MODS for big horsepower

yeah kriminalz get an ecu set it moderate..wen fully modded oredi ,den oni go for real racing settings.tune it 99 and dyno and proudly show us ur dyno BHP..haha

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@Aug 5 2004, 09:21 AM
ECU first mod...new way of modding engines these days...

old skool is mod hardware first... ;)
SDF sifu... what are the advantages of doing ecu mod first?

yeah..mod the ECU first, feel a big different after i mod the ECU while my engine is stock and standard. But of course got a good tuner to tune it lah.... ;)

daryl..

slotting in da ECU first wud give u much more freedom to tweak various points to suite various mods put in....even in stock form...it wud show improvement...

If u put in a standalone ECU...u cud throw away da MAF sensor and run on MAP...without the MAF, u'd easily gain another 10-15hp... :lol:

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@Aug 7 2004, 08:44 AM
daryl..

slotting in da ECU first wud give u much more freedom to tweak various points to suite various mods put in....even in stock form...it wud show improvement...

If u put in a standalone ECU...u cud throw away da MAF sensor and run on MAP...without the MAF, u'd easily gain another 10-15hp... :lol:
Wah.... nice...save money 1st then i go buy a Standalone ECU... :P cos i don like Air Flow Sensor for VR4...way too big.... <_<

actually the air flow sensor for vr4 is the smallest among the 4g63s. Why do you say it's big?

On the other hand, when u mod the ECU first, then u have to tune it everytime some new mod is done

If u increase boost, u have to tune the ECU.

If u change bigger turbo, u have to tune it again.

Change bigger intercooler, tune it again.

Change to stainless steel and bigger diameter intercooler pipings, tune it again.

Install bigger exhaust piping or downpipe, again have to tune.

THe way to go about I see it is, mod all the hardware first, then finally tune the ECU. This way, u get the setting rite once and for all.

Mind you that ECU tuning charges is not cheap. A wide band tuning session for a piggyback like the blue screen SAFC cost RM200 :(

I cringe to think on how much the tuning charges for a full stand alone will be.

I heard a reputable tuner charges close to RM1K for stand alone tuning session on dyno. :o

or, why not purchase a wide band tuner, then tune yourself everytime you upgrade something.

Heres another idea afterfull modying ur engine B) inserts bottles of nos into ur car n boom :blink: a real monster ....

Originally posted by Danny@Aug 7 2004, 08:49 PM
or, why not purchase a wide band tuner, then tune yourself everytime you upgrade something.
MOTEC wide band cost RM5~6K :blink:

Originally posted by Joeker@Aug 7 2004, 04:22 PM
On the other hand, when u mod the ECU first, then u have to tune it everytime some new mod is done

If u increase boost, u have to tune the ECU.

If u change bigger turbo, u have to tune it again.

Change bigger intercooler, tune it again.

Change to stainless steel and bigger diameter intercooler pipings, tune it again.

Install bigger exhaust piping or downpipe, again have to tune.

THe way to go about I see it is, mod all the hardware first, then finally tune the ECU. This way, u get the setting rite once and for all.

Mind you that ECU tuning charges is not cheap. A wide band tuning session for a piggyback like the blue screen SAFC cost RM200 :(

I cringe to think on how much the tuning charges for a full stand alone will be.

I heard a reputable tuner charges close to RM1K for stand alone tuning session on dyno. :o
ermm..i think if ECU first, jus do the basic tuning,
eg: like wht u said change turbine,tune,change piping,tune..
i dun think its necessary ..
as u see if u change turbine u need to tune richer ur fuel but wif wht?
if u have ecu den dun need to waste money to buy bigger injectors to have enuf fuel to run the big turbine..but wif ecu oredi,u dun need all these stuff..save money oredi..comes to piping..wen u have ecu u dun need air flow sensor and u can do the piping straight away to the filter..my opinion ecu tune it to the optimal of mod u want in future if reli can ...den oni put all the mods and sekaligus tune evrythin..but the best way is to buy evrythin remain the car stock den put all in ..no hassle and save time and money..
anyway jus my 2 cents ..my opinion oni le..dun shoot me..correct me if im wrong..
thats wht i think oni le..

and one more thing to increase boost i think wuld be best if u finish all the mods ur targetting ..den go for a real tuning..increase the highest boost u want wif the ecu..
eg: without management u need to buy 10 items to support the 10 items ur modding like big turbine need big injector,big injector need fuel pump..buy filter need air flow sensor and so on..

wif management u oni buy 1 item which is the ECU management itself to support alll the 10 items ur modding..like big turbine u can use back original injectors and use the original injectors to tune it richer..unless ur car is one monster and need xtra fuel which the oiginal injectors cant gif..else u oni play around wif the ecu after modding it..

if u have ecu den dun need to waste money to buy bigger injectors to have enuf fuel to run the big turbine..but wif ecu oredi,u dun need all these stuff..save money oredi
Depends on how much boost you hop-up. Say that your GSR is running standard 0.8 bar and you plan to boost 1 bar. I think you can still get away with stock 390cc/min injectors. If that is the case, you don even need a standalone management in the first case. A piggyback will suffice.

The intention of running a bigger turbo is to generate higher boost efficeintly than stock turbo. With higher boost, more fuel is needed. However, there is so much the standalone can squeeze out of the 390ccs duty cycle before the injectors crap out. Hence forth, the need to upgrade the fuel delivery with larger capacity injectors and pumps

..comes to piping..wen u have ecu u dun need air flow sensor and u can do the piping straight away to the filter
When the pipings of the intake or exhaust change, so does the flow charatericstics.
For instance, when you mod the intercooler pipings larger, you get more lag and less response. More time is needed to build up boost. If you don tune the standalone ECU aftre the mod, you will not reap the full benefits of the i/c piping upgrade.

..my opinion ecu tune it to the optimal of mod u want in future if reli can ...den oni put all the mods and sekaligus tune evrythin..but the best way is to buy evrythin remain the car stock den put all in ....
Don exactly understand wat you mean.

Originally posted by GSR5559@Aug 7 2004, 10:22 PM

eg: without management u need to buy 10 items to support the 10 items ur modding like big turbine need big injector,big injector need fuel pump..buy filter need air flow sensor and so on..
I'm afraid that even with a standalone ECU, you will still need the bigger injectors, pumps, fuke rails, coils amps, et. The fundamental purpose of a standalone ECU is that it offers you the ability to alter the settings of the engine.

and one more thing to increase boost i think wuld be best if u finish all the mods ur targetting ..den go for a real tuning..increase the highest boost u want wif the ecu..
Thats why I say that its better to mod all the hardware first before doing the software.

..like big turbine u can use back original injectors and use the original injectors to tune it richer..unless ur car is one monster and need xtra fuel which the oiginal injectors cant gif..else u oni play around wif the ecu after modding it..
If you're not taking it to such extreme level, then the standalone ECU would be an overkill. Might as well go for piggybacks.

wah joeker good xplanation ther dude..mebi my thinking kinda diff from urs but urs oso make sense and a pro tok oso..haha..
the one u said dun reli understand wht i mean is im trying to said dat..
save all the amount of money and buy evrythin and keep at home..remain the car stock first if its not mod yet..wen the stuff and goodies are everythin collected..one shot fit evrythin in da car and tune once and for all..no need to go step by step le..buy evrythin u can afford and assemble it..save the werkmanship money oredi..hehe
anyway thankz bro joeker , ur info will be in my diary..hehe

GSR, keke not many ppl can keep their itchy fingers to themselves once they buy performance parts, sure cannot buy and keep all at home, I think most of the time you will install it first and see whether got any extra g-force or not.

yeah true oso, once u buy those parts sure u cant wait to install it in the car and feel the difference of it..as for me if i buy new stuff oso ill probably too desperate to install the stuff asap..haha

haha..and if ur hs have a money tree which is as big as a coconut tree den go ahead and do any mod u want first..even buy an aeroplane oso no prob..faster and dun need to stuck in kl massive jams