Need HELP with my 20V

VictorGR

ok, i got myself a 20V silvertop. I'm fixing that engine into my TE71. So as we all know the silver top is using air-flow sensor.

So now i got problem with the airbox. Its there anyway to by pass the air-flow (other then using a programable ecu or blacktop wiring)

nope..no way without some sort of mod.either channge some electronic stuff,stand alone,piggyback.......

its something like we use our human lung to breath...how to use pig lung???

mod kaw2 hehehe

VictorGR said:
ok, i got myself a 20V silvertop. I'm fixing that engine into my TE71. So as we all know the silver top is using air-flow sensor.

So now i got problem with the airbox. Its there anyway to by pass the air-flow (other then using a programable ecu or blacktop wiring)
you mean you have problem with the filter airbox? just take the air flow, and buy a cone/pod filter, and go to some machine shop and ask them to make an adapter for you. or if you wanna save money then DIY one.. i made one out of tupperwear :biggrin:

rollakid said:
you mean you have problem with the filter airbox? just take the air flow, and buy a cone/pod filter, and go to some machine shop and ask them to make an adapter for you. or if you wanna save money then DIY one.. i made one out of tupperwear :biggrin:

did u realy did that???? care to share the diy

VictorGR said:
did u realy did that???? care to share the diy
very easy actually, but won't recomend it for high performance driving lar, if just temporary use until i can afford a good one.

basically any container can do it, ice-cream box that is round also can. just take the lid of the container, cut a hole acording to afm air inlet whole shape, and drill 4 holes for the screw to pass over.

now, take a cardboard, prefer thick one, like from a cardboard box or something, then cut it in any shape you like, as long as it can serves as a gasket :fear:. now use the 4 nut to secure the lid of the container to the air flow meter, with the "gasket" in between.

now, you need to makes tons of "air holes" in the container itself, how you do it is up to you, i basically melts it, with nails and a stove, its pretty much up to you, you have a driller then its even better.

now, go find some filter element, i bought a cheap cap ayam filter from accessory shop, only to find out the filter sponge is pretty much the same as those normal sponge found in supermarket, so, as long as it has enough air flow and not restrictive, basically you can make your own too.

after that you need to oil it, since sponge is very bad at filtering if it is dry. i oil it with some left over 20w50 toyota engine oil :biggrin: .

after that, secure the sponge to the container filled with holes. then only thing to do left is to clip the container back to its lid. dun need to worry that it will fall off, since the engine keeps on sucking it tight anyway.

its been about 2 months since i did that, and so far my engine is running fine. must remember to make sure there is no loose parts like sponge or plastic that can get sucked into the engine lar. 2 months had pass, i can see the surface of the sponge get abit dirty (good thing i guess, its doing its job), but you can really feel the sponge is abit restrictive i must say, normal driving won't feel anything, but if you full throttle the thing, you can feel the difference between having that filter and not having any at all.

like i say, temporary use no problem at all. :_:

swap aka SWAP said:
hi victor..ur car already done ka..when can we test..

hahah, i just hope that its done. Don't worried once its done will let u know haha

rollakid : thx for the steps, will try and see

VictorGR said:
hahah, i just hope that its done. Don't worried once its done will let u know haha

rollakid : thx for the steps, will try and see
i hold no responsibility on what will happen to your engine if you did it wrongly ar.. -__-" afterall its just a poor man's way of doing things, yeah.. me poor.. poor poor student, no income.. T_T

i think i'll take a pic tomorrow or something..

rollakid said:
i hold no responsibility on what will happen to your engine if you did it wrongly ar.. -__-" afterall its just a poor man's way of doing things, yeah.. me poor.. poor poor student, no income.. T_T

i think i'll take a pic tomorrow or something..

i would not balme u, coz i'm also a poor student, don't even have that little extra to get black top

VictorGR said:
i would not balme u, coz i'm also a poor student, don't even have that little extra to get black top
oh.. same shoes lar.. then you also envy those ppl with open throttle with damn garang sound also lar.. T_T so sad..

i diy cuz i have so many things lying around at my house not used. but if you are willing to spend a little bit, might be worth it to go to the machine shop and ask them fabricate an adapter for you.

hahaha, as u say same shoes, not i dun wan i don't have the cash