Need advice. E-Manage on Blacktop 20V ???

Sil80-13

Hi all sifus,

My engine is stock with upgrade HKS air-filter & exhaust piping. I plan to install a E-Manage to make sure my car is running in correct tuning of air/flow where I can get proper power of the engine.

As I know the factory ECU is meant for stock car. After upgrade to filter & exhaust, I think I need a piggyback to have a better setting.

I heard some people said that E-Manage & AFC is not a good choice. Is it true?

I am not a mad mod kaki so I dont think of going for a standalone ECU.

Need your input & advice. Thanks.

hi...

i m using an e-manage on my BT, just only installed A/F cable and i havent install the iginition...i can tell tat there is improvement. Plz be aware tat u can do a range of different tuning..better F/C, more power....etc....

for me, i ve done the same basic mod as urs....so i ve ask my mechanic to utilize every drops of fuel at the same F/C...result is acceleration is better, low to mid rev is smoother(engine felt lighter) and high rev is more stable and willing to rev...plz dun expect a major improvement, a 10 to 15% will be more reasonable.

depends on how u c it, e-manage is quite good on the budget. as u mentioned that ur not planning for a major mod. as it can also accommodate a certain amount major mods like high cams....but u need to add the ignition cable

Undeniable, ther is plenty of choice in the market. But majority of them is quite pricey....i do think e-manage is a wise choice....e-manage and AFC is totally different, e-manage definitely offer more varieties and functions.....

plus, with the country pushing for RON 95 petrol...i will try and experiment whether BT can cope with this RON 95(as it was tune with RON 100 in japan) and run smoothly with lesser knocking...

Hope u have a enjoyable time with ur e-manage....best of luck....

Thanks for the info.

But I forgot where I read the below discussion before.

Someone said that ori BT ECU is a self learning ECU. If we install the E-Manage, certain time the E-Manage setting will runaway. Is it true? Any sifus can put some input on this statement?

For me, I dont think the E-Manage setting will runaway. Correct me if I am wrong. Thanks.

tat is true bro..the setting will goes bak to stock mapping..basic harness won't work on it.
E-manage,safc,vafc falls on the same group which mean they are good for small altering in the mapping.major mod wont work well with e-manage. coz e-mange cheat the signal from the sensor to the ecu. if major altering in mapping is done ur engine check light might light out. at a certain limit ur ECU will go hair wire on ur mapping and there goes ur blow engine.
no offence with those which use e-mange on their 4age.

im using emange now, but plan change to standalone, emanage suit for light modify car...dont expect much improvement...maybe 5hp increase,

me now ? hondata lor ...coz drive honda d mah...4age time i use bak stock one lor..coz i din see any good in the e-manage.
u all can follow bro benjamin. he did many mod like cams on his lovely engine.so he can tell u how much an e-manage can alter in the mapping. unichip or a brand name so called wat wat tronic i forgot d used by kegani one oso good...
bro benjamin..standalone dun go for microtech...go for haltech.microtech is good a full throttle and not that good on crusing.

---------- Post added at 01:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:51 AM ----------

im using emange now, but plan change to standalone, emanage suit for light modify car...dont expect much improvement...maybe 5hp increase,

my tuner told me a new vios used e-mange ultimate on his ride and get a 2hp increase only..after 25 run of setting and macam macam....CHEERS~~

Unichip also standalone ECU? Autronic & Unichip & Microetch, which one is better?

As long as don't get an ECU which no one knows how to tune... i once sold an HKS pro what model but seems not anyone in Malaysia know how to remap it and it will cause you major headache.... becareful with plug n play ecu.. u dunno what the ecus is set for... high cams... different ignition system?

the hks pro ecu have to be remapped back cos it used other ignition system.... send it back to japan.... duh what a hassle...

emanage is good for light mods... have many people with knowledge to reprogram it but look out for IMITATION.....

IMAGE taken from mutiaramotors.com

http://www.mutiaramotors.com/images/news/news-greddy-big.jpg

IMO, its about the tuner... not the equipment or gadgets. I've personally seen over 10bhp gains using E-manage on 20V. Although some might say E-manage is good for 20V, if you seek the wrong tuner, you might not see any noticeable gains or worst paying for something that gives no real improvement.

Nevertheless, be it E-manage or any other AFC (SAFC), a piggyback on 20V doesn't make much power unless you can tune the ignition. Basically, tuning airfuel doesn't make much improvement on 20V. So you definitely need the ignition harness to utilize E-manage for 20V.

FYI, I was shocked when I saw a B16A gained almost 20bhp with SAFC alone. It was mind-boggling! But again... we don't have lift yo!

i tried once emanage blue.. 1st run 120.. after fine tune bcum 121.. mean i bought 1 hp wif roughly 1k 4 e manage price last time. . . can u imagine tat man...
That's bad bro.... was the ignition harness hooked up as well?
Jimmy, mind sharing where did you install & tune emanage?

Unichip also standalone ECU? Autronic & Unichip & Microetch, which one is better?

i been told by thomas boss of GT AUTO sunway..if prefer use microtech better run a piggybak
coz microtech is a standalone which we have to tune all from a-z ....we need alot of time to tune it..if piggybak we alreawdy got the base map of the engine and we just need to fine tune all of it.
many told me that microtech is good on full throttle and not that good on crusing..
well this is all bout business lah..if the shop is selling microtech sure say microtech good lor..but if use standalone just standby to go tune or touch up the map when first fix lor..
coz engine engineer been R n D on the engine map so long to get the best of everything for the engine map on cruse and full throttle...

Tuner is important... i have seen fully modified 4AGE (ECU too) smoked by a lightly modded 4AGE with SAFC.... it is all about the right setup and the right tuning