my SVT intake troubled!!

20VKE70

to all sifus, hope can help me on this..

i've already finished SVT conversion to my KE70. the problem is (according to the mechanic that have done the conversion..) the intake plenum that i've already customized cannot take enough air for the throttles. the result is the engine have difficulty to start and if its started the spark plug burnt(turns black). the mechanic didnt know what to do(i surely regret this..)

please help me...

20VKE70,
how small is ur new customised plenum?
mind to share photo?

anyway, i think tht the difficulty to start shud not be due to the plenum. engine doesnt need tht much of air at startting condition compared to driving condition.
how does it idle and how does it behave whn u r driving it?

many ppl r using customised intake plenum for FR 20V and they dont seem to face this problem.
have u checked the AFM? might be AFM 's fault.

actually sifu tauhu tauhu, i didnt test it yet. FYI the conversions is just finished last week and it still in the workshop. my fren (he's using blacktop) advised me to tow the car from klang to a woksop in ampang bcoz he has done his conversion there. he said the mechanic there is familiar with 20v engine. the probs is it quite far to tow it from there and it really cost money.maybe i can tell you the condition of te car. the car when can start whe the ECU can detect enough air but i dont know how its idle and it will not start if the ECU didnt detect enough air in the intake. is it the AFM? it is because when i asked the mechanic the AFM flap wasn't the problem. if AFM faulty where i can repair it? i know that sifu chin have instructions in his website that shows how to repair the AFM n to tell you the truth i didnt dare to touch the AFM. please help me...

20VKE70,
can u start the car now? is it hard to start or totally cannot start?
before u check the afm, try this 1st.

1st, u check ur ISCV input hose to intake plenum, see whether it's properly connected.

2nd, r u using power steering? if yes, make sure the power steering vacuum hole on plenum is properly conncted. if not, make sure it's properly blocked.

3rd, check if there is any leak in the plenum.
any small leak after the AFM will cause the AFM to miscalculate the intake air flow.

if u still facce the same problem, then u have to check the AFM. frankly i duno how to check other than opening it and look if the circuit is burnt. just try to get one from someone and try see if it works..?

20VKE70,
try clean up 4-throttle, ISCV and AFM.
(must take out the whole stuff and clean all the small holes)
Then reset your ECU b4 start the engine again.
Ideally u should get 1300rpm idling at cool engine.
The AFM will not give you problem unless u open it up and twist here and there.
If problem still there, try to swap in a good cond ECU.

before even trying to start the car just do a diagnostic and see if any error crops up .. suspect some wiring/sensor problem

yolk said:
before even trying to start the car just do a diagnostic and see if any error crops up .. suspect some wiring/sensor problem

yeah, this step is very important... whithout it will be like hunting in blind.

for all sifu, thanks a lot.ill try to do what i can do based on your advices. fyi tomorrrow i'll will 'take' the car out.hope it cant start. at least i didnt have to tow. one more question, how could the SVT running without the AFM? because sometimes i see people that using SVT without the AFM(in the web of course..and just asking..who knows it might be work).