right? Thinking to increase budget and get a 9886, because it has 24bit(dunno wat but seems canggih) and can pluck in usb, 9887 no usb... but refer from older post, you are not recommending latest unit which manufactured in china rather get a used unit like 9855, therefore is there any slightly hi end unit which has sq and usb?

Also, 9886 stated usb, but i couldn't see any port infront like cde series, does it mean i gotta purchase another compatible cable in order to connect usb?

Now i'm using clarion hu (low end aftermarket type), front: hertz energy component, rear: mohican component, both 6.5" driven by cap ayam 4 channel, 2x Xplod 10" driven by cap ayam 2 channel, using ameron 7band pre amp. Again refer from older post, rear component will somehow affect the sound quality without good tune so thinking to take out rear comp.

In that case, i use a good HU, then 4 channel support front component, then 2 channel for sub is ok right? From old post, HU should come first, then speaker, then amp right? so after HU what should be my next target?

the 9886 has a short usb cable coming from behind the unit. i never pay much attention on usb/ipod/mp3 etc all that. if youre into sq youll play ori cds most of the time. so i guess 9886 is halfway there la...

actually all the 9 series alpine is made in china, just that the older ones like 9855 and 9835 sound better to me.

for a good system u need a 4ch amp, a comp set and a sub, thats all. if youre getting hu now, next will be the amp la, since youre comps are not cap ayam.

Reason why i choose 9886 because when i wanna into sq i will put in ori cd, then when i just wanna listen latest pop song i can use usb which is very handy.

I feel that my sub also not powerful, then my fren said this is the quality of beginner lvl sub, shall i opt for better sub? remain 10/12/15? And err shall i take out the ameron preamp as well? since you said it might bring more noise? last but not least please recommend a 4ch amp which is suit the hu and comp well...

yes definitely take out the pre amp

the 9886 is ok for u la, as i said, its in between, for convenience a bit, for sq a bit

4ch amp depends la whats your budget, u can check out my list

sub problem could also be bcoz the cap ayam amp not enuff power

anyway try to sell your subs la, just get 1 12" sub enuff, make a good quality box for it

Well... is there any hu that good in sq and got usb?
Would it be cheaper if i use 2ch only for front comp, then next stage buy a mono + 12"?
Does normal acc shop sell good quality box? any site i can hv a look how does it looks like?

i think eclipse top end got usb in, not sure, the eclipse 7200 mkII is around 2.4k
sorry la anything about ipod & usb im really not sure coz i never bother finding the info

yes u can get 2ch amp, should be cheaper, got few in my list

good box are made in good shops. give photo also no use, coz the "good" part cant be seen, its in the making of the box. it has to be made from 3/4inch mdf wood and made in a totally rigid and sealed manner.

where got, me provide the cure only, lol....

And bro zenn, hows the life span of all these hi end hu? my car is modified and suspension is kinda stiff. do i need to use disc cleaner to clean it time to time? also, although my car already soundproof, but due to modification i still can hear engine sound, open pod filter, exhaust, racing tyre when rev above 3krpm, it will eventually spoil the sound right?

I will test listen my gf's brother car 3 days later, he only use alpine hu, and front rear focal comp very simple set up and install himself, dunno the spec but cost around 4~5k, will the sound much much better than my clarion db256(dunno nvm, it's beginner hu ^_^)+ front hertz comp, rear mohican comp, xplod sub and cap ayam amp and soundproof?

Good sound stage is music come from front, even a simple 2way system can achieve that?

Now my speaker sound quite ok and clear for simple song like vocal with light music but cannot handle well for those rock type song, those background instrumental sound like in a mess which means bad system and bad tuning? also i can feel that music come from both side lah...

And bro zenn, hows the life span of all these hi end hu? my car is modified and suspension is kinda stiff. do i need to use disc cleaner to clean it time to time? also, although my car already soundproof, but due to modification i still can hear engine sound, open pod filter, exhaust, racing tyre when rev above 3krpm, it will eventually spoil the sound right?

I will test listen my gf's brother car 3 days later, he only use alpine hu, and front rear focal comp very simple set up and install himself, dunno the spec but cost around 4~5k, will the sound much much better than my clarion db256(dunno nvm, it's beginner hu ^_^)+ front hertz comp, rear mohican comp, xplod sub and cap ayam amp and soundproof?

Good sound stage is music come from front, even a simple 2way system can achieve that?

Now my speaker sound quite ok and clear for simple song like vocal with light music but cannot handle well for those rock type song, those background instrumental sound like in a mess which means bad system and bad tuning? also i can feel that music come from both side lah...

i also got open pods. sound quite irritating when high revs. but when enjoy musix, drive slow slow la... below 3k alrdy 100km.h++ ed rite? mine using gab adjustable. so far no problem playing cd.

yes no problem using 2 way to get front staging. :)

suspecting bad tuning but not much u can do with ur current setting :) perhaps ur cap ayam amps cant play high notes for instrument? there lotsa reason i assume

- life span 3-5 yrs maybe. yes disc cleaner is good idea. performance cars dont go well with good SQ systems la

- yes, his one sounds like a good system

- yes good systems can do that, simple system enuff, 4ch amp, front comp set and one sub

- can also be not so good installation plus the cap ayam amp and rear speakers disturbing front stage