Need Advice for 4AGE 20v SVT

foolat

Okay, I am extremely at a dead end for what I want to do with my 4AGE 20v SVT. These are a few things I have in mind, maybe you guys can answer these simple questions for me.

1. If I wanted to skim my flywheel, exactly where do I do that and how do I ask that of a mechanic?
2. What kind of extractor (and configuration 4-2-1. 4-1) would be good to get and how about piping (i just got a new muffler) - extractor to muffler?
3. ECU - how do I make any diagnosis at all on the ECU (sometimes the engine problem indicator appears but randomly)?
4. Where EXACTLY can I do all this around PJ area without being ripped off my money like nobody's business and also how much would all these roughly cost?
5. I think that when VVT comes on, I see black smoke in my rear mirror, any idea why?
6. There seems to be some rattling sound sometimes when I rev the engine at low revs. Any idea why?

Sorry for asking so many questions...

Hi thanks a lot for the advice! This really helps a lot! My next question is where can I custom make these extractors in subang/pj area with good workmanship and how much would making a custom one roughly cost (extractor alone and also extractor to muffler price)?

There's also this other thing I don't understand after reading Bill Sherwood's page and the Acoustic page...

Divide the number by half and that will be the primary (for a 4 into 2 into 1, it's the 4 part, therefore all 4 cylinder's immediate exhaust port).

As for the 2 part, then divide the number by half again.

In this case the 4-2-1 has 1.29 meters primary and 0.64 meter secondary.

What i understand from this is that the primary is the 2-1 part (half of the value obtained from graph while the secondary is the 4-2 part (half of the primary)

However, the bill sherwood's page tells me differently, that the 4-2 part is the primary (which is half of the secondary) while the 2-1 part is secondary (half of the value in the graph)

anyone can shed a light?

OK, pls forgive my bad english. The primary always refer to 4-2 and the secondary always refer to 2-1.

If you look at this sentence: -

"Divide the number by half and that will be the primary (for a 4 into 2 into 1, it's the 4 part, therefore all 4 cylinder's immediate exhaust port)."

The only mistake is the word "primary", but after this mistake there are 2 examples to correct it, which is

"the 4 part" and the subsequence of "therefore all 4 cylinder's .,..........

workshop recommendation - none - the last guy that did it for me was irresponsible when comes other job. I don't recommend him anymore.

The price is a negotiation between you and the workshop, not a fix price. Try your best. Rough price, extractor RM500, muffler depends of your choice.

have fun :)

hey hey :) don't worry, it's just me who doesn't understand what people write... Hmm... just wondering if you know any 4-2-1 extractors (aftermarket ones) that are good? Don't want so much downtime for my car cos I won't be able to bring myself to work then :p Do you think I can get any around 400-500 (second or brand new)?

A forumer call tauhu tauhu previously found a extractor of equivalent properties, branded, new for Rm1200

It was seen in old klang road once... I forgot chop shop name.... near kampung datuk harun I think

oh, forgot to mention link to clutch example http://www.my-acoustic.com/Car/gearbox/kian_leong_clutch/type1/kian_leong_clutch_type1.htm

Hi Foolat... I have one used apexi 4-1 extractor ( compleate till center bullet ) the prize is rm750. Call me 0122837460 if u interested.

rsr made complete set for alltype 4age engines
chech out for that

Hi foolat,
If not mistaken, your previous owner has overhaul the engine and put in BT piston, metal head gasket, BT ITB, moded SVT wiring to run with BT ECU, etc. So you should be running with BT internals but with SVT cover, BT ECU but with SVT wiring.

IMHO, your question 5) & 6) could be due to following problems:
5) clogg ISCV and dirty ITB --> your need a good service for these stuff.
6) engine knocking sound --> clean up your ISCV, ITB and set your timing to 10 deg

Come join out next TT and you will find that there is always no dead end story.