help.. need advice

rollakid

help.. need advice.. power steering leaking

Hi, recently my car undergo engine transplant. things goes smoothly until just now my mech phone me say the power steering rack is leaking oil from both side:shocked:

so now i'm confuse over what to do. how much would it cost me to repair the whole steering rack, i mean in the worse case scenario, have to change every seal and stuff inside the rack? buying one from chop shop is going to cost me rm500 (as my mech told me) and its going to be over my budget.:cry_smile:

ps. the powersteering come with the crossmember, should be ae86's. any alternative way to overcome this?

rollakid,

from the manual, they are about 10 oil seals & o - rings all together and they are nto going to cost much for sure. the only thing is the labour cost.

and a steering rack doesnt cost rm500.

YUP.......services ur power steering wont cost u tht much lah.....

but service power steering most of the time not reliable.......and ke70 rack cost rm500 so kui......sure boh???.....here AE1#1 around RM200 used set.......try to check around 1st.......tauhu tauhu can sell u his.......he need to put some muscle n don't need power steering.......hehehehe......

Sky @ alan......how's kch??? anything interesting there ah???

Tom's, kch got nothing interest but waiting u to come esp me.....ehehheh.........
heard there will be a drag race in 1st of MAY...

Rollakid, the mech told u is about RM500 from chop shop.......warr.......sure or not man... even i heard ur 4age gb cost u RM950 yah....piu.....

tom's,

the one with him was from me. i bought it at kl and sold to him last time.
the kl seller said it was in good condition but came out to be leaking...damn
my car has no power steering since the begining...haha
not very hard to me.

i bought a pwr steering rack for my dad's cressida around rm200+

but it's quite hard to get a good condition ae86 rack....most of them are leaking...
they are juz too old. i think servicing is better.

tht's also why i use manual rack.

trd_ae92 said:
Tom's, kch got nothing interest but waiting u to come esp me.....ehehheh.........
heard there will be a drag race in 1st of MAY...

Rollakid, the mech told u is about RM500 from chop shop.......warr.......sure or not man... even i heard ur 4age gb cost u RM950 yah....piu.....
he said got serviced in chun chun condition.. see if he's telling the truth or not lor...

pmed chin yesterday, say overhaul once cost over rm100 only.. will send for repair

Ooooooooooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii 20vturbo, we are talking about power steering, hope you are not talking about manual

everything 86 related expensive lah ......... what to do ????

tom's , so far still oklah, jz lag of $$ n fuel price keep going up. no $$ to mod car liao....

trd92, his mech is ur mech also mah.... hahahaha.... not surprising 86's gearbox so expensive loh.... 4a+86 stuff all naik harga after initial-d...

saiful, still get new ke70 steering rack meh ??

chin,baru kahwin oh....whn giv angpow???:)

sky999,

lol, din test drive yet, but he say the gearbox good good one... today go see him.. so many thing leaking -__-;;

chin!! your website down ler when i go visit few hours ago...

i got same prob.. my ke70.. last time got accident.. has fixed the body.. but when go for alignment.. the mech said cannot do.. the steering rack suda longgar.. gotta change it first.. where to find one aa?

Hey rollakid,
I just checked with Acoustic's favourate mech (Ah Leong), he said very easy to overhaul the pwr steering one. No need any pressing mechine or heavy stuff, just few small spanar can kaotim. But few things need to be careful ie: done put a wrong seal at wong position or will end up big problem.

By the way, any one know where i can buy 20V 1st gen SVT's Pwr steering repair kit?

levin818 said:
Hey rollakid,
I just checked with Acoustic's favourate mech (Ah Leong), he said very easy to overhaul the pwr steering one. No need any pressing mechine or heavy stuff, just few small spanar can kaotim. But few things need to be careful ie: done put a wrong seal at wong position or will end up big problem.

By the way, any one know where i can buy 20V 1st gen SVT's Pwr steering repair kit?
thanks... but i won't be fixing it anytime soon, its not giving me too much problem just yet, so i'll put the money in something else first.