Oil leaking from Distributor...20v svt

olskool

Hi Friends,

I have a 20v svt AE101.

I opened the distributor cap thinking that like my previous cars all I've to do is to change the O ring. There it was, the engraved that said "DO NOT REMOVE" on the metal plate in the distributor. If i don't remove it how am I to get/change to the O ring?

Has anyone tried changing the O ring before? there are a few screws there but I dare not open because of the message.

Any pointers will be appreciated. :adore:

for 16v you can change the O ring inside ...
for 20v i dunno la ... but if can, try find the better one, ori ...
coz lastime already change mine (16v) and it start to leak back ...

Updating : Change this three rascals and the leak will stop! (minus the cable/wire tie ok)

060920091408.jpg

060920091409.jpg

060920091410.jpg

060920091411.jpg

060920091412.jpg

060920091413.jpg

060920091414.jpg

Looks like a bearing, a spring loaded oil seal and a O ring. So changing these 3 stuffs would solve the problem eh?

yup...
the inside oil seal...is the culprit...

please refer to this link ...

http://www.toymods.net/forums/showthread.php?t=10714&highlight=distributor

bro! if not replace it! wat will happen?juz curious. coz mine 1 oso got abit leak edi!!

It's actually engine oil right sifus? Correct me if i'm wrong...

If ur distributor is wet with oil, it wont function 100%, FC n power affected and eventually it will go kiok..

It's actually engine oil right sifus? Correct me if i'm wrong...

If ur distributor is wet with oil, it wont function 100%, FC n power affected and eventually it will go kiok..

yup it is engine oil i think beta change whole set....

Hey guys, it's totally up to you...

This is my 2nd distributor.. i used my own common sense and think that if you buy the whole part from halfcut and if the seals have not been changed before means it's 10 years old minimum (svt more la i suppose)...:hmmmm:

use back ur own and change seals will last longer (based on my engine, 13years!).. but guy's again, it's totally up to you la..

this was my preference after buying another distributor and it leaked...same like the a/c comp..

it's falling apart!!!!!:bawling: