Sub-Project
Project: Freeze-rollakid
Objective: Freeze rollakid or who ever get a ride in Yui
Date: 11 June 2006
How it started:
On 10th June, i was on my way home after a voice recording session for my friend's multimedia project. It was 1pm, very very hot, and my car park under the sun for more thn 2 hours. i didn't use the aircond at first, just wind down window, since i know it won't be cold enough to cool down the car cabin anyway.
Then when i'm about 1.5km from my house, the car cabin isn't really that hot anymore, and i dun wan to arrive home all sweaty, so i turn on the aircond. It wasn't until 30 second later i heard a loud "POOOOOOOOP" then follow up by a "chiiiiii~~~" sound. Got shocked abit then imediately start to see if there's anything wrong, since i'm on flowing traffic and on the fast lane, and its just after traffic light not long ago (i turn on the aircond when its my turn to go) and cars are all sticking together like F1 launching, so i can't stop anywhere.
Check engine, throttle still got response. scare is tire blow, but still in control, then was thinking about my poor little radiator, but there's no water behind my car seen from the mirror. then suddenly smell funny gas smell, oh shit.. must be the aircond gas. then i turn off the aircond and drive home.
When i reach home, pop the hood, and found out the pipe that connects the radiator and the compresor had came off at the compresor's side. not only that, the one at the condensor's side is almost coming off too.
Gone to the mechs:
So imidiately on the same day i go to see my long time aircond mech, friend of my dad when he was driving Yui. So basically the problem is that i don't have enough cooling to my condensor, since i'm sharing the same fan for both the radiator and the condensor.
The reason it came off is because the gas inside is too hot, preasure is too high for the ori pipe clip to hold onto the metal pipes that connects to the compresor, and thats why it came off.
The mech find one used pipe that is still in good condition that is lying around in his workshop, saying it is still usable if everything is normal, and charge me rm0 for it (friend ma..). After pumping some gas, not full, since it doesn't have enough cooling.
lalalalalala.. *sniff sniff* WTF??!
so i'm on my way home, and at the same place again when it first blew up, it happened again, same day, same road. but because the clip is modified this time, it didn't came off, instead the pipe crack and the gas rush out like fuel out of injectors, then i knew i had to spend big money this time.
Off to the mech again
Straight to the point. If my condensor do not have enough cooling, then add another fan.
Summary of what is done step by step:
- use new hose
- knock the condensor down abit, saying it won't spoil it
- add a new "push" fan at the front of the condensor, blowing at the entrance area of the gas into the condensor, i asume everyone here know how gas flows in denso condensor so no need explain lor hor?
- fan spec: 12"x2" low profile cap ayam fan.
- add relay, wires, blah blah blah
time taken: 1 hours +
Result: :shades_smile:
condensor not hot at all when the gas is pump partial full, even if the gas is pumped full, its not as hot as when i did not have a fan and pump half full. When the cold setting is set to the lowest (mean hottest setting), the aircond pump pumps for 10 second before shuting down, as compare to pumping 3 minute before shutting down when there is no fan.
Total cost: RM190
Pros: cold cold cold cold cold cold cold :shcokedcamo:
Cons: i can't use the "oh, my car no aircond wor" excuse to prevent ppl from wanna sit in my car anymore.
pics will come soon, if anyone request them.